36. K.Pickett
38. M.Brown

40. C.Wagner
41. J.Lockhart
42. J.Wagner
46. A.Bradtke

Eight VFL players to top up the squad.

Names in bold played last week.

Good to see Brayshaw over his elbow injury and ready to play. 

Max has said he will be ready for Marsh02.  But no sign of May getting a preseason workout.  Otherwise our injury list is looking quite good re the top 22-26 players.

North Melbourne squad

1. M.Daw
2. M.Williams
3. J.Anderson
6. T.Garner
8. B.Scott
14. T.Dumont
15. P.Ahern
16. A.Bonar
17. J.Pittard
18. S.Atley
19. J.Walker
21. D.Tyson
23. B.McKay
24. S.Durdin
25. R.Tarrant
30. C.Comben
31. C.Taylor
32. M.Wood
34. J.MacMillan
36. J.Crocker
38. T.Xerri
40. T.Murphy
41. M.McGuinness
42. T.Campbell
43. A.Hall
44. C.Zurhaar
46. L.Hosie

VFL-listed player Adam Tipungwuti will also be part of the North Melbourne squad, wearing no. 28. 

Posted

I'm going along and being a local resident here's a few tips for food and bevvies.

A new Woolies supermarket opened recently three minutes walk away under the new high rise units (which you can't miss) which has a cafe, sushi station, hot pre-prepared food down the back section, a bakery with all the usual stuff you'd find at Bakers Delight and a bottle shop.

If that's not enough there's a dog park opposite the supermarket which has a cafe across the road. Further down Macaulay Rd, one minute further, past the Boundary Rd intersection, there's a caf that does burgers, chips, salads etc. 

You won't go hungry or dry depending on your need.

As far as access is concerned, I've always just walked into Arden St. 

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Interesting that Pickett is playing but not Jackson.

Bradtke rucking. That will be interesting to watch 

Edited by Moonshadow
Posted
1 hour ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

North Melbourne squad

1. M.Daw

On a non-MFC note, great to see Majak back playing footy!

Posted
Just now, Roger Mellie said:

No Joel Smith

Unfortunately I think Joel Smith is just one of those unlucky players who is always injured and will never get a good run at it. It's a shame because he does have talent.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

Who will captain the side?

Gus? Melksham?

I don't really think it matters in a practice game, although one of those two would make sense, even if it is just to toss the coin.  With the new approach they would expect everyone to step up and be a leader for the game.

Good to see us giving the kids another run, while also getting some game time into those who have missed part of the pre-season.  Outcome doesn't matter, the fitness is what we're after.  I'd say we would play close to our strongest side next week in Tassie against the Hawks.

Posted
16 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Bradtke rucking. That will be interesting to watch 

If he is up against Daw it is going to be a one sided affair. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

I don't really think it matters in a practice game, although one of those two would make sense, even if it is just to toss the coin.  With the new approach they would expect everyone to step up and be a leader for the game.

Good to see us giving the kids another run, while also getting some game time into those who have missed part of the pre-season.  Outcome doesn't matter, the fitness is what we're after.  I'd say we would play close to our strongest side next week in Tassie against the Hawks.

I’m sure your right Moonie, but I’m also sure it will be a proud moment for whoever leads out the team onto the field - probably their only chance to do so, ever.

Posted
3 minutes ago, old dee said:

I don't know much about North's players, is that a good side or  mostly second graders like ours.

A bit of a mix.  There is no Higgins, Cunnington, Ziebell, Goldstein etc. but they do have some of their best 22 in there.  Probably no different to us really.

2 minutes ago, old dee said:

If he is up against Daw it is going to be a one sided affair. 

And we do have some Casey boys playing.  One of them might be a ruckman, plus Daw plays in the backline now.

Posted
1 minute ago, Neil Crompton said:

I’m sure your right Moonie, but I’m also sure it will be a proud moment for whoever leads out the team onto the field - probably their only chance to do so, ever.

Let's hope it's their only chance as it means both Gawn and Viney stay injury free.

And I'm proud to be called Moonie.  Like the captains, might be the only chance I get. :)

Posted
Just now, Wiseblood said:

Let's hope it's their only chance as it means both Gawn and Viney stay injury free.

And I'm proud to be called Moonie.  Like the captains, might be the only chance I get. :)

Sorry mate - had Moonie on the brain for some reason.

Posted

21. D.Tyson

anyone know how this bloke is tracking. I liked him as a Dee. Unfortunately for him completely over run by better inside miss here. Wish him well

Posted
44 minutes ago, jako13 said:

21. D.Tyson

anyone know how this bloke is tracking. I liked him as a Dee. Unfortunately for him completely over run by better inside miss here. Wish him well

He'll be playing majority of the year in the VFL. Good depth for them.

Sad how this has turned out for him.

Posted

Bradtke the only ruck and I suppose Melksham is the captain, interesting. Not sold on this one too much of a reserve side for this match.

Posted (edited)

Not much of a forward line...Fritsch, Brown and Melksham only. 

Still it is a good opportunity to give the likes of Jordan, Hore, Rivers, Baker , Bedford, Bradtke and Wagners a run. 

I suppose that means we can take C.Wagner, Angus and Bayley off the injury list?

Edited by george_on_the_outer
Posted
2 hours ago, old dee said:

I don't know much about North's players, is that a good side or  mostly second graders like ours.

North I'd say have 16 of their best 28 playing (probably 10-11 of best 22) the 16 have been or will be regular senior players? I'd say we have 10-12 who'd fit that top 28-30 category of which probably only 5-6 are in best 22 though.? Their side looks stronger I'd suggest.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Neil Crompton said:

Sorry mate - had Moonie on the brain for some reason.

I have that effect on people, Neil. No need to apologise.

Just wish it was mostly 25 year old gorgeous brunette women...

Edited by Moonshadow
Posted
3 hours ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said:

We won that trade already....

Both teams how come out as losers of this trade to date for me.