8 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

Told you that he knows more or that heโ€™s committed money to the project?

That he knows a group have already pledged about $10m if it gets off the ground

• 3 weeks later...
ย 

Might be a dumb question and a obvious answer, but did we ever looking going back towards Albert Park area? Obviously Cricket Victoria have theย Junction Oval locked in but there is a fair bit of land with heaps of ovals there. Surely one of them could be upgraded and used with a elite training facility built next to it?

3 minutes ago, DownRightDee21 said:

Might be a dumb question and a obvious answer, but did we ever looking going back towards Albert Park area? Obviously Cricket Victoria have theย Junction Oval locked in but there is a fair bit of land with heaps of ovals there. Surely one of them could be upgraded and used with a elite training facility built next to it?

Gave up on that 20 years ago.ย  No access during Grand Prix period, including the weeks/months before and after while all the infrastructure is moved.

Edited by george_on_the_outer

15 hours ago, DownRightDee21 said:

Might be a dumb question and an obvious answer, but did we ever looking going back towards Albert Park area? Obviously Cricket Victoria have theย Junction Oval locked in but there is a fair bit of land with heaps of ovals there. Surely one of them could be upgraded and used with an elite training facility built next to it?

Really ย DRD you are unrealistic and 20 years behind time. George has replied but my response is far more cynical and pointed.

Do you really think we can build an elite training and admin establishment for the next five./ Ten decades along with associated community facilities by hawking some local oval ( with or without fence) by stealth overnight?ย 

Obviously you havenโ€™t read much of the previous 224 pages let alone the last 50 recently to have ย any idea of the 2025 expectations for an AFL Club for the next 5/10 decades.ย 

It requires much more than your piggy bank to succeed so the saving is suggested to start asap.ย 

2 hours ago, 58er said:

Really ย DRD you are unrealistic and 20 years behind time. George has replied but my response is far more cynical and pointed.

Do you really think we can build an elite training and admin establishment for the next five./ Ten decades along with associated community facilities by hawking some local oval ( with or without fence) by stealth overnight?ย 

Obviously you havenโ€™t read much of the previous 224 pages let alone the last 50 recently to have ย any idea of the 2025 expectations for an AFL Club for the next 5/10 decades.ย 

It requires much more than your piggy bank to succeed so the saving is suggested to start asap.ย 

I initially considered removing this post and issuing you a private warning about your aggressive or overly passive-aggressive tone, particularly towards new posters. However, I believe a public reminder is more appropriate.
ย 

Pull your head in. Goes as a general warning to others too. We all barrack for the same team

5 hours ago, 58er said:

Nice to meet you mate, glad you were able to have a nice respectful response to the question.

Not sure what's got you so upset about a simple question but honestly hope your day gets better from here on in.

22 hours ago, george_on_the_outer said:

Gave up on that 20 years ago.ย  No access during Grand Prix period, including the weeks/months before and after while all the infrastructure is moved.

I did think about the GP - figured we could just use Casey during that period - but probably didn't consider the fact there is such a bump in/bump out period.

It's a shame because the venue the facility that Cricket Victoria have built there is great and if you were able to find space around Ross Gregory Oval/Harry Trott oval it would be a really good sports facility area - but as was nicely pointed out above those ovals are used for community use so would make it difficult.

Think of the possibilities during GP weekend though, you could hold functions, create a viewing platform and sell tickets for huge coinย ๐Ÿค‘

Hopefully we are going to get an announcement soon that the project is approved and going ahead.

That will of course narrow the discussion on our future training ground and administration centre, which will be at Caulfield Racecourse.

Edited by Redleg

ย 
Just now, Redleg said:

Hopefully we are going to get an announcement soon that the project is approved fully and going ahead.

That will of course narrow the discussion on our future training ground and administration centre, which will be at Caulfield Racecourse.

Is this based on information you have or just you are hoping it is announced?

6 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Is this based on information you have or just you are hoping it is announced?

ย Info on it happening, not on an announcement.

I think the club said we hoped to have it all agreed by about July.

Edited by Redleg

4 hours ago, DownRightDee21 said:

I did think about the GP - figured we could just use Casey during that period - but probably didn't consider the fact there is such a bump in/bump out period.

It's a shame because the venue the facility that Cricket Victoria have built there is great and if you were able to find space around Ross Gregory Oval/Harry Trott oval it would be a really good sports facility area - but as was nicely pointed out above those ovals are used for community use so would make it difficult.

Think of the possibilities during GP weekend though, you could hold functions, create a viewing platform and sell tickets for huge coinย ๐Ÿค‘

Definitely an easy assumption to make and I would have thought the same before I moved to the area. Having seen it though it's chaotic from as early as Jan where the grandstands and other marquee structures are almost fully up, the bump out period takes ages and feels like half the year.ย 

Would be an amazing spot but seems beyond the realms of possibility. I do like the hospitality idea though!

Edited by layzie

7 minutes ago, layzie said:

Definitely an easy assumption to make and I would have thought the same before I moved to the area. Having seen it though it's chaotic from as early as Jan where the grandstands and other marquee structures are almost fully up, the bump out period takes ages and feels like half the year.ย 

Would be an amazing spot but seems beyond the realms of possibility. I do like the hospitality idea though!

