cantstandyasam 700 Posted August 10, 2020 Posted August 10, 2020 5 hours ago, Elegt said: Unfortunately the bloke can't run Give him time. Quote
WERRIDEE 5,638 Posted August 10, 2020 Author Posted August 10, 2020 I know it's only 1 game but you don't see Langdon have as quiet a game as Butler has tonight. Give me Langdon ahead of Butler everyday of the week. LANGDON RECRUIT OF THE YEAR YOU BEAUTY! 3 1 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,166 Posted August 10, 2020 Posted August 10, 2020 (edited) 10 hours ago, Pickett2Jackson said: Hes given us something we have lacked for years - a gut runner with speed in the midfield. Hes been a great pickup but unfortunately he also bought poor kicking with him. Someone get in his ear about that ball drop. I'm not sure where this impression is coming from. Possibly because he is getting quite a bit of the pill. He does turn the ball over a little but not in our top 5 here (7th) but countering this he is rated our 7th best disposer of the ball. AFL pro stats has him as elite by foot this season running at 70% (approx 2% above average) and elite by disposal overall at 78% (AFL average approx 73%). We (he) must be doing something right this season as that elite 78% DE efficiency is up nearly 6% on his career average of 72%!! I have noticed he occasionally goes to gather and sometimes take his eyes of the ball at the last second and fumbles, probably trying to pre-empt who/where he is going to run or give off to but haven't seen too many other major faults. Possibly a few misses coming inside 50 on occasions. Wouldn't be alone here. I reckon he's an absolute gem and yes, he is up there with Butler as a very handy recruit this season, possibly even ahead given the work rate required in his position/role. P.S. apologies to DJ who i just noticed covered some of this on previous page ✌ Edited August 10, 2020 by Rusty Nails 1 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 10, 2020 Posted August 10, 2020 We're certainly getting burned in transition a hell of a lot less with him there. 3 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,682 Posted August 10, 2020 Posted August 10, 2020 39 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said: I'm not sure where this impression is coming from. Possibly because he is getting quite a bit of the pill. He does turn the ball over a little but not in our top 5 here (7th) but countering this he is rated our 7th best disposer of the ball. AFL pro stats has him as elite by foot this season running at 70% (approx 2% above average) and elite by disposal overall at 78% (AFL average approx 73%). We (he) must be doing something right this season as that elite 78% DE efficiency is up nearly 6% on his career average of 72%!! I have noticed he occasionally goes to gather and sometimes take his eyes of the ball at the last second and fumbles, probably trying to pre-empt who/where he is going to run or give off to but haven't seen too many other major faults. Possibly a few misses coming inside 50 on occasions. Wouldn't be alone here. I reckon he's an absolute gem and yes, he is up there with Butler as a very handy recruit this season, possibly even ahead given the work rate required in his position/role. P.S. apologies to DJ who i just noticed covered some of this on previous page ✌ Gets the vast majority of his kicks in uncontested situations - that’s not a knock. So his DE should be high. He just isn’t a good kick. Limited length and penetration. Kicks little flops. A good kicking wingmen would’ve had a goal a game given his opportunities. There’s an opportunity cost to his short kicking too, where a longer kick could get over a zone or hit a long switch. Not recruit of the year but he’s been as advertised - the good and the bad. 3 Quote
Elegt 872 Posted August 10, 2020 Posted August 10, 2020 4 hours ago, cantstandyasam said: Give him time. Yep, he has time. But I'm not too optimistic given how many times he has torn his calf so far. Pretty hard to regain your pace after that Quote
Pates 9,697 Posted August 10, 2020 Posted August 10, 2020 My biggest knock on him right now is he isn’t kicking goals, he needs to start hitting the scoreboard. Especially now that he’s getting into that position more and more now. Aside from that I’m definitely a fan. 1 Quote
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted August 10, 2020 Posted August 10, 2020 Just now, Stein9193 said: Brad Hill Langdon has been vastly superior to Hill this year. And he cost us much less! Stats https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?playerStatus1=A&tid1=16&playerStatus2=A&tid2=12&type=A&pid1=3671&pid2=4080&fid1=S&fid2=S Even at Freo, they were statistically identical. Langdon just didn't have a premiership and profile like Hill. He's every bit as effective though. Great get by the recruiting department. 4 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 11, 2020 Posted August 11, 2020 14 minutes ago, Lord Travis said: Langdon has been vastly superior to Hill this year. And he cost us much less! Stats https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?playerStatus1=A&tid1=16&playerStatus2=A&tid2=12&type=A&pid1=3671&pid2=4080&fid1=S&fid2=S Even at Freo, they were statistically identical. Langdon just didn't have a premiership and profile like Hill. He's every bit as effective though. Great get by the recruiting department. I liked Hill at the start of the season but he's dropped off pretty dramatically as of late. Langdon might have had a couple of downers but even then he still manages to find the pill. He's been a good get, it's not always about setting the world on fire each week with 20 touches and 2 goals. He plays a role and he plays it very well. 3 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted August 11, 2020 Posted August 11, 2020 23 hours ago, WERRIDEE said: I can't think of any. He's been great a big reason why we have moved up the ladder. I do believe that Tomlinson may well prove to be a great asset as well, finding space, two-way running and positioning out of defence into the attack. He is taking some time to adjust to these roles fully, in comparison to the contributions of Langdon. I have patience and look forward to this occurring - the signs are there - the execution is tentative at present. With a few team wins to come across the board, I'd expect Tomlinson to reek confidence in his aptitudes. 