Posted
1 hour ago, The heart beats true said:

Britain = Ratten = Teague

Pagan= Malthouse = Lyon

Inexperienced coach who gets no support, followed by experienced coach whose best is behind then. Rinse and repeat.

Disappointed you didn't mention 'Boy' Bolton; here is a club that has appointed 2 coaches who never played the game at the top level, which is something the players have over them.

Posted
38 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Still feel like some strong assistants around him could have made a big difference... not to mention actual support from the club! 

"We're probably going to make our coach walk the plank ... but don't tell anyone."   Morale building stuff.

Posted
22 minutes ago, DubDee said:

if you don't fix off-field first, then on-field does not have a chance, regardless of your list.

This is it in a nutshell. The coach is just one portion of the recipe for success and if everything else is in place, any coach in the system should be able to get a competitive result.

That's why it drives me nuts when we hear of 'genius' coaches such as Clarkson but with no evidence other than results to support it.

Posted

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Absolutely appalling treatment by the Carlton Footy Club.

Feel for David Teague.

Agreed. My elder brother, who is "Blemished by Blue", is disgusted.

Posted
24 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Worked for Sydney with Paul Roos, but you are right that it is more often unsuccessful. The one thing Carlton has got right this year is not sacking Teague during the season and replacing him with a temporary coach. Carlton fell for that temporary sugar hit from when they appointed Teague full-time after his stint as a stand-in coach and now suffer the consequences - effectively 2 more wasted seasons.

Didnt the Sydney Board try to get Terry Wallet but the players wanted Roos?

Carltons list is better from 2 years ago, it could be a good gig for someone.

Posted

Takes a pretty special kind of character to walk into the place now and think they will make a difference.

Whoever takes on this job will have a monumental task trying to create stability and do their job when they know the guillotine could drop at a moments notice.

I think the instability this year and the handling of Teague will create irreparable damage to the club ala Adelaide Crows and their infamous camp 

Posted
5 minutes ago, TRIGON said:

Agreed. My elder brother, who is "Blemished by Blue", is disgusted.

100% agree with the mental crushing this would have on anyone. No doubt the 500 off K he will b paid out will help in fincancial security but no one likes to have their profession publicly humiliated and degraded. I suppose thats the industry butstill pretty sas for him.

Ross Lyon comes across as a dog of a guy. Not quite Malthouse level.

Posted

Carlton should take the AFL up on an offer to move to Tassie, I've suggested this to my Carlton mates, hasn't gone down well

• Haha 5
Posted

This saga reminds me of a presentation given by our former CEO Peter Jackson. To make a long story short, get the administration right, then the football department, and the on-field results start to flow 3 to 5 years later.

We learnt the hard way. Doesn't seem to have sunk in at Carlton yet.

Posted
1 hour ago, titan_uranus said:

It's not that long ago that we were a shambles, with continued off-field disasters compounding our on-field woes.

I agree that Carlton's mucked this up royally, but maybe let's just reflect on how hard it can be to get things right after years of underperformance.

Spot on tu. It is easy to throw stones when you are sitting on top of the ladder. We know how a large number of their members must be feeling today.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Demon_spurs said:

Carlton should take the AFL up on an offer to move to Tassie, I've suggested this to my Carlton mates, hasn't gone down well

I wonder why!

Posted
1 hour ago, The heart beats true said:

Britain = Ratten = Teague

Pagan= Malthouse = Lyon

Inexperienced coach who gets no support, followed by experienced coach whose best is behind then. Rinse and repeat.

Fair point and agree with what ppl have said re the atrocious treatment of Teague and lack of support.  Having said that, I didn't have a lot of confidence in Teague in the ways he handled press conferences (which is obviously not a great indication of coaching ability but one of the few things we can go on).  Obviously no one looks good when you lose more than you win but even Goodwin in 2019-2020 was at least consistent in his message (as much as we all hated the learnings comments).  I never got the sense that Teague had a realistic sense of where the team was at - potentially this is also coloured by the way they went after the likes of Williams / Saad last year on big coin.  The relationship with Cripps (arguably in the top 3 players in the game a few years back) was odd as well.

Having said that, it wouldn't surprise me if Lyon is able to turn things around.  They have enough star power on field in the key positions to trouble any team - they just need to fix the culture, team defence etc.  I don't like Ross Lyon's style of play but you know his teams will be defensively sound and the senior players seem to love him as a coach.  Whether he can turn around their culture is another question - but I think he's a better chance to do it than anyone else (except Clarko who's off the market).

