Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Kent said:

So we gave up pick 9 for a project player??

If that is so which i doubt then its an appalling decision Why not pick some one else ie a non project player

He's just making stuff up now again..no one uses pick 9 on a 'project player'

Edited by jnrmac

Posted
10 minutes ago, rpfc said:

He def should avoid social media. But he is OOC and that means that for us to keep him as he is currently constructed - we would want him at league average ($400k) and I don’t know if that is where he and his agent thinks he should be.

Sometimes a person gets to a point where you cannot see the forest for the tress rpfc. From my personal experience when that point arrives in spite of your best efforts nothing change until you change your surroundings.

If he has a viable option outside of the MFC let him take it.

The most important thing at this point is his mental health.

Posted
6 minutes ago, old dee said:

Sometimes a person gets to a point where you cannot see the forest for the tress rpfc. From my personal experience when that point arrives in spite of your best efforts nothing change until you change your surroundings.

That goes without saying, but it definitely should be said. Some fans don’t realise that they are people that have the same frailties the rest of us do. 

It is impossible to have all your players inspired and comfortable and confident. We are in a great place at the moment and it shows, but there will always be players that are better off in another environment or who need adjust their own expectations of themselves to be content.

Posted
3 minutes ago, rpfc said:

That goes without saying, but it definitely should be said. Some fans don’t realise that they are people that have the same frailties the rest of us do. 

It is impossible to have all your players inspired and comfortable and confident. We are in a great place at the moment and it shows, but there will always be players that are better off in another environment or who need adjust their own expectations of themselves to be content.

I won’t claim to have seen all his 50 games, that game against the Pies was his worst by far that I have seen. I don’t believe he has the ability to be a very good player at senior level but he could be a good player in the future. Is that at the MFC?
I doubt it.

Posted
18 hours ago, adonski said:

Weid doesn't have the mind to be a great player unfortunately, a massive confidence player who goes into his shell really quickly. Still reckon he has the upside & talent to become a good 2nd tall forward option, but if the Pies gave him a good offer I'd gladly be taking a 2nd rounder at this stage if he doesn't show something obvious in the back half of the year.  

These are key issues with Weed. A 2nd-rounder on offer might (and should) produce a 2nd or 3rd tall forward who is adaptable, very willing and trainable for the role. All parties would be better off if such outcomes would be the case.

Posted

Whilst the narrative has been around Weid not living up to what we all wanted him to be, It is clear that he is at least better than the form he is showing right now. 

Confidence and resilience are traits that should be paired together. It is easy to get confidence when you are playing well and everything is working out, but being resilient (or having the grit) when things are tough is often part of ones character that is overlooked and is much more than training hard and doing a good pre-season. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Kent said:

if he listens to carp on social media then he is a fool Turn it off mate!

This comment would resonate well with people born before 1970, but the reality is that social media is a very integrated part of life these days for many reasons. Simply "turning it off" has the capacity to make him feel even more isolated than he may already. Hardly a solution. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Smokey said:

This comment would resonate well with people born before 1970, but the reality is that social media is a very integrated part of life these days for many reasons. Simply "turning it off" has the capacity to make him feel even more isolated than he may already. Hardly a solution. 

Well if his is on at present it ain't working so turn it off. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Kent said:

So we gave up pick 9 for a project player??

If that is so which i doubt then its an appalling decision Why not pick some one else ie a non project player

Not sure why the shock? Every year clubs draft players that they see as longer term projects.

Posted
Just now, old dee said:

Well if his is on at present it ain't working so turn it off. 

My point is that its a double edge sword as social media is the number 1 way people stay in touch now. So he may get away from negative commentary, but also distance himself from his social groups at the same time. 

Posted

First time, long time.

Whilst I believe that Weideman should and will be dropped for one of the Browns, I do think he's worth keeping on our list for at least the next year. Unless he wants out, lets keep him. He'll want 2 years minimum, and that's ok as long as it's on our terms and his manager is reasonable with where he's at atm, which isn't a position of strength. But if he goes, I trust the club to make the right deal. Thankfully, level heads will make the call, we've done well with trades and recruiting of late.

I do believe he has the physical attributes and skill to improve his AFL output significantly. Could it largely be between the ears/confidence that are holding him back? Choco and Ooze have only been at the club for about 6 months, those two might just be pivotal in any possible resurgence of Weideman this season.

Lets hope so.

Go dees!

Posted
35 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

He's just making stuff up now again..no one uses pick 9 on a 'project player'

Making stuff up? Here's a quote from Taylor and some draft profiles...

