Sir Why You Little 37,449 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 16 minutes ago, faultydet said: Rex Hunt was an abomination as a commentator. Tim Lane the best. What a contrast. Absolutely. Rex was finally sacked last week for being obnoxious 3 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 (edited) On 7/9/2021 at 9:45 AM, binman said: Football commentary does my head in. I can't stand it any longer. So I've decided to start a thread so I have somewhere to vent my frustration about the standard of football commentary each week. The alternative is going crazy. Please feel free to use this as your football commentary does my head in safe space I’m with you mate, commentary has never been more unlistenable. When it’s not boys club garbage it’s sappy hometown crap like what we saw on Thursday night. Not one mention about how some of the many frees against us might have been stiff. It’s like it was a direction not to point out the noise of affirmation . I also laughed when one of them said Port were happy racking up uncontested marks at one point as if the game was on their terms. Then you’ve got fabulous BT himself. A man more concerned with looking at seagulls in the last quarter at Marvel and talking about the food they might be interested in at the snack bar. Another thing that drives me insane with Brian is how he lingers on moments way too long while the crucial play is still going. Might have been Parfitt last week dropping a sitter and while BT is going on and on about how it was “An ab-sol-ute soda” Parfitt is actually making a second effort and influencing the play to the point where Hamish McLachlan has to jump in on BT’s address to the nation to say that he might actually make up for it here, which he did by kicking to a man in the 50. The worst is JB and BT together. Just a memory lane p*ssing contest. Hamish isn’t a world beater but give me him with one of those every day over the alternative. I could go on into fox footy coverage but will save that for later. Edited July 10, 2021 by layzie 2 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 1 hour ago, Sir Why You Little said: Tim Lane is the last of them. Rex Hunt began the steady decline Man I miss Tim Lane on TV :( 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,449 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 8 minutes ago, layzie said: Man I miss Tim Lane on TV :( The Winners was all class 2 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,529 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 Gerard Healy’s just joined the fun. He just called the Freo Dockers the “Dogs” Quote
Guest Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 1 hour ago, Sir Why You Little said: Absolutely. Rex was finally sacked last week for being obnoxious Obnoxious is putting it mildly. ? Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,791 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 4 hours ago, Kent said: Her voice in particularly makes me grind my teeth Needs serious voice training It's a horrible blokish drawl, seems deliberate to try and fit in Quote
Guest Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Special comments by Nick Dal Santo in this afternoons game: “Koschitzke (Hawthorn forward) kicked 5 goals earlier in the year against the Hawks” Like they need own goals to be on the wrong end of a hiding. ? Quote
Pates 9,695 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 18 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: I don’t think old mate Drew will commenting a game any time soon. Dang I missed that, he was a great commentator. Puts a lot of the current ones to shame. 1 Quote
jumbo returns 6,744 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 2 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said: The Winners was all class Wasn't that Drew Morphett, SWYL? Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,449 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 2 minutes ago, jumbo returns said: Wasn't that Drew Morphett, SWYL? Tim also did a lot of hosting Turtleneck Jumper and the Moustache!!! 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,758 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 4 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said: Absolutely. Rex was finally sacked last week for being obnoxious didn't know that but just found a report on the circumstances.. https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-great-rex-hunts-onair-blow-up-ends-his-return-to-radio/news-story/c2764e2e6250140aef37290b141be2f7 1 Quote
Supermercado 2,806 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 More Jason Bennett please. Criminally underused by Seven until the last few weeks. 2 Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 Luke Darcy isn’t trying to give a short biography of each player every time they get the ball tonight which is a nice change. Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,467 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 5 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Gerard Healy’s just joined the fun. He just called the Freo Dockers the “Dogs” Better than when he called the Gold Coast Suns the Gold C****s 1 3 Quote
Chook 15,068 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 15 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said: Luke Darcy isn’t trying to give a short biography of each player every time they get the ball tonight which is a nice change. Why would he? He'd have to know something about Brisbane or St Kilda first. 1 Quote
dees189227 12,509 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 I'm sick of hearing the term quarterback being used in our game 1 Quote
Kumamoto_Ken 1,531 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 15 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said: Better than when he called the Gold Coast Suns the Gold C****s Pretty sure that was on Mother's Day too. Wash your mouth out Gerard. Huddo's reaction is classic. 3 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,467 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 2 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said: didn't know that but just found a report on the circumstances.. https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-great-rex-hunts-onair-blow-up-ends-his-return-to-radio/news-story/c2764e2e6250140aef37290b141be2f7 What a [censored] was always holier than thou then it came out he was paying multiple women for a bit on the side for decades. Such an honourable man, can't stand him. https://www.smh.com.au/national/im-a-weak-hypocritical-sleaze-hunts-call-on-paid-sex-20060518-gdnkgj.html 1 Quote
D4Life 2,584 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 The term “drink your own bath water” certainly applies to: BT Brayshaw Darcy Ling Brereton Eddie Commentary team I would prefer: - Anthony Hudson - Daisy - Leppitsch - Hodge 4 Quote
DEE fence 5,051 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 4 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said: What a [censored] was always holier than thou then it came out he was paying multiple women for a bit on the side for decades. Such an honourable man, can't stand him. https://www.smh.com.au/national/im-a-weak-hypocritical-sleaze-hunts-call-on-paid-sex-20060518-gdnkgj.html I was in Vicpol for 12 years, he was hated by everyone, and universally described as a thug who would whack a bloke in cuffs, and other gutless stuff. Was a shame the toe cutters never managed to charge him. Lucky for him his era was pre camera phone. 2 1 Quote
Guest Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 3 minutes ago, DEE fence said: I was in Vicpol for 12 years, he was hated by everyone, and universally described as a thug who would whack a bloke in cuffs, and other gutless stuff. Was a shame the toe cutters never managed to charge him. Lucky for him his era was pre camera phone. Wow. Just Wow. Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 a. The ch7 stand up set looks terrible and awkward. b. What was Luke Darcy wearing jeggings? Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,449 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 16 minutes ago, DEE fence said: I was in Vicpol for 12 years, he was hated by everyone, and universally described as a thug who would whack a bloke in cuffs, and other gutless stuff. Was a shame the toe cutters never managed to charge him. Lucky for him his era was pre camera phone. Not suprised. Have heard a lot of stories Rex had a Fishing shop In Black Rock when i was down there Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 (edited) The way some of these special comments guys are dressed is beyond me. Are you trying to be cool? Coz you failed. Are you trying to look professional? Coz you failed. Are you trying to look like a vegan hipster from Brunswick? Great success! PS- if Luke Darcy is growing a middle aged man mullet, I am starting a petition to pixilate his head while on screen. Edited July 10, 2021 by Jaded 4 Quote