Posted

When watching the game live I have the sound muted (I can’t handle BT) but just finished watching the replay with the sound on and I have to say our Sydney based brethren were magnificent. I’m not sure how many were there but you certainly generated plenty of noise and I’m sure helped lift the team. I hope as many of you as possible can make it along to the SCG for the QB game.

Posted
1 minute ago, Better days ahead said:

When watching the game live I have the sound muted (I can’t handle BT) but just finished watching the replay with the sound on and I have to say our Sydney based brethren were magnificent. I’m not sure how many were there but you certainly generated plenty of noise and I’m sure helped lift the team. I hope as many of you as possible can make it along to the SCG for the QB game.

If you are a NSW based member do you have to pay to attend?

Posted

Had a great night at the footy with my 9 year old and one of his friends. My first live game of the year and now looking forward to going again for Queens birthday. 

The crowd was great with respectful banter with the nearby Brisbane supporters. 

I really liked Rivers and Perry’s game down back. Rivers covers a lot of territory and has some great burst moments which puts the opposition under a lot of pressure. Petty was strong and defended well when we were under the pump. May and Lever did some nice things but also had some poor moments. 

My sons favourite player is Kossie who he calls ‘Crazy hair’ had an amazing 2nd half and I loved his goals. Some of skills are unbelievable and it was a pleasure to watch live from the fence. 

Posted

Was quite quiet and eery atmosphere early. Very few in attendance. It picked up after half time. I think the tipping point in momentum was when the brisbane lions cheers squad leader went [censored] up and fell down a few rows of seating. ?? Boys grinded hard and got on top.  Lachie Neale is as big a downhill skier Ive seen. And Dayne Zorko, Well Tommy Mac sorted that goose out then showed class and gave the midget a hand up.  

We are a different club to what weve all become accustomed to. Signs of a great club and Petracca ???

Posted
7 minutes ago, old dee said:

If you are a NSW based member do you have to pay to attend?

i don't know OD but i would assume not. 

And btw I'm glad to see you are finally able to enjoy our wins

Posted

Our little Demon group hit a mid season high for barracking noise in the second half last night, apparently the neighbours have a chuckle when a MELB game is underway. I reckon we engaged the neighbours of the neighbours and theirs too last night it was magnificent!!

Posted (edited)
15 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

i don't know OD but i would assume not. 

And btw I'm glad to see you are finally able to enjoy our wins

Have always enjoyed the result, it's the journey that still worries me when it is happening. I am sure large part of the problem is having to watch on TV. I have never liked watching games on tv. Nothing like being there.

Posted (edited)
42 minutes ago, sydneydee said:

Had a great night at the footy with my 9 year old and one of his friends. My first live game of the year and now looking forward to going again for Queens birthday. 

The crowd was great with respectful banter with the nearby Brisbane supporters. 

I really liked Rivers and Perry’s game down back. Rivers covers a lot of territory and has some great burst moments which puts the opposition under a lot of pressure. Petty was strong and defended well when we were under the pump. May and Lever did some nice things but also had some poor moments. 

My sons favourite player is Kossie who he calls ‘Crazy hair’ had an amazing 2nd half and I loved his goals. Some of skills are unbelievable and it was a pleasure to watch live from the fence. 

It is a great intimate atmosphere at Giants Stadium, yet was eerily quiet early. But understandably so. If I’m in my own lounge room watching live, or (I imagine) at the MCG amongst fellow members, I am incredibly vocal. But with a group of strangers, at a foreign location, I, like most, were hesitant to let go initially.

But seeing the lions demolish our game plan, was enough to set us all off. And once the noise was up, it just kept cranking. 

I loved the Kossie, kossie, kossie chant that erupted every time he enchanted the crowd. 

I loved the great banter between the opposing supporters.

l loved the supporter who fell down about 6 steps in aisle 290 but didn’t spill one drop from his 2 cans of beer (amazing performance)

But most of all I loved our ability to turn the game on its head, and run out comfortable winners, and I was able to see that with my son.

PS, hey Sydneydee, I have a couple of brand new unused ponchos if you are interested.

Edited by Neil Crompton

Posted

What a turn around in a game playing Team No.3, they were all over us in the first half but when the boys put their foot down and applied the real pressure we ran them off their feet and we just got better and better. Just how good can we get ??? My grandson and I were getting so noisy at the start of the third quarter that my wife went into the bedroom to watch the game. We now have gears and when we go into overdrive no one can go with us. What an exciting feeling, I haven’t felt like this before, expecting to win when all the early evidence is predicting a loss.

