Demonstone 23,587 Posted November 3, 2019 Posted November 3, 2019 8 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said: They could save a bunch of cash and log on here to engage with the Mensa crowd The same Mensa crowd who complain that we're too safe and predictable but also complain when we research innovative ideas? 3 Quote
Hot as Hell 466 Posted November 3, 2019 Posted November 3, 2019 6 hours ago, demonstone said: Wouldn't that be Goodwin to Richardson? Richo is the humble one, Goody is the all knowing one. Richo to Goody is right. Goody would then think about the question and wonder whether actually worked out the Saints, who beat us many more times than we beat them, under the 2 coaches. Quote
jnrmac 20,377 Posted November 3, 2019 Posted November 3, 2019 Goodwin needs to change (by his own admission), Buckley has, Hardwick has. How Goodwin changes will be critical to our club. With his shiny new team of coaches everything has to go right. these trips can be valuable and probably even better that he's doing it with Richo. They need to be on the same Page because if we are 0 and 4 all hell could break loose. 6 Quote
Chook 15,070 Posted November 3, 2019 Posted November 3, 2019 2 hours ago, monoccular said: They could go to DC and catch up with The Donald ! OMG - surely that cannot be allowed on the same plane ! Imagine .... We could do with some stable geniuses at the club. 1 Quote
Sorry kids 635 Posted November 3, 2019 Posted November 3, 2019 Return flight home. Goody to Richo What do you think they meant by...………….. Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted November 3, 2019 Posted November 3, 2019 2 hours ago, Sorry kids said: Return flight home. Goody to Richo What do you think they meant by...………….. Ring Sorry Kids, he will tell you, he knows it all. Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,555 Posted November 3, 2019 Posted November 3, 2019 As long as they avoid the Seattle Mariners. Hold the longest active streak for not making the playoffs of all U.S. sporting franchises (2001). 1 Quote
Mach5 4,768 Posted November 4, 2019 Posted November 4, 2019 21 hours ago, Mazer Rackham said: Goodwin: How were you able to pick apart my game plan so easily? Richo: First answer me this Goody. And be honest. Do you know what a game plan is? Goodwin: How come every [censored]in' coach I run into asks me that? Richo: It's a serious question. Goodwin: I get asked about it all the time, I'm interviewed after every match, I have to front up to the board every month ... how could I not know what a game plan is? Richo: So answer the question then. Do you know what a game plan is? Goodwin: ... promise you won't laugh? Is this what passes for comedy these days? Lightweights... 4 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,459 Posted November 4, 2019 Posted November 4, 2019 If it means Goodwin and Richo learn more about each others Coaching styles, I am not against it. They both need to be working closely next season. A bad start, and careers are over. also a good chance to review a few hotels on Trivago 2 Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,972 Posted November 4, 2019 Posted November 4, 2019 7 hours ago, Mach5 said: Is this what passes for comedy these days? Lightweights... Sorry to disappoint. Trouble is, like all football news and general football buzz, even football humour is served in meagre portions in the off season. Such a shame. Even constructive criticism, apparently, is in short supply at this time of year. Perhaps you could brighten this long and anxious off season with some laffs of your own? Maybe a link to a funny picture that someone made, or a Monty Python sketch? Everyone is gasping for some relief. It's in your power to deliver. I've done all I can. I'm passing to a new flag bearer. 1 Quote
pinkshark 950 Posted November 6, 2019 Posted November 6, 2019 Load of BS. Off to America for PD. Again, a load of BS. [censored] America. Jesus bloody Christ, go and get some [censored] PD from the Hawthorn Footy Club FFS, or Richmond, or West Coast. Imagine the furrowed, inquisitive brow of Goodwin when he has an equivalent 'leadership' course educated yank coach talking about how they drive culture and standards and all that other [censored] that flows out goodwins boring [censored], uninspired, 'leading' voice. The truth is, US professional sports franchises don't carry on with all this 'leadership' BS. Speaking of poor coaches, ran into Mark Neeld on the weekend. He is running the Geelong United Basketball Club. 1 Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,972 Posted November 6, 2019 Posted November 6, 2019 26 minutes ago, pinkshark said: Load of BS. Off to America for PD. Again, a load of BS. [censored] America. Jesus bloody Christ, go and get some [censored] PD from the Hawthorn Footy Club FFS, or Richmond, or West Coast. Imagine the furrowed, inquisitive brow of Goodwin when he has an equivalent 'leadership' course educated yank coach talking about how they drive culture and standards and all that other [censored] that flows out goodwins boring [censored], uninspired, 'leading' voice. The truth is, US professional sports franchises don't carry on with all this 'leadership' BS. There's lots to learn from a junket in the USA Caesar's Palace Las Vegas ... where you learn to balance risk and reward. Very important in a football context. The Grand Canyon ... where you learn how vast nature is and how small we are ... and how our small actions (on the football field) can make a big difference ... how repeated one percenters can carve a deep impression in a sports club, the same way a river can carve a canyon out of rock ...... also it's bloody cold there. Just like on the MCG in July. Hollywood. Don't be deceived by glossy facades. Learn to focus on what's real and now. Times Square ... where you learn how ****ing expensive theatre tickets are. (Not sure how that relates to football .... thinks ..... ah!) Life's a pageant. We are all just actors on a grand stage .... erm ... the MCG on Queen's birthday? ..... erm ... I'll get back to you on that one. The Great Lakes ... where you learn how vast nature is and how ... oh did that one. The Rockies. Erm ... they're big ... you can conquer them just like England conquered the Kiwis in the world cup (twice!!) The Wild West. If you have guns, you can beat West Coast/Richmnd/Hawks/etc Graceland ... anyone can die young so ... make the most of what you've got now. (or something) Disneyland ... erm .... high ticket prices are profitable. (scraping the barrel here) ... rollercoaster rides? (anyone?) See, there's lots to learn from a junket coaching education training programme in the USA. I just hope they don't lose their pants in a bar in Memphis. 