daisycutter 29,999 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 11 minutes ago, John Crow Batty said: That Rioli incident was similar to the Viney incident of a few years ago when he smashed into I believe Shannon Hurn of WC. Difference was he got to the ball ball first and had his eyes on it. Rioli was far too late. It was reckless. had to be at least a free kick 1
titan_uranus 25,242 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 31 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said: Carlton, Geel, Sydney and Brisbane the impressive sides of round 1. And it will be a question of whether they can back it up and keep it up but Collingwood looked a far better side too. Fast aggressive footy with good scoring. Brisbane impressive? If one quarter is enough then you can add Gold Coast to your list of impressive sides. Melbourne, Sydney, Carlton and Geelong the four most impressive. The first two beat known quantities (Dogs and GWS). Reserve judgment on the latter two until we see how they go in Round 2 (Richmond wasn't very good and Essendon was appalling). 5
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said: Carlton, Geel, Sydney and Brisbane the impressive sides of round 1. And it will be a question of whether they can back it up and keep it up but Collingwood looked a far better side too. Fast aggressive footy with good scoring. Brisbane really disappointed me. Port wins that game if not for injuries. Poor skills. Slow. Very uninspiring. Sydney were the standout for me. Quality list. Good balance all over the ground. Excellent coaching. Will trouble most teams. Can’t write GWS off. They’ll improve when Greene returns and Hogan is fit. They lacked fire power on the weekend. Carlton were impressive but again we need to see if they can sustain that effort. They have a good list. Defense is very suspect but excellent midfield that will only improve when Walsh returns. And we can’t judge the Dogs. They played a hard opposition 😂 1
old dee 24,075 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 Yesterday I watched North and the Hawks game. The difference was The Hawks had a key forward who could take a mark North did not. Add North shot themselves in the foot with 3- 50 metre penalities for chatting back to the ump. 1 cost them a goal. Hawks are ordinary. With Brown in their team yesterday North wins that game
Salems Lot 2,692 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 2 hours ago, monoccular said: Just watched the Kayo Mini WCE v GC$. Just emphasised the totally feral nature of the WCE "crowd" (a mere handful for season's opener at their home ground) - booing absolutely every goal by GC$ however achieved. The capacity was limited to 50% to be fair
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 14 minutes ago, old dee said: With Brown in their team yesterday North wins that game Ben Brown seems sad about that 3 1 2
von 1,580 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 On 3/19/2022 at 5:05 PM, Demonland said: This exactly. Let all the hype be on Geelong. We have been forgotten in the Bevo/Morris controversy. Fine with me. I love how little we have been mentioned in Mondays round reviews so far. Beating the second best team with 5 of 6 of our backline missing but it’s all about Carlton today. Magnificent 3
jnrmac 20,340 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 Just catching up on some old news, Didn't Mick Malthouse predict the 2022 flag for the Bombers?? Bwah ah hahahahaha 🤣 2 1
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 10 minutes ago, von said: I love how little we have been mentioned in Mondays round reviews so far. Beating the second best team with 5 of 6 of our backline missing but it’s all about Carlton today. Magnificent Nothing to see here. Demons just doin' what they do.
binman 44,788 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 19 hours ago, daisycutter said: tom phillips, dead ringer 1
TRIGON 4,819 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 2 hours ago, Salems Lot said: The capacity was limited to 50% to be fair Mental? 4
daisycutter 29,999 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 1 hour ago, binman said: old photo......facial hair much longer now there was close up footage in yesterday's game where it so reminded me of your avatar
Demon17 5,255 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 3 hours ago, titan_uranus said: Brisbane impressive? If one quarter is enough then you can add Gold Coast to your list of impressive sides. Melbourne, Sydney, Carlton and Geelong the four most impressive. The first two beat known quantities (Dogs and GWS). Reserve judgment on the latter two until we see how they go in Round 2 (Richmond wasn't very good and Essendon was appalling). Good call on this. Dees and Swans for mine. I reckon you can reduce even further. Swans were impressive in coming back agaisnt a class opposition. Dees in control against the seond best team, not some middle of the road outfit. As The Age reported today, Dees, then daylight, then the rest (so far anyway) Cats beat nothing, Blues bullied an undermanned, brave but past- it- now Tigers. Cats to be judged properly this week against Dogs. Lions, struggled to overcome brave and injured Power. Big Deal. 1
daisycutter 29,999 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 9 minutes ago, Demon17 said: Good call on this. Dees and Swans for mine. I reckon you can reduce even further. Swans were impressive in coming back agaisnt a class opposition. Dees in control against the seond best team, not some middle of the road outfit. As The Age reported today, Dees, then daylight, then the rest (so far anyway) Cats beat nothing, Blues bullied an undermanned, brave but past- it- now Tigers. Cats to be judged properly this week against Dogs. Lions, struggled to overcome brave and injured Power. Big Deal. cats play sydney this week, in sydney will be a good test anyway 2
Sir Why You Little 37,449 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 4 hours ago, DeeSpencer said: Carlton, Geel, Sydney and Brisbane the impressive sides of round 1. And it will be a question of whether they can back it up and keep it up but Collingwood looked a far better side too. Fast aggressive footy with good scoring. What was so impressive about Brisbane? they looked disinterested and arrogant for the first 3 quarters. That was the worst 1st Quarter i have seen in a long time. Port lost that game because of their injury toll Brisvegas were lucky 3
DeeSpencer 26,667 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 36 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said: What was so impressive about Brisbane? they looked disinterested and arrogant for the first 3 quarters. That was the worst 1st Quarter i have seen in a long time. Port lost that game because of their injury toll Brisvegas were lucky The injuries helped but I thought it was a reasonably high pressure game in tricky conditions and Brisbane rallied and turned it around. It was far from perfect footy but a comeback win against a prelim team is a solid effort. Daniher and Adams impressed at either end. In fairness to Port they probably deserve as much credit even with losing.
