Posted
41 minutes ago, DubDee said:

I was at marvel for the dogs game and some bars were open but no TABs. Might take a bit longer but you’ll be right. 

Thanks Dub but you need to understand I’m a serious [censored] pot. 
Booze must be immediately available 

Posted
2 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Our latest Injury list:

Angus Brayshaw  Foot  Test
 Ben Brown  Knee  4-6 weeks
 Michael Hibberd  Ankle  Test
 Marty Hore  Knee  Season
 Jay Lockhart  [censored]  TBC
 Steven May  Concussion  Test
 Jake Melksham  Hamstring  Test
 Aaron Nietschke  Knee  Season
 Jack Viney  Foot  1-2 weeks
 Sam Weideman  Leg  4-6 weeks

Updated: Tuesday, March 16

Freo latest Injury list:

Bailey Banfield  Ankle syndesmosis  TBC
 Brett Bewley  Quad  Test
 Adam Cerra  Calf  Test
 Mitch Crowden  Ankle  4-5 weeks
 Sean Darcy  Knee  Test
 Michael Frederick  Calf  1-2 weeks
 Rory Lobb  Knee  6-10 weeks
 Griffin Logue  Hamstring  Test
 Sam Sturt  Ankle  TBC
 Luke Valente  Calf  Test
 Michael Walters  Hamstring  1-2 weeks

Updated: Tuesday, March 16

Apology for formatting - its gone all weird!

Good to see Salem not listed.

It would surprise me if Melksham or Hibberd played given their lack of preparation. 

Hopefully Brayshaw hasn't had a setback.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Much harder to distribute to family though

You can forward the ticket to anyone else with a ticketed account

Posted
1 minute ago, binman said:

You can forward the ticket to anyone else with a ticketed account

Yeah I know but don't think my folks will have one - it's all good I ended up just screenshotting the tickets and sending them via messenger

Posted

Given it is Round 1 and we don't know how players are tracking in terms of fitness, so we have to back the coaches to select the right team. In saying that, I would be going with something like this:

Backs: May (assuming he passes his tests), Lever, Petty, Salem, Rivers, Hunt and Bowey.

Midfield: Gawn, Petracca, Oliver, Brayshaw, Langdon, Tomlinson, Jones, Harmes

Forwards: McDonald, Jackson, Fritsch, Pickett, Neal-Bullen, Vandenberg, Spargo

Posted

Listening to the podcast I’d say Hibberd and Gus are almost a lock assuming no setbacks. Salem should be available it’s just a question of whether we’d like some match fitness into him first. Melksham shouldn’t come straight in even if fit, he had a poor 2020 and is coming behind with fitness. 

I know Gus and Gawn like to joke around but Majak as a round one bolter is a possibility (personally I’d be looking for a couple of strong performances first). 

Questions about where goals will come, for me I think we will need a spread of players on the board. We know Petracca’s more than capable, Fritsch can kick a few, and I’m praying to the footy gods that they give TMac the confidence to get back to his old self. 7+ goals from those three, Jackson and Gawn can bob up for a snag or two, and then we just need contributions from others around the ground. 

Here’s the important thing that I think somewhere along the lines they’ve forgotten: they need to back themselves. That goal by Oliver vs Tigers in the practice match is the exact thing I want to see, confidence to own the situation and nail the goal. It’s what made Petracca the player he was last season (hopefully into the future). 

Posted
1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

A post I can seriously relate to. Perhaps one day Bitter we will share a beverage at a game.

Sadly for the first two rounds, I will be sober with heavily sanitised hands working hotel quarantine and unable to attend.

Posted
On 3/15/2021 at 11:27 AM, Diamond_Jim said:

sad but true. I often used my AFL membership to head along to a lesser game. Admittedly it is usually because one of the teams has a star player you want to watch.

I'd be happy to go along and see Brisbane or WCE play the Bulldogs for example. (Hate the woof woof that goes on the scoreboard after a goal... nearly as bad as North's "zoom".)

SO YOU DON'T PAY FOR A mfc MEMBERSHIP?

Posted
4 hours ago, Kent said:

Thanks Demon 

Hmm just double check that. I’ve got an mcc ticket (free reserved seat as a member) and have a barcode. My assumption is you’ll need to scan both mcc membership card and reserved seat barcode for entry for Covid rules. 

Posted

Don't know if anyone has suggested this but 

What about petty to full back and may to full forward or chf

Posted
15 minutes ago, The Jackson 6 said:

Hmm just double check that. I’ve got an mcc ticket (free reserved seat as a member) and have a barcode. My assumption is you’ll need to scan both mcc membership card and reserved seat barcode for entry for Covid rules. 

Just checked the MCC website and they say that mcc members only need to scan in with their mcc card and visitors need to scan in with their mobile card. The ticket for the MCC member will be used to be ushered to their reserve seat by staff. My mobile ticket does not have  a barcode as such but my visitors ticket does. I suggest you go to the MCC web site where all the regulations around entrance to the Members reserve are set out.