26 minutes ago, pinkshark said: Speaking of poor coaches, ran into Mark Neeld on the weekend. He is running the Geelong United Basketball Club. (let me finish that sentence for you) ....... into the ground (Sorry Mark! Couldn't resist! JK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) 1 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted November 6, 2019 Posted November 6, 2019 51 minutes ago, pinkshark said: Load of BS. Off to America for PD. Again, a load of BS. [censored] America. Jesus bloody Christ, go and get some [censored] PD from the Hawthorn Footy Club FFS, or Richmond, or West Coast. Imagine the furrowed, inquisitive brow of Goodwin when he has an equivalent 'leadership' course educated yank coach talking about how they drive culture and standards and all that other [censored] that flows out goodwins boring [censored], uninspired, 'leading' voice. The truth is, US professional sports franchises don't carry on with all this 'leadership' BS. Speaking of poor coaches, ran into Mark Neeld on the weekend. He is running the Geelong United Basketball Club. Why don't you just post what you mean and stop beating around the bush 2 Quote
praha 11,267 Posted November 6, 2019 Posted November 6, 2019 On 11/4/2019 at 8:56 AM, Bring-Back-Powell said: As long as they avoid the Seattle Mariners. Hold the longest active streak for not making the playoffs of all U.S. sporting franchises (2001). Have a close mate from Seattle that I used to work remotely with about a decade ago. Huge Sea Hawks fans, but his comments about the Mariners well remind me of what it's like to be a Melbourne supporter. 1 Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted November 6, 2019 Posted November 6, 2019 2 hours ago, pinkshark said: Load of BS. Off to America for PD. Again, a load of BS. [censored] America. Jesus bloody Christ, go and get some [censored] PD from the Hawthorn Footy Club FFS, or Richmond, or West Coast. Imagine the furrowed, inquisitive brow of Goodwin when he has an equivalent 'leadership' course educated yank coach talking about how they drive culture and standards and all that other [censored] that flows out goodwins boring [censored], uninspired, 'leading' voice. The truth is, US professional sports franchises don't carry on with all this 'leadership' BS. Speaking of poor coaches, ran into Mark Neeld on the weekend. He is running the Geelong United Basketball Club. All clubs whose coaches spend time in the US and other places in the world to make sure they are at the top of their game... 1 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,555 Posted November 6, 2019 Posted November 6, 2019 13 minutes ago, praha said: Have a close mate from Seattle that I used to work remotely with about a decade ago. Huge Sea Hawks fans, but his comments about the Mariners well remind me of what it's like to be a Melbourne supporter. I follow the Mariners closely as I used to live in Seattle. Let’s just say they are a complete disaster of an organisation . Have rebuilt about 6 times in the last 10 years, including going through one as we speak. One could probably write a book on how not to run a sporting franchise, and base it on the Mariners. 1 1 Quote
Maldonboy38 6,435 Posted November 6, 2019 Posted November 6, 2019 Every Premiership Coach since Denis Pagan has been overseas to see other sports, to learn from their leaders, and get insights in attack and defence outside the AFL perspective. Modern AFL defence is based on soccer, basketball and hockey zone defenses which came via Parkin, Roos, Wallace etc... There is always lots to learn if you have the desire to grow and change. Apart from that, the trip might also be a great opportunity for Goodwin and Richo to work out how they will work with each other. 2 Quote
Skuit 10,031 Posted November 6, 2019 Posted November 6, 2019 Folk mock (mostly in jest), but I have a vague recollection Goodwin swung by Arsenal FC last off-season (?). Nek minnit: Welcome to Demonland (the highly credentialed and sought after high performance guru) Darren Burgess. Quote
Dee Watcher 71 Posted November 6, 2019 Posted November 6, 2019 Lots to take in a view but US Team culture isn't really something that makes sense in our Aust context so hopefully there is more to it that a few coffees and cuddles. If the coaches aren't up to speed on how these other games are played/planned for a tactics perspective then they below in the EFL rather than the AFL as its not the 1990's any longer. Quote
Devil is in the Detail 883 Posted November 6, 2019 Posted November 6, 2019 On 11/3/2019 at 6:01 AM, Ethan Tremblay said: You accompanying them to show them all the hot spots Ethan?? 1 Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,389 Posted November 7, 2019 Posted November 7, 2019 1 hour ago, Devil is in the Detail said: You accompanying them to show them all the hot spots Ethan?? I supplied the coke and roofies. 3 Quote
Devil is in the Detail 883 Posted November 7, 2019 Posted November 7, 2019 10 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said: I supplied the coke and roofies. Were you accepted into there wolf pack?? Quote
Laughing Goat 308 Posted November 7, 2019 Posted November 7, 2019 yeah another great move lads.....really deserving of the junket. 1 Quote
Nasher 33,686 Posted November 7, 2019 Posted November 7, 2019 This thread summarised: I don't understand what this trip is for or what the coaches will get from it, therefore it's a waste of time and money. 5 Quote