The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted
4 hours ago, Melb16 said:

Isn't that her job though? She openly admits her role is not that of a match report writer. If footballers/administrators/boards are doing the wrong thing, you'd prefer it be swept under the carpet and not have them be held accountable? That's a big part of the role of journalists in all sectors.

Of course, but surely she would and could also report on good things clubs/players do. But she doesn’t. Just like she doesn’t go after Richmond. 

I respect her as much as Purple and Hutchy.

Posted

I actually like Sam McClure too. When you're surrounded by guys like Robbo who butcher the English language and guys like Eddie who yell their opinion across the table, I like how Sam McClure is always calm, never raises his voice, is articulate but also strong in his views. 

I think the media get such a hard time but I think they do a really good job covering our game. I think besides Robbo who isn't fit for television (or radio) they all do quite a good job. My favourites are Whately, Lloyd, Ross Lyon, Sam McClure, Dal Santo, Gary Lyon and Kath Loughnan because she seems to flirt with her co-hosts. lol

Posted

I used to her enjoy her work on 3AW each Tuesday evening with Gerard Healy. Particularly her rolling top 10 "AFL people under pressure list" (Bartlett and Pert were regulars on this list in 2019)

Now they've got Leigh Matthews as the Tuesday night regular and he brings next to nothing to the table.

Posted
11 hours ago, Hatchman said:

Me either, I think she is the best football journalist by the length of the Nullabor Plain and has been for decades.

CW is not a football journalist in the conventional sense. She doesn't write about the game, do analysis or match reports. 

What she does, and does better than anyone else, is report on the politics of clubs and relations, especially the souring of relations between officials, thanks to links to club personnel at a high level.

And it's that access at senior club levels, I think, that inevitably leads to her upsetting people in the football world. In a sense she is more of a football gossip writer than a football journalist.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

I actually like Sam McClure too. When you're surrounded by guys like Robbo who butcher the English language and guys like Eddie who yell their opinion across the table, I like how Sam McClure is always calm, never raises his voice, is articulate but also strong in his views. 

I think the media get such a hard time but I think they do a really good job covering our game. I think besides Robbo who isn't fit for television (or radio) they all do quite a good job. My favourites are Whately, Lloyd, Ross Lyon, Sam McClure, Dal Santo, Gary Lyon and Kath Loughnan because she seems to flirt with her co-hosts. lol

I largely agree with you except the last bit. So many women (not all) in sports coverage are there at least partly because of their looks. You can look like the back of a bus and be male and you still get a gig (which is fine. You should get a job  based on your sports knowledge and communication skills). We really don't need flirting with co-hosts, especially between young women and old men, which is demeaning (and I speak as a 61 yo male). 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Sydney_Demon said:

I largely agree with you except the last bit. So many women (not all) in sports coverage are there at least partly because of their looks. You can look like the back of a bus and be male and you still get a gig (which is fine. You should get a job  based on your sports knowledge and communication skills). We really don't need flirting with co-hosts, especially between young women and old men, which is demeaning (and I speak as a 61 yo male). 

yeah I actually agree. I wasn't being serious. is it just me or does she flirt with Brad Johnson and Jordan lewis though?

Posted
25 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

The Fox sport commentator ones aren't too bad. Garry Lyon is good on SEN as well. In fact he's the only segment I listen to along with Watson.

Leigh Montagna is not bad either. He's been pumping up as a genuine premiership contender since round 3 when the likes of David King laughed at him.

Posted
33 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I used to her enjoy her work on 3AW each Tuesday evening with Gerard Healy. Particularly her rolling top 10 "AFL people under pressure list" (Bartlett and Pert were regulars on this list in 2019)

Now they've got Leigh Matthews as the Tuesday night regular and he brings next to nothing to the table.

Wilson is great on 3AW. Matthews was just a glorified thug

Posted

My contention is most non ex-player sports journalists are very good in this country. The exception would be Robbo.