JT: “With Sam we thought we needed to bring in another key forward to partner Jesse (Hogan). We think he’s going to be a quality player in time and we can be patient with him."

AFL draft 2015: Melbourne drafts Clayton Oliver, Sam Weideman

"longer term prospect"

2015 AFL draft prospects: Sam Weideman

" First year projection: Long-term prospect"

2015 Draft Profile: Sam Weideman

Posted
1 hour ago, old dee said:

Completely agree OD.  Perfect example in Basketball is Ben Simmons, young (very rich) Aussie guy, with the world at his feet. Has a terrible playoffs with the world watching. he is being crucified in the media for choking, being soft, etc.  lay off the bloke FFS. He should change clubs and cities and start fresh

Posted

i am not an astute football analyst but genuinely wonder what potential Sam has? What other footballer playing right now should Sam model himself on? 

He has raw footy talent - ill give him that. He has a good kicking technique (clearly affected by his confidence at times), which is probably why we took him at pick 9. 

Is he more of a Hawkins/Walker (lead & physical/contested marking); Cameron/Hogan/Hipwood (mobile, lead and endurance); Dixon (pure contested marking);

Are his leading patterns off? Why is he continually found under the ball ? (is this body positioning on the defender, not reading the play etc)?

Posted
4 hours ago, Kent said:

if he listens to carp on social media then he is a fool Turn it off mate!

What if he likes his fishing?

Posted
52 minutes ago, Smokey said:

And if it was that easy to just turn it off, isn’t that what they’d do? Clearly it’s not that simple. I’m sure parents of kids who’ve taken their own lives as a result of cyber bullying can attest to that. 
I don’t know what needs to be done re Sam, but it breaks my heart to hear that he felt sick at halftime during the Collingwood match. ?

Posted
9 minutes ago, CYB said:

i am not an astute football analyst but genuinely wonder what potential Sam has? What other footballer playing right now should Sam model himself on? probably not right now but when he was firing Jack Gunston

He has raw footy talent - ill give him that. He has a good kicking technique (clearly affected by his confidence at times), which is probably why we took him at pick 9. Yes has a good balanced technique - bvall drop seems higher now than when he was kicking well

Is he more of a Hawkins/Walker (lead & physical/contested marking); Definitely not
Cameron/Hogan/Hipwood (mobile, lead and endurance); Maybe - see above re Gunston
Dixon (pure contested marking);Definitely not

Are his leading patterns off? You betcha
Why is he continually found under the ball ? (is this body positioning on the defender, not reading the play etc)? Yes all of these need work and he should be working on this at Casey without pressure to perform at AFL level 

See above

Posted
30 minutes ago, CYB said:

i am not an astute football analyst but genuinely wonder what potential Sam has? What other footballer playing right now should Sam model himself on? 

He has raw footy talent - ill give him that. He has a good kicking technique (clearly affected by his confidence at times), which is probably why we took him at pick 9. 

Is he more of a Hawkins/Walker (lead & physical/contested marking); Cameron/Hogan/Hipwood (mobile, lead and endurance); Dixon (pure contested marking);

Are his leading patterns off? Why is he continually found under the ball ? (is this body positioning on the defender, not reading the play etc)?

Poor mans Jezza Cameron 

Posted
31 minutes ago, CYB said:

Apparently Jonathon Brown was going to mentor him this year but because of COVID it fell through.. Would be good for the club to get Neitz to help him? 

Posted
3 minutes ago, adonski said:

Poor mans Jezza Cameron 

I wish!

Posted (edited)

This thread is getting tiresome. Most of the arguments have been fully fleshed out and now mostly waffling into other areas. If we are talking about mental health issues and cyber bullying then this discussion is getting out of control. Only serves to encourage more mental demons if there are any to begin with. The club will make the next move on what’s right.

Disappointment is is something every delisted, injured, NQR or aspiring un-drafted player has to live with.

He  gets one more chance or he goes back to Casey to work on his game. I’m sure he will be well supported.

That’s all that can happen for now. Too early to talk about career ending moves or leaving the club. 

Edited by John Crow Batty
Posted
48 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

And if it was that easy to just turn it off, isn’t that what they’d do? Clearly it’s not that simple. I’m sure parents of kids who’ve taken their own lives as a result of cyber bullying can attest to that. 
I don’t know what needs to be done re Sam, but it breaks my heart to hear that he felt sick at halftime during the Collingwood match. ?

You delete Instagram, Twitter off your phone. You lock FB down to your friends/family. No whatsapp.

You ring people and see them F2F.

You don't visit Demonland, Big Footy, skip articles about your form online.

Unecessary noise.