On 31/07/2021 at 02:21, leave it to deever said:

Except we will have a five day turnaround the following game.

If they keep next week’s game on Sat we won’t play Monday night. Was only mentioned as a possibility, who knows what next week will look like now.

On 31/07/2021 at 02:27, chookrat said:

There is no reason why the players wouldn't be let off the plane as airports continue to operate even in a lockdown and unless the terminal becomes an exposure site the players would be fine re isolation.

While there is a risk that GC players have been caught up in an exposure site since the 27th, which I'm assuming they have already been in lockdown protocols given there have been a small number of local community cases on Queensland over the past week, it shouldn't impact teams being given exemptions to play in Vic or WA.

As you alluded too, AFL players adhere to different protocols. 
That is what makes me think they would be restricted to the plane, especially when they are awaiting their next destination.
To let people off the plane means when they get that clearance they have to go through the whole boarding procedure again where the pilots will generally rather keep the passengers on the plane, which I have experienced before with emergency landing/flight destination changes.

But really, we are both just guessing here aren't we?

On 31/07/2021 at 02:29, Dee Zephyr said:

If they keep next week’s game on Sat we won’t play Monday night. Was only mentioned as a possibility, who knows what next week will look like now.

All i know is i cant let todays footy franks go to waste.

Im sure the afl will find some way to do us over.

Edited by leave it to deever

On 31/07/2021 at 02:32, FritschyBusiness said:

As you alluded too, AFL players adhere to different protocols. 
That is what makes me think they would be restricted to the plane, especially when they are awaiting their next destination.
To let people off the plane means when they get that clearance they have to go through the whole boarding procedure again where the pilots will generally rather keep the passengers on the plane, which I have experienced before with emergency landing/flight destination changes.

But really, we are both just guessing here aren't we?

Passengers on board during refuelling CAO 20.9 (4.2)

The aircraft operator must ensure that AVGAS is not loaded onto an aircraft while passengers are on board, or entering or leaving, the aircraft.

https://vfrg.casa.gov.au/general/pilot-responsibilities/refuelling/

On 31/07/2021 at 02:25, Redleg said:

One of your more popular posts.

I have to win one occasionally Mr. Leg

At least through the Maelstrom that is evolving Demonland posters are proving once again why I love this site. Entertainment plus Thanks Guys and Girls!

On 31/07/2021 at 02:29, Dee Zephyr said:

Or this weekend

On 31/07/2021 at 02:36, Lord Nev said:

Certainly easier to keep Eagles here and play the game here next weekend.

On 31/07/2021 at 02:37, Bates Mate said:

Will Virgin honour the boys velocity points?

The most pressing question...

On 31/07/2021 at 02:27, Lord Nev said:

Not 100% sure, but I thought the rule was passengers weren't allowed to be on board during refueling.

Boys, we have two options.

Option one, disembark and risk getting covid.

Option two, stay on the plane and risk dying in a fiery avaiation fuel explosion.

Show of hands?

Option one it is.

Oh, don't bother waking tmac up.

So if we play tomorrow it will need to be really early so we can get a flight to Perth to serve our 7 day quarantine in time for a Sunday night game the following week? 

We should just stay in Melbourne as the Eagles are already here and play at their choice or venue in vic ;) 

I reckon the players would be pretty stressed out by this stuff unfolding. Hopefully the players can start practicing for the players revue items to keep everyone smiling! ?

On 31/07/2021 at 02:42, GCDee said:

So if we play tomorrow it will need to be really early so we can get a flight to Perth to serve our 7 day quarantine in time for a Sunday night game the following week? 

We should just stay in Melbourne as the Eagles are already here and play at their choice or venue in vic ;) 

West Coast should just stay here.

Perths government can react pretty quickly to covid cases and change everything.

On 31/07/2021 at 02:21, leave it to deever said:

Except we will have a five day turnaround the following game.

not necessarily because it will be rescheduled from perth to melb. so doesn't have to be at same time

On 31/07/2021 at 02:50, old dee said:

You are  making no allowance for the WA Government.

Can’t see WA government accepting if we play a qld team tomorrow that’s been in the community prior to an outbreak. Makes most sense to keep teams in Victoria especially if AFL is stead strong on protecting the pre finals bye . Bad luck west coast 

Not quite what bowey had in mind for his debut 

We might as well treat the next month as a preseason for finals. Doesn't matter where we finish, just get the squad through and prepare for a 4 week run in September.

On 31/07/2021 at 03:00, Dr. Gonzo said:

From where? Perth?

We're gonna be stuffed, travelling from Melb-Bris-Perth-Melb in 1 day!

No mate, straight back from Brisbane.