Posted

Bit worrying about the number of under done players potentially playing round 1 

Salem, hibbo, Kossie, melk, Angus, petty, oliver, may 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Paulo said:

I think those three will be ok, Oliver was very sharp vs the tigers and as far as I know his missing of the doggies game was management. 

May’s done a large body of work over the summer and only copped a knock. His concussion symptoms were very minor so he’ll be fine (he’s definitely allowed to play???).

Gus is potentially underdone so I’d see him playing parts in the half forward line but is a gun and will come into the game. Having the Box Hill game was important. 

Melk and Petty shouldn’t play. Salem has been managed but did a decent amount over the summer, so of that list Hibbo (also played v Box Hill) and Kozzie are the only two that I’m massively worried about. Koz needs to be kept simple, pressure, pressure, and more pressure. Sounded like Hibbo did a lot of normal Hibbo things vs Box Hill so hopefully so minutes under his belt will help. 

Posted
15 hours ago, sisso said:

Somehow Ive ended up in the Ponsford stand...for a home game as a Redlegs member...weird but whatever I dont mind the Ponsford

Ponsford is a good stand. Take a pair of binoculars to assist.

Posted
6 hours ago, Paulo said:

Salem played a full game against Richmond and played well. Not concerned about him.

Hibberd, Brayshaw, Melksham and Kozzie could be risky and costly selections given their interrupted pre season. They’ll have to risk a couple of these as we had a lot of non performers against the Dogs.

Posted
6 hours ago, Paulo said:

Melksham won't play. He hasn't even any match simulated games at VFL level. Hibberd only played 3 quarters in the VFL. I suspect he'll need a full game in the VFL first before he is considered. 

Not sure why you've put May, Oliver and Salem when they've all done a full pre season and played AFL games. 

Hardly underdone..

Posted
8 hours ago, dworship said:

SO YOU DON'T PAY FOR A mfc MEMBERSHIP?

AFL Memberships with MFC club support count as an MFC GA Membership and the club receives the equivalent cost of a GA Membership from the AFL.

Posted

Given we've been talking about our clearances here a bit, thought this was interesting:

If the Demons are going to play finals - and they’re built for it, with the sixth-oldest and sixth-most experienced list in the AFL - they need to capitalise on their major strength. No club won a greater percentage of hitouts and hitouts-to-advantage last year, thanks to the brilliant Max Gawn, but they ranked sixth for clearance win percentage, 12th for clearance efficiency and 13th for points for clearances. They simply must hit the scoreboard from that source.

One key stat that shows how well - or badly - your AFL team will go in 2021

Posted
10 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Same here. Especially when Freo kick the first two goals of the game. The que might be long with cursing demon fans 

Posted
14 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Mate I'm in the AFL reserve as well and I reckon we'll have a bay each to ourselves - should be plenty of seats around that you can move to

It's good to see MCC Demons have done their bit. I checked the ticket availability late Tuesday and only Section M38 had seats left. As of Wednesday morning the MCC allocation was "exhausted". 

At least we should see a record number for Freo (currently 27,000), although I'd be disappointed if we don't get to around 38,000 considering how long it's been since we could get to a game and we are not back at the 'G until round four.

Posted
1 hour ago, Lord Nev said:

Given we've been talking about our clearances here a bit, thought this was interesting:

If the Demons are going to play finals - and they’re built for it, with the sixth-oldest and sixth-most experienced list in the AFL - they need to capitalise on their major strength. No club won a greater percentage of hitouts and hitouts-to-advantage last year, thanks to the brilliant Max Gawn, but they ranked sixth for clearance win percentage, 12th for clearance efficiency and 13th for points for clearances. They simply must hit the scoreboard from that source.

One key stat that shows how well - or badly - your AFL team will go in 2021

One part of that statement is telling, we’re the 6th oldest and 6th most experienced. It’s time those we considered “kids” not long ago stepped up to being men and put their talent to use. 

Posted
20 minutes ago, Pates said:

One part of that statement is telling, we’re the 6th oldest and 6th most experienced. It’s time those we considered “kids” not long ago stepped up to being men and put their talent to use. 

We'll lose Jones, Jetta, Hibberd, Mitch Brown and Vandenberg at the end of the year due to retirement or delisting.

These guys are pretty 31 years plus.

It's not as telling that number will significantly drop at the end of the year.

Posted
15 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

We'll lose Jones, Jetta, Hibberd, Mitch Brown and Vandenberg at the end of the year due to retirement or delisting.

These guys are pretty 31 years plus.

It's not as telling that number will significantly drop at the end of the year.

there's very little difference between where we sit in 7th (experience of 70 games per player) and 6th (average age of 24.6) and fremantle (14th with 58.2 games per player) and brisbane (15th with 23.9)

for instance, there's a bigger average discrepancy from 1st in average games played (geelong with 88) and 7th (melbourne with 70) than there is us in 7th and 18th (gold coast with 53) 

Posted

Does anyone know if you can stand on the lower level at the G, or must you be in a seat? I haven’t sat for a game in a looong Time maybe 15 years