Posted

That's done it for me I'm an old Vic boy now living in Qld and played at Fitzroy Under 19's with Wilson, Irwin etc in late 60's. I at least can now say I have the Lions up here to follow for rest of year as my heart just can't take this crap from my old team any more. 

Posted

1/3 OF TONIGHTS TEAM ARE NOT AFL STANDARD

Simple question:

How many games SHOULD we win with tonight's team?

Posted

So the fact that we have had the most players unavailable week to week of any club this season, and up to round 12 (it could be still) of any club in the AFL EVER means nothing to you over-reactive clowns? The single most reliable stat to predict a club’s ladder position is players unavailable week to week, thus through a season. Not speculation or supposition....this is fact. Nobody wants to talk about it because it takes the art discussion out of the game. We are where we are because week to week we have been playing with a decimated list. Brisbane are 2nd for the opposite reason. 

Posted

Lever on 3AW spewing garbage. “We didn’t compete in the contest for long enough” “we are frustrated” “we competed for the first three quarters”. - it’s all bulltish. It’s rubbish football rhetoric. Tell us about the [censored] skills across the board. Why you make horrendous decisions. He sounds just like Goodwin. He is feeding them his crap

Posted
1 minute ago, zeldacat said:

Where are the captains? No onfield presence. Non existent. 

Yep no leadership, it really shows. We missed May’s ability and leadership tonight done back but we need more of it up forward and in the middle. We had Lewis forward and Max in the middle as well as the 2 captains but all we saw was a rudderless shambles. Just don’t know how to explain the  headless chook stuff that went on tonight! 

Posted (edited)

That last play just summed up our year. To many handpasses and fumbled.

At least we kicked straight tonight

Just dumb turnovers by the players, broken tackles and just didn't man up and let the saints players get free to easily. 

The good thing is, as we won't be playing finals we will start pre season earlier so we have time to work on everything that has gone wrong this year. 

On a plus side I thought that was Petracca's best game in ages, if not ever. 

Im not on the sack goodwin bandwagon. Yes if we begin 2020 like we started this year then questions will be raised but the last thing we need is another coaching change and panic. Im wiping this season away and I'm confident next year will be like last year. We will have a fit McDonald back, a fit Melksham who I reckon has been the player we have missed, May I'm pretty sure will have a different pre season than his last few and even VandenBerg would have been handy this year. 

Anyway Im going to cheer myself up and go to you tube and look at highlights from the 2 final victories last year. Just remind myself that we were a good team and we actually put geelong and the hawks out of the finals and I wasn't dreaming it. 

Edited by dees189227

Posted
5 minutes ago, bing181 said:

Yes I know, much more effective to run around like a headless chicken.

You just described the Melbourne game plan. Don't tell the other clubs, it's our intellectual property.

Posted

Roos developed a defensive working both ways... Goodwin has completely unwound that or the players have .. either Goody should resign or sack the players... what’s occurring is a complete disgrace at this club again. We are the laughing stock of the Afl again!

Posted
3 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

The usual suspects were on display but Viney plays a bash/crash brand of footy that's increasingly devoid of thought.

Is it infectious? There has to be some explanation for this debacle

Posted
2 minutes ago, Webber said:

So the fact that we have had the most players unavailable week to week of any club this season, and up to round 12 (it could be still) of any club in the AFL EVER means nothing to you over-reactive clowns? The single most reliable stat to predict a club’s ladder position is players unavailable week to week, thus through a season. Not speculation or supposition....this is fact. Nobody wants to talk about it because it takes the art discussion out of the game. We are where we are because week to week we have been playing with a decimated list. Brisbane are 2nd for the opposite reason. 

Saints had good players out too. You are talking schoolyard stuff and not looking at the issues

Posted
22 minutes ago, Purple77 said:

Thought we'd get up for this one :(

Boy, some work to do. 

Also, no Bruce and Carlisle and saints lose that game.

I thought Josh Bruce looked a lot like Basil Fawlty and we  played like him . 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Docs Demons said:

That's done it for me I'm an old Vic boy now living in Qld and played at Fitzroy Under 19's with Wilson, Irwin etc in late 60's. I at least can now say I have the Lions up here to follow for rest of year as my heart just can't take this crap from my old team any more. 

did you play with wilson & irwin at swimmers ?

Posted
3 minutes ago, Webber said:

We are where we are because week to week we have been playing with a decimated list. Brisbane are 2nd for the opposite reason. 

How many games has this decimated list thrown away due to ineptitude? AFL level players are expected to exhibit AFL standard skills

Posted
25 minutes ago, FireInTheBelly said:

Whoever made the decision to select Oscar McDonald needs to be sacked immediately. Absolutely unforgivable.

The perfect, time-tested, guaranteed pathway to opposition goals. OMac is absolutely useless and with confidence but bitter disappointment, it is evident that he has cost us many games across the past two years - tonight's performance was yet another. The backline again scrambled to make up the vacancy he creates on the field (when on the field). A total spud.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

Lever on 3AW spewing garbage. “We didn’t compete in the contest for long enough” “we are frustrated” “we competed for the first three quarters”. - it’s all bulltish. It’s rubbish football rhetoric. Tell us about the [censored] skills across the board. Why you make horrendous decisions. He sounds just like Goodwin. He is feeding them his crap

lever is well, well ahead of himself. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Sorry kids said:

Would it have hurt to have continued Preuss footy development for the rest of the season.

Of course it wouldn't. Another stupid decision by the match panel. Who would care if we lost whilst getting games into Dunkley, Lockhart, the 2 ruck system in Preuss.

Tonight was just dumb, as a professional football club this was a fail. Lewis, Wagners, OMac. Even Smith who isn't the future. No club in the current environment would've made these selection decisions.

Posted
26 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

OSCAR McDonald, Wagner's, ANB get the [censored] out of this football club you spuds!

I have been a Goodwin but not anymore! I am done!

Nothing positive to come put of this dreadful performance. 

Maybe one positive, Noah Anderson.

Also we now hold the AFL record for scores off turnovers, to the opposition.

With 5 minutes to go we had conceded 84 points of their 103 from turnovers. That is simply disgusting.

Posted (edited)
35 minutes ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

I am not interested in hearing any excuses. We have completely overrated our list. We are lead by a board who has no passion for the club. Goodwin is under the pump. The media are going To Come for him and rightly so. Levers kicking was [censored]. Putrid. The Wagner’s arebte same. 

Champion Data also over-rated the list. According to Channel 7 we were top ranked at the start of the season.

Lots of explaining all round

Edited by Stand and Deeliver
Typo
Posted
1 minute ago, Mazer Rackham said:

Is it infectious? There has to be some explanation for this debacle

I actually think Viney has been playing like this for a while. He developed a reputation as a tough-as-nails player but that doesn't mean he has to dive into packs without thinking through what he wants to do.

Posted
1 minute ago, FireInTheBelly said:

Of course it wouldn't. Another stupid decision by the match panel. Who would care if we lost whilst getting games into Dunkley, Lockhart, the 2 ruck system in Preuss.

Tonight was just dumb, as a professional football club this was a fail. Lewis, Wagners, OMac. Even Smith who isn't the future. No club in the current environment would've made these selection decisions.

I woud have kept playing Preuss with strict instruction to run run run. Get him match conditioned this year.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Docs Demons said:

See ya.

images (21).jpeg