Posted (edited)

For mine, the genesis of this shamozzle stems from the voting arrangements surrounding the outgoing President Mark Logiudice and his Board. Forgive me for not knowing the exact machinations but I do recall that it was almost impossible for them to be challenged by the rank and file. And therein lies the problem. There's a sense of entitlement and almost ownership wherein these so called 'Captains of Industry' become all knowing across areas where they are clearly not. Whilst a different scenario, I reckon you could draw parallels with Jeff Kennett in terms of that desperate need to be seen as the main man. Most at Hawthorn will tell you that he success at Hawthorn was set up prior to Kennett and certainly in spite of him and not because of him.

You look at other clubs, Swans spring to mind, where the regular football fan would be hard pressed to name anyone from admin. 

Edited by Return to Glory
Posted
4 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

You look at other clubs, Swans spring to mind, where the regular football fan would be hard pressed to name anyone from admin. 

Roosy summed it up well at the 2014 B&F: 'the best boards are united, proactive and silent'. 

I get the feeling that's why GB might have been given the tap on the shoulder with us. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

For mine, the genesis of this shamozzle stems from the voting arrangements surrounding the outgoing President Mark Logiudice and his Board. Forgive me for not knowing the exact machinations but I do recall that it was almost impossible for them to be challenged by the rank and file. And therein lies the problem. There's a sense of entitlement and almost ownership wherein these so called 'Captains of Industry' become all knowing across areas where they are clearly not. Whilst a different scenario, I reckon you could draw parallels with Jeff Kennett in terms of that desperate need to be seen as the main man. Most at Hawthorn will tell you that he success at Hawthorn was set up prior to Kennett and certainly in spite of him and not because of him.

Re the Swans, other football industry insiders rate them as amongst the best, if not the best, run club. I've had interactions with them personally...very impressive outfit.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Colin B. Flaubert said:

Roosy summed it up well at the 2014 B&F: 'the best boards are united, proactive and silent'. 

I get the feeling that's why GB might have been given the tap on the shoulder with us. 

I was going to mention him but I'm not across it enough. But I will say that I did feel a level of unease (as much as you can as a regular supporter) at the seeming co- ordinated attack towards a potential candidate a few months back. 

Posted
48 minutes ago, Colin B. Flaubert said:

Absolutely pathetic. They deserve the 5 years of misery about to be enacted on them.

They weren't even going to hire him initially. Then they backflipped on that when he produced better results than Bolton.

He then gets a COVID disrupted year where they finish about where you would expect but with an exclamation mark over him.

He finally gets a full year with a young team, which is as you would expect: inconsistent but roughly around the mark they were the previous year. 

What did Carlton expect? Miracles? 

This club is lucky they were good during the '70's and '80's when TV coverage was restricted, and all people got to see was their  3rd quarter comeback on The Winners. They could entrench themselves in the minds and affections of a generation of Baby Boomers with money.

Their club would be irrelevant otherwise.

And they cheated to win flags! I hope they keep wallowing in this misery. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Demon trucker said:

Another half back flanker, they have about 20 flankers on their list

What? He's a full time midfielder.

Posted

I feel for Teague in that he didn’t get much support, but every club is dealing with the same soft cap now. So it’s a question of resource allocation. It’s hardly the days of Daniher going solo whilst the big clubs invested millions.

I also feel for Teague with the way the last few weeks have unfolded, that speaks for itself.

Otherwise, Teague took over Bolton’s defensive structure, put the mature players back in the midfield and went 6-5. 

He then went 7-10 and 8-14 with no defensive structure and consistently giving up 5 goal runs.

Yes they had injuries and some interesting recruiting choices but they seemed to be going backwards. If he’s lost the playing group as well then there’s really little choice but to start over again.

Posted

Foxfooty.com.au profiles 12 contenders for the vacant Carlton coaching gig.

1. Ross Lyon
  2. Nathan Buckley
  3. Robert Harvey
  4. Michael Voss
  5. Justin Leppitsch
  6. Dale Tapping
  7. Scott Burns
  8. Blake Caracella
  9. Dean Solomon
  10. Adem Yze
  11. Adam Kingsley
  12. Daniel Giansiracusa

Posted

I guess they should have never appointed a coach on his 'L PLates'

Looking at you Chris Judd.

Posted
Just now, roy11 said:

Foxfooty.com.au profiles 12 contenders for the vacant Carlton coaching gig.

1. Ross Lyon
  2. Nathan Buckley
  3. Robert Harvey
  4. Michael Voss
  5. Justin Leppitsch
  6. Dale Tapping
  7. Scott Burns
  8. Blake Caracella
  9. Dean Solomon
  10. Adem Yze
  11. Adam Kingsley
  12. Daniel Giansiracusa

Why would Yze go there? Seriously why would any unproven coach go there? They treat their coaches like trash. They need a big name with big clout to shut their board up and put some support around them.