So proud off our Team. ??

Posted

Probably has been said but massive thanks and respect to that sensational group of supporters that turned out and contributed (without doubt) to our win over Brissy. F ing unreal effort!

Posted (edited)

Jake Lever on 3AW now

Posted (edited)

Just had the misfortune of watching Saturday Countdown and Derm “jokingly” asked Brayshaw if Oliver throws it more than Tom Brady.

I don’t normally get upset about media but it just showed complete and utter disrespect for not only Oliver, but also Brayshaw and a team that is 11 and 1.

I dare say Derm wouldn’t have asked it to a player from a “big” club. It just feels like a lot of the media are having a hard team getting it through their head that we are the best right now.

Edited by Clint Bizkit
Posted
7 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Just had the misfortune of watching Saturday Countdown and Derm “jokingly” asked Brayshaw if Oliver throws it more than Tom Brady.

I don’t normally get upset about media but it just showed complete and utter disrespect for not only Oliver, but also Brayshaw and a team that is 11 and 1.

I dare say Derm wouldn’t have asked it to a player from a “big” club. It just feels like a lot of the media are having a hard team getting it through their head that we are the best right now.

He’s becoming to be up there with BT in terms of commentators I can’t listen too at a rapid rate.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

That was utterly embarrassing by Derm. You could sense Huddo and King wanted to crawl under the table. 

Posted
13 hours ago, Beetle said:

Watching the second half again now.

The midfield finally stepped the [censored] up which caused Brisbane to rush kicks forward allowing our backs to take control.
We rebounded hard, linked up and as the game opened up, it allowed us to kick forward to an uncrowded forward line.
Game over.

Right now I am in unfamiliar territory with this win loss ratio, so don’t know what to do with myself. I love it. Go you Demons.

Yep so much of our success is about the pressure we put on the oppo mids. It is this that allows players like Lever, May and Salem to get intercept marks and distribute the ball to dangerous positions. Love it..

Posted

The challenge for this group is maintain this type of intensity and ok if they drop a game  but also peak at the right time.....But very enjoyable with my 23yo son watching weekly win especially in lock down!

Posted
9 minutes ago, Demonland said:

[censored] Dermie

Every one of those 'examples' he clearly handballs. Fair dinkum he is a .... up ...... Can't believe they pay him to comment on football

How about looking at how tbe dogs move the ball

Posted

I drink pretty heavily during Friday night games so my memory is generally pretty hazy of the last quarters of games. I woke up today and literally thought that passage of play that led to the final TMac goal was a wonderful dream I’d had. Watching the replay and it actually happened! Holy [censored], what an unbelievable team effort. 

Posted
3 hours ago, A F said:

Whereas, Harmes seemed to rotate to both Neale and McLuggage at stoppages in the first half.

So I thought the way we used our mids to shut down their dangerous players was superb. Yze must deserve a lot of credit for this and the improvement of all these guys has to be at the feet of Williams, whilst taking nothing away from Goodwin and the trust he has in the players to play to his blueprint.

The real strength that we're beginning to build in our midfield though (and I'd argue it's similar for our back 6) is having the ability to lockdown on a player and then join in on offence.

Viney is good at it, but I'd argue Harmes is more dangerous because his kicking is more penetrative than Viney and he kicks goals.

But Melksham, IMO, took a step towards being able to play a similar role last night. Shut down opponents, but then join in on offence when he could. It's the perfect example of offence coming from your strong defence.

But Melksham didn't play a role last night. Goodwin has confirmed this and stated that he simply had a quiet game.

Posted
Just now, dazzledavey36 said:

But Melksham didn't play a role last night. Goodwin has confirmed this and stated that he simply had a quiet game.

Which interview dazzler?

Posted
9 minutes ago, binman said:

Every one of those 'examples' he clearly handballs. Fair dinkum he is a .... up ...... Can't believe they pay him to comment on football

How about looking at how tbe dogs move the ball

It's almost as if he doesn't rate him as a footballer.

Posted
20 minutes ago, binman said:

Which interview dazzler?

SEN interview this morning.

He had no role last night and was simply quiet.