I used to be involved on a committee level at a soccer club, when the GP held in late March some of the clubs that play out of Albert Park (Middle Park SC, Albert Park SC etc) were still locked out of their grounds for a few weeks after, always got fixture reversal requests cos Football Victoria's super computer simply doesnt care about requests/preferences aha

17 minutes ago, roy11 said:

I used to be involved on a committee level at a soccer club, when the GP held in late March some of the clubs that play out of Albert Park (Middle Park SC, Albert Park SC etc) were still locked out of their grounds for a few weeks after, always got fixture reversal requests cos Football Victoria's super computer simply doesnt care about requests/preferences aha

Yeah it's crazy isn't it!

By the way I always liked Albert Park SC better, Middle Park seemed a bit up themselves.ย 

I just wanted to make the important note that one of the new Melbourne Demons board members in Chris Barlow is part of the Barlow Family which owns/owned 7-Eleven. The Barlow Family net worth is about $1.95 billion dollars.

So, hopefully, Chris Barlow, and other wealthy Melbourne supporters are generous enough to help financially contribute towards the development of our new Home Base at Caulfield Racecourse.

I would most certainly contribute a significant donation too, but I am still waiting to win the lottery. Fingers crossed though! ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿคž๐Ÿป

21 minutes ago, Supreme_Demon said:

I would most certainly contribute a significant donation too, but I am still waiting to win the lottery. Fingers crossed though! ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿคž๐Ÿป

Same plan as me!

I had forgotten that the AFL paid $200M for Docklands.

While not quite broke the AFL has spent all its rainy day money and is looking to put away $100M ($20M x 5 years) to replenish its future fund.

As this money has to come at the expense of someone be prepared for some hard lobbying.

The article below by Caroline Wilson is a good read on where the money went and how they hope to replace it.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/revealed-dillon-s-100-million-plan-to-disaster-proof-the-afl-20250320-p5ll45.html

The war chest would amount to the re-establishment of the future fund first created by then AFL boss Andrew Demetriou in 2007. That fund is now empty โ€“ first significantly drained with the 2016 purchase of Marvel and later emptied during the COVID pandemic.

The AFL is also apprehensive of the current media landscape and the clubs have been warned that the game should create an insurance policy against the threat of its media backers, the Seven Network and Foxtel, struggling to honour their contracts.

That unlikely but still feared prospect sits alongside a costly and unprofitable AFLW competition, the competitionโ€™s expansion with a 19th team in Tasmania, and ongoing concerns about the debt-ridden weaker clubs.

On 06/03/2025 at 11:34, Redleg said:

ย Info on it happening, not on an announcement.

I think the club said we hoped to have it all agreed by about July.

Don't hold your breath Mr. Leg.ย 

I'm sure someone would be able to give me a good reason why it was never a chance but I reckon the missed opportunity (apart from the obvious Olympic park one that we all know about) was the Elwood 9 hole golf club that's now being turned into wetlands. It's right next the VFA base of operations, already has two existing ovals, tennis courts, could've easily added swimming facilities as well, and it all could've been in one revamped complex. Also near Elsternwick station and trams so easy for public transport, could've made it a boutique sized stadium for AFLW.

It's obviously a moot point now as the local council has committed to turning it into wetlands.

I really hope this Caulfield project pans out.

8 minutes ago, Pates said:

I'm sure someone would be able to give me a good reason why it was never a chance but I reckon the missed opportunity (apart from the obvious Olympic park one that we all know about) was the Elwood 9 hole golf club that's now being turned into wetlands. It's right next the VFA base of operations, already has two existing ovals, tennis courts, could've easily added swimming facilities as well, and it all could've been in one revamped complex. Also near Elsternwick station and trams so easy for public transport, could've made it a boutique sized stadium for AFLW.

It's obviously a moot point now as the local council has committed to turning it into wetlands.

I think you've nailed it yourself.... wetlands. The water table there is horrible - prone to flooding would not be ideal to build onย 

Edited by Sideshow Bob

Been chatting with someone close to this opportunity in the venues industry and many contacts in AFL.

Not this budget, but the next one - this goes ahead was their belief. Looking forward to very likely but a few things to sort. AFL wants it to happen.

1 minute ago, 1964nowMORE said:

Been chatting with someone close to this opportunity in the venues industry and many contacts in AFL.

Not this budget, but the next one - this goes ahead was their belief. Looking forward to very likely but a few things to sort. AFL wants it to happen.

I assume you mean @ Caulfield

3 hours ago, Pates said:

Below sea level. Not good in winterย 

Have lived in the Wood for many yearsย 

Waiting eagerly for Caulfield progress.

Talk of alternatives is obviously a waste of time.ย 

3 minutes ago, dpositive said:

Waiting eagerly for Caulfield progress.

Talk of alternatives is obviously a waste of time.ย 

Agree.

Alternative talk is like trying to come up with a system at the casino to cheat at blackjack.ย 

If we have another poor year on field, I suspect that supporter attention will turn to off field progress (or lack there of). Frustration for poor team performance will also exacerbate current annoyance for the lack of meaningful info given by the club and heat will be turned up to 11.