2 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted August 11, 2020 Posted August 11, 2020 (edited) 13 hours ago, Rusty Nails said: Someone get in his ear about that ball drop. Watch Langdon's ball drop, yes ... but also watch his leg action, slightly curvy and around the corner, losing a fair bit of power and accuracy. This may be because of the ball drop errors that seem to miss the sweet spot on his extended foot - a good coaching team will be able to address these elements in a very short period of time; can our FD do it? Kicking well with both feet is another area for some focus, one that many good players fail to execute with confidence. The short, inside pass to the ground midline in the normal range of the goals is one often that is often realistically 'on' but is overlooked for a 'bomb' downfield - and we know how ineffective that is for the MFC. Edited August 11, 2020 by Deemania since 56 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted August 11, 2020 Posted August 11, 2020 20 hours ago, Elegt said: Unfortunately the bloke can't run However, he can read the game and pre-position himself to advantage, surely? Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted August 11, 2020 Posted August 11, 2020 7 hours ago, Pates said: My biggest knock on him right now is he isn’t kicking goals, he needs to start hitting the scoreboard. Especially now that he’s getting into that position more and more now. Aside from that I’m definitely a fan. Work on his kicking accuracy and bullet passing is required first before kicking goals Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted August 11, 2020 Posted August 11, 2020 12 hours ago, DeeSpencer said: Gets the vast majority of his kicks in uncontested situations - that’s not a knock. So his DE should be high. He just isn’t a good kick. Limited length and penetration. Kicks little flops. A good kicking wingmen would’ve had a goal a game given his opportunities. There’s an opportunity cost to his short kicking too, where a longer kick could get over a zone or hit a long switch. Not recruit of the year but he’s been as advertised - the good and the bad. Another year, another Demon player who should have a little talk in training to Stan Alves. Quote
Young Blood 2,642 Posted August 11, 2020 Posted August 11, 2020 He's been terrific. Filled the need we had for sure. His ability to cover ground with speed and gut running is elite. It's his repeat efforts and running when we're linking up on a wing that have been a standout to me. Sure his disposal is still a work in progress as he's not the cleanest of players but I think he can improve there still with confidence and more experience with a new team. 1 Quote
Pickett2Jackson 3,904 Posted August 29, 2020 Posted August 29, 2020 Ed Langdon with another fine performance to help propel the mighty Demons to victory. Butler was invisible. He will fade away the rest of the season, same as his team. 1 Quote
Demons11 7,149 Posted August 29, 2020 Posted August 29, 2020 On 8/11/2020 at 9:48 AM, Stein9193 said: Brad Hill ???! Hill has been terrible this year Quote
Demons11 7,149 Posted August 29, 2020 Posted August 29, 2020 5 minutes ago, Pickett2Jackson said: Ed Langdon with another fine performance to help propel the mighty Demons to victory. Butler was invisible. He will fade away the rest of the season, same as his team. I love Langdon patrolling the wing, his work rate is enormous 3 1 Quote
Stein9193 129 Posted August 29, 2020 Posted August 29, 2020 4 minutes ago, Demons11 said: ???! Hill has been terrible this year Played a reasonable game tonight Quote
spalding 1,128 Posted August 29, 2020 Posted August 29, 2020 Thought today was Tomlinson’s best game for us too. There’s still a few holes to fill, but our recruiting and drafting over the past couple of is going to give us a good chance of a crack at winning it in the next few years I believe. 2 Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted August 29, 2020 Posted August 29, 2020 Wouldnt have noticed it but on St Kildas last kick inside 50 he backed into the pack 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,345 Posted August 29, 2020 Posted August 29, 2020 Amazing recruit. Said in the post game pages that his work rate is phenomenal. Everytime the ball went inside 50 for the saints he was always down there giving them a chop out. So much development and growth left. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 29, 2020 Posted August 29, 2020 14 minutes ago, Demons11 said: ???! Hill has been terrible this year I was worried about tonight. I felt they were likely going to end up on the same wing and Hill would somehow pull out a ripper performance. As you said Langdon just patrolled that wing and actually kicked quite well tonight! If he's not the pickup of the year he has to be in the top 2 at very least. 2 Quote
Undeeterred 3,127 Posted August 29, 2020 Posted August 29, 2020 He is constantly out wide bailing out the likes of May or Oliver when they’ve dug it out of the trenches Then all of a sudden he bobs up 8 seconds later at the other end of the ground to receive again and you think Christ how did he run faster than the ball? And how is he always on his own? Apart from the odd shank has been absolutely bloody brilliant for us this year. 2 Quote