Posted
56 minutes ago, george_on_the_outer said:

It was nice to see the umpires allow " play on" when the player played on, not until the umpire calls it, like today. 

It's nice to see so many things differently to today. Umpire calling ball-up as soon as the ball is locked in, not waiting 10-15 seconds to see if it breaks free of the scrum. Umpires not afraid to pay free kicks to keep the game moving. Alternatively umpires also not afraid to let it go to keep the game moving.

And of course, not being able to hear the umps! I reckon one of the first times I heard the umps micd up was the 1989 Panasonic Cup Final vs Geelong. It offered minimal insight then and not much has changed 30 years on.

Posted
42 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

It's nice to see so many things differently to today. Umpire calling ball-up as soon as the ball is locked in, not waiting 10-15 seconds to see if it breaks free of the scrum. Umpires not afraid to pay free kicks to keep the game moving. Alternatively umpires also not afraid to let it go to keep the game moving.

And of course, not being able to hear the umps! I reckon one of the first times I heard the umps micd up was the 1989 Panasonic Cup Final vs Geelong. It offered minimal insight then and not much has changed 30 years on.

+1. It would be hard to argue that 1988 was not a better standard of pure footy than today with today's supposed strategies, kicking down the line, flooding, zone defences and the other questionable improvements to the game. 

The umpiring was light years ahead of today because the umpires understood the game whereas today's umpires seem to be overcoached to allow the game to "flow' leading to scrums and ugly footy. Notice how the umpires then blew the whistle quickly as soon as the ball was stopped, ran in and bounced the ball quickly without having to indicate their exit path and asking for the ruckmen to be nominated.

The stoppages were hardly noticed then whereas today the umpires are afraid to ball it up fearing that they will be accused of slowing the game.

Close to the best team since the 60s with Lyon, Wight, Stynes, Lovett B., Spalding (what nincompoop let him go?), Johnson, Lovell, Hughes, Grinter, Healy, Wilson. In the end too knackered to beat the pre-draft era zoning favoured dorks in the GF.

Posted
1 hour ago, demonstone said:

How odd was it seeing people in the crowd smoking cigarettes!

How sad that we cannot enjoy these smokes at the footy, now. Miss my Chesterfields and the occasional half corona. 

Posted
28 minutes ago, tiers said:

+1. It would be hard to argue that 1988 was not a better standard of pure footy than today with today's supposed strategies, kicking down the line, flooding, zone defences and the other questionable improvements to the game. 

The umpiring was light years ahead of today because the umpires understood the game whereas today's umpires seem to be overcoached to allow the game to "flow' leading to scrums and ugly footy. Notice how the umpires then blew the whistle quickly as soon as the ball was stopped, ran in and bounced the ball quickly without having to indicate their exit path and asking for the ruckmen to be nominated.

The stoppages were hardly noticed then whereas today the umpires are afraid to ball it up fearing that they will be accused of slowing the game.

Close to the best team since the 60s with Lyon, Wight, Stynes, Lovett B., Spalding (what nincompoop let him go?), Johnson, Lovell, Hughes, Grinter, Healy, Wilson. In the end too knackered to beat the pre-draft era zoning favoured dorks in the GF.

There were actually minimal around the ground ball ups due to the style of play and players holding their position. Of course there were heaps of turnovers too with players kicking straight down the line but the game was free flowing back and forth and was a FAR greater spectacle to watch

Posted

32 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Of course there were heaps of turnovers too with players kicking straight down the line

but the game was free flowing back and forth and was a FAR greater spectacle to watch

Agree 'DrG'.

That free flowing game and spaces between the packs,  allowed the random equation and that old favourite,  Spontaneity & creativeness.  Together with One-on-One duels,  out is space by themselves.  Allowing individual skills to shine through.

Posted
3 hours ago, demonstone said:

What would you see as the benefits of this arrangement, MFM?

More open spaces, and players having to stay closer to their starting positions, which in turn will allow more specialist player types,  in differing positions.

Say your Lockett's Or Diesel Williams, Gablett snr's, Robert Flowers, Bruce Doull's, and even your Trevor Barker's.

So many players of the old,  would be able to shine,  in this type of scenario.

Posted
23 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

"That wasn't there....just a really good solid contest ..." says Bill as McKenna is free kicked having almost been put in a wheel chair by the Duke! ?

Whose hit was worse? The Duke on Bluey or Long on Simmonds?

Posted
5 hours ago, Spud said:

was first Saturday in September as the year was brought forward for the Sydney Olympics.

Now that's the reason we lost. We played to early. Had of been the last Saturday we would have won. Then again I reckon no one was to beat the Bombers that year.

Posted
9 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I smoked a full pack in that last Quarter 

In one of your Hawaiian shirts?

Posted (edited)

Rance on Dirty Dave in the 3rd was worse. Head down, front on - by today’s standards would get a long long break. Earl on McKenna was ugly, but there was an element of side on with Earl being “helped” into the contest by his opponent. Nonetheless both Dave and McKenna very lucky lads! Long’s was just a pre-meditated dog of an act. Saw him, lined him up and went through him - classic Sheedy thuggery. I was behind the goals that day and got a pretty uninterrupted view.

Edited by Call Me What You Will

Posted
9 hours ago, Call Me What You Will said:

Rance on Dirty Dave in the 3rd was worse. Head down, front on - by today’s standards would get a long long break. Earl on McKenna was ugly, but there was an element of side on with Earl being “helped” into the contest by his opponent. Nonetheless both Dave and McKenna very lucky lads! Long’s was just a pre-meditated dog of an act. Saw him, lined him up and went through him - classic Sheedy thuggery. I was behind the goals that day and got a pretty uninterrupted view.

Who is Dirty Dave?                   Long... what a dog act. I was at that match too. Hated him for that, still do. 

Posted

It’s a pretty simple game played with no nonsense footy, way over complicated nowadays with way too many assistant coaches etc etc . Understand it’s full time professional now & players are fitter & faster but watching the game I saw lot of goals scored with quick ball movement . Great to see Northey  with just a couple of assistants & not 15 laptops... KISS principle 

Posted
12 hours ago, jumbo returns said:

Spalding wanted out - wanted a premiership

BOG in the 1995 GF

I drove him in a taxi the year after he left. I asked him why he left? He said he'd gone as far as he was ever going to go at Melbourne. He was a good player who could take you just so far. My recollection is that in one of the Finals matches he played for Carlton he spent a lot of time on the bench. 

Posted
On 4/11/2020 at 10:02 PM, Rusty Nails said:

"That wasn't there....just a really good solid contest ..." says Bill as McKenna is free kicked having almost been put in a wheel chair by the Duke! ?

The Duke was pushed into McKenna

Just sayin

It was no free..