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 1 minute ago, DeeSpencer said: The injuries helped but I thought it was a reasonably high pressure game in tricky conditions and Brisbane rallied and turned it around. It was far from perfect footy but a comeback win against a prelim team is a solid effort. Daniher and Adams impressed at either end. In fairness to Port they probably deserve as much credit even with losing. Those conditions should have suited Brisbane. It was their home game and they played poorly. I doubt Fagan is thrilled with what they showed. 2
Tarax Club 4,189 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 (edited) 3 hours ago, von said: I love how little we have been mentioned in Mondays round reviews so far. If our guys continue to chalk up premiership points whilst flying close to under the radar that’s fine. All those below daylight can scrap like a superfluity of steroided seagulls seeking substance from Gill’s leftover cold chips. All amply illuminated by the media circus spotlight of course. Edited March 21, 2022 by Tarax Club send in the clowns 1 1
Mazer Rackham 14,971 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 7 minutes ago, Tarax Club said: If our guys continue to chalk up premiership points whilst flying close to under the radar that’s fine. All those below daylight can scrap like a bunch of steroided seagulls seeking substance from Gill’s leftover cold chips. All amply illuminated by the media spotlight of course. Hear hear. Let's have Carlton win again this week, let's even have Essendon have a win. Richmond, Collingwood ... all of them. So all their media fans can start cancelling their September holidays and forget we even exist. 1
Demon17 5,255 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 2 hours ago, daisycutter said: cats play sydney this week, in sydney will be a good test anyway Thanks. Confused myself with blues being significantly tested by dogs. Blues and cats games will both be fascinating reality checks hopefully. 1
Thehardtackler 785 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 (edited) I still think Port Adelaide, when fully fit, can be the second best team in the league. I think their youngsters are great and Boak will always be a gun! If they end up on the right side of the finals draw this year, I could see them making the grand final against us! https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/teams/afl Have a look at their list! Edited March 21, 2022 by Thehardtackler
Chook 15,068 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 36 minutes ago, Thehardtackler said: I still think Port Adelaide, when fully fit, can be the second best team in the league. I think their youngsters are great and Boak will always be a gun! If they end up on the right side of the finals draw this year, I could see them making the grand final against us! https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/teams/afl Have a look at their list! Thanks Ken.
TRIGON 4,819 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 41 minutes ago, Thehardtackler said: I still think Port Adelaide, when fully fit, can be the second best team in the league. I think their youngsters are great and Boak will always be a gun! If they end up on the right side of the finals draw this year, I could see them making the grand final against us! https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/teams/afl Have a look at their list! Cream-puffs.
whatwhat say what 23,804 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 🍐 look very small down back without: mckenzie - looked to be gone for some time, amazingly apparently available this week aliir - syndesmosis, 5-12 weeks (depending on who you believe) clurey - already on the injury list, 3-4 weeks 1
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted March 21, 2022 Posted March 21, 2022 2 hours ago, Thehardtackler said: I still think Port Adelaide, when fully fit, can be the second best team in the league. I think their youngsters are great and Boak will always be a gun! If they end up on the right side of the finals draw this year, I could see them making the grand final against us! https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/teams/afl Have a look at their list! They’ve had a good list for a while. They just seem to fall apart under pressure. If they can fix that they’ll go a long way to winning a flag. But you don’t win flags if your team isn’t capable of playing high pressure footy.