On the other hand former players who go into media are hit and miss. Gary Lyon very good, J Brown speaks his mind, Nick Riewoldt iffy. Dunstall (albeit he really got on my nerves last weekend) usually very good. Dermie, King, Matthews and a few other should be retired.

Posted
6 hours ago, Sydney_Demon said:

If it was my choice she would be back on Footy Classified ASAP and they would boot Eddie McGuire (not that that's going to happen). I just watched Wednesday's edition and the man has such an ego, talks all over everyone else, is patronising... I wouldn't mind if he had the expertise to match the bravado. 

On reflection I agree with you. He is actually making a show I like less watchable.

The funny thing is, I like Eddie and he is no fool, it is just the Pies thing and the factors you mentioned in your post.

Pity.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Matthews was a thug on 3AW ?

Seriously, he was also the best player I have ever seen.

The most skillful IMO was our beloved Robbie, who I still miss greatly. No one I have seen since comes close to him for ball skill, no one.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Redleg said:

Matthews was a thug on 3AW ?

Seriously, he was also the best player I have ever seen.

The most skillful IMO was our beloved Robbie, who I still miss greatly. No one I have seen since comes close to him for ball skill, no one.

Matthews was a Psychopath on the field,  and he was allowed to get away with it

Makes me angry he is so revered 

Edited by Sir Why You Little
Posted
10 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

She fits into the same group as hutchy and purple.

Ambulance chasers.

At least some one like Robbo actually talks about the game and cares. They don’t. 
And yes she chases the big stories etc etc

until it comes to Martin and the Tigers.

She gave Dusty and the club heaps a few years ago when he threatened a female diner in Prahran with chopsticks I think it was.

Posted
57 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Matthews was a Psychopath on the field,  and he was allowed to get away with it

Makes me angry he is so revered 

You know we nearly had him. He was about to accept a contract from us, when Hawks stepped in and matched.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Redleg said:

You know we nearly had him. He was about to accept a contract from us, when Hawks stepped in and matched.

Yes i do remember that. Would have been interesting!!

Posted (edited)
48 minutes ago, Fanatique Demon said:

Caro is clearly a Richmond supporter. Whateley is Geelong. Besides the obvious support of former players, does anyone know who the real journalists follow? 

Jake Niall is Collingwood.  I think Michael Gleeson is also.

Not sure I can find any other 'real' journalists.

The non-ex player 'pretend' journos:

• Purple is North
  • Mark Stevens is North (I think)
  • Sam McClure is Carlton
  • John Ralph is Richmond
  • Tom Morris is Melbourne
  • Robbo is Essendon
Posted
17 hours ago, dee-tox said:

@AmDamDemon, @Skuit you guys responsible for this? ?

Would be a Shakespearean betrayal of a sworn blood feud. Plus, daughter is a journo like mother - and you know how I feel about those :)  

Posted
24 minutes ago, Skuit said:

Would be a Shakespearean betrayal of a sworn blood feud. Plus, daughter is a journo like mother - and you know how I feel about those :)  

Mothers?

Posted
41 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Jake Niall is Collingwood.  I think Michael Gleeson is also.

Not sure I can find any other 'real' journalists.

The non-ex player 'pretend' journos:

• Purple is North
  • Mark Stevens is North (I think)
  • Sam McClure is Carlton
  • John Ralph is Richmond
  • Tom Morris is Melbourne
  • Robbo is Essendon

Can confirm Gleeson. Also Greg Baum a Pie.

Rohan Connolly: Essendon. Mark Fine: St Kilda.

Posted
3 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I don’t glorify him. I reckon he’s just a plain thug

Posted
5 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Talking of Melbourne footy commentators/fans, haven't heard from Schwartz lately.  He would be rapt about our 2021. 

Hes on 3AW bud. Ripping bloke too

Posted
52 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Purple is North

Sorry for the ignorance. I think I’ve figured out that Purple is Damian Barrett. But why is he called Purple?