Posted
8 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Methinks Mitch Hannan might not be terribly upset at the no crowds thing. He won’t have to hear anyone booing every time he goes near the ball. 

I honestly don't think he would've received many boos. Certainly not Tom Scully level boos.

He was a fringe player that was offered a better contract elsewhere. Good luck to him.

A very similar player to Fritsch who plays bits and pieces of games. Can only carry one of those into the side.

Posted

Tell you what, 1 ''pupil free day'' and trying to work from home, and I am looking forward to yelling at some umpires tonight... and a large glass bottle of wine.

• Haha 5

Posted
3 hours ago, Maldonboy38 said:

We lost by one point when nearly our entire 22 played an average or poor game.

Dogs beaten by Blues and Tiges. On both occasions, the Dogs crumbled under fierce pressure. 

If our boys can play the Goodwin 'start-from-the-contest' footy and do most of the hard work when we they don't have the ball, we win and we win well. If our tackles don't stick, or we let Daniels, Bont and Johannisen play loose and free 5 metres off the contest, we get smashed. 

Oliver, Gawn, Trac, Brayshaw, Fritsch, May, Lever, Salem are our usual match winners, but this game relies much more heavily on Spargo, Pickett, ANB, Harmes, and Hunt.

Dees by about 16 points I reckon (hope?).

Mongel winning might be better defined this evening as we tear shreds from the Doggies unexpectedly - and why? Because the guys will have been told exactly where they stand after their performances last week - and how 'chicken tish'  they were onfield, each and every one of them leaving the outcome of the match in the hands of perhaps three players who were showing how it is done. Dees by 10 points ... a bruising but heroic encounter.

Posted
14 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Methinks Mitch Hannan might not be terribly upset at the no crowds thing. He won’t have to hear anyone booing every time he goes near the ball. 

Couldn't boo Hannan after 2018. Amicable split, good luck to him.

Posted (edited)

I'm more [censored] off our local footy got canned for the week up here on the border region then I care for tonight's game..

Tonight's game is a bit meh for me.

Posted
54 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I understand we have a great record of playing in front of no fans at Marvel.

The silent fortress 

Posted
1 minute ago, Left Foot Snap said:

Agreed. Not sure why anyone would boo him. We offered him 2 years, he wanted 3. We said you're not worth that, he said ok. We move on. 

Nobody here did anything wrong. Like Kent he was within his rights to try and get himself a better deal knowing he was a fringe player with a dodgy body. Can't begrudge him that. 

Posted
1 hour ago, cantstandyasam said:

We can't carry any passengers tonight. Fritsch must perform and do the team stuff or back to Casey.

What about Fritta's next door neighbours on the forward line? The Weed owes the Club heaps ... he'd better perform as the sands run out of the timing device. As for the Melk, a contribution would be handy. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

What about Fritta's next door neighbours on the forward line? The Weed owes the Club heaps ... he'd better perform as the sands run out of the timing device. As for the Melk, a contribution would be handy. 

It's difficult to give what you don't possess.  

Posted
3 hours ago, binman said:

This was always going to be a fascinating game.

The top two teams in the AFL atm, and not just on the ladder. We are clearly the two best performed teams.

Two different tactical models, but not distinct in the way say ours and the Eagles are.

Of course all team have a focus on pressure and winning contested ball. But the dees and dogs have pressure and contested footy as foundation stones of their model. 

Where we differ is our defence system, the ways we transition the ball and the way we look to generate scoring opportunities.  

But no crowd and the open roof, no to mention the craziness of this week and both teams having covid scares, add random variables into mix.

Last year, i found our early games with no crowds painful to watch in terms of the atmosphere, but also from a perspective of not knowing if the games would ultimately count for anything. And it felt like the players were going through the motions.

But tonight those factors, particularly the last two are not really in the equation.

Yes, the game won't have the same atmosphere, and will miss  a lot because of it.

But unlike the games with no crowds last year, in some ways it will have its own special atmosphere. Just the sound of the players, like a suburban game, playing a match for real stakes and two teams desperate to show who is the best going head to head. 

Might even have better umpiring without the noise of affirmation!

Can't wait

Are we certain we won’t be getting the 70s-sitcom-style “crowd” tonight? 

Posted
8 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I'm more [censored] off our local footy got canned for the week up here on the border region then I care for tonight's game..

Tonight's game is a bit meh for me.

So you don't think we'll win either hey?

Posted

What jumper tonight? A mainly white probably works best against the dogs. I cannot imagine any red and blue combination that would not clash with the dogs.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Dee*ceiving said:

Agree Deemania. 3+ goals from the Weed and we'll get over the line tonight. Goose egg and we're likely toast 

Likely toast then?

Posted

Quick question: Did we breach any rules when we recruited Fritsch? It seems like there must be an AFL rule that says all players with the first name of Bailey must play for the Bulldogs.

Or did we get him on a technicality because of the way his is spelled?

Posted
8 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Quick question: Did we breach any rules when we recruited Fritsch? It seems like there must be an AFL rule that says all players with the first name of Bailey must play for the Bulldogs.

Or did we get him on a technicality because of the way his is spelled?

Now there is question to ponder over the weekend LDC.

Posted
35 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Is it just me, or with everything else going on in Victoria the last 3 days, this game has sort of dropped off to the back of the mind?

I was pumped about it last week, but maybe it is also my MFCSS. I am fully preparing myself for a big loss tonight.

Yeah, it’s not just you. I’ve actually eaten today and managed to keep it down, something that’s foreign to me on game day.

Posted
2 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

I think we will come out determined tonight.  They blew it last week and they knew it.

Last week I felt we didn't bring our 'game face' of earlier games when goals were taken in their stride with little fanfare/celebration and quickly ready for the next play.  Handballs were targetted and purposeful. 

Last week I saw the 'hollywood hand ball' come back.  Early goals received more than their usual backslapping/laughing.  They celebrated hard after Clarry's last goal thinking the game was won so forgot to defend a very good lead.

Tonight I want to see that steely 'game face' again.  The one which says:  we are here to be serious.

Yeah a week on from the Adelaide game I'd like to think the loss has blown away any semblence of laziness and all 22 will be primed for 100% effort.

If we give that I'll be happy regardless of the result.

Posted
2 hours ago, Smokey said:

Win, lose or draw if the boys arrive and play with the same intensity that got most of our wins this year I'll enjoy the show 

Carn Demons, the opportunity for the biggest statement we've made in decades awaits 

Our 2 finals wins in 2018 were decent statements as was our defeat of Richmond on Anzac Eve.

Just sayin...

Posted
33 minutes ago, Left Foot Snap said:

For some supporters it doesn’t matter under what circumstances the player has left the club, they’ll boo nonetheless. But having said that, we’re not Essendon or Collingwood or Richmond or any other type of uncultured swine so yeah no booing of Mitch. ?

Posted

To those talking up a loss.

If we we can't be competitive with the Dogs, then our prospects of being in a grandfinal is shot. There are other teams around the level of the Dogs and the Dees. We are up there with the best and can take home the grail.

Comes down to, if this is our day.

To the naysayers, have some heart.  

Posted
1 hour ago, old dee said:

Strut around whatever the result Rab.

Maybe I can get some of the locals to join the cause and start a demon báhn mì army.