Red But Mostly Blue 4,632 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 What's the bet Goody mentions 'brand' in the presser? 1 Quote
Docs Demons 1,810 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 That's done it for me I'm an old Vic boy now living in Qld and played at Fitzroy Under 19's with Wilson, Irwin etc in late 60's. I at least can now say I have the Lions up here to follow for rest of year as my heart just can't take this crap from my old team any more. Quote
Jack7 528 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 1/3 OF TONIGHTS TEAM ARE NOT AFL STANDARD Simple question: How many games SHOULD we win with tonight's team? 2 Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 You have to think our finals run last season was just confidence and things going our way Quote
Webber 10,650 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 So the fact that we have had the most players unavailable week to week of any club this season, and up to round 12 (it could be still) of any club in the AFL EVER means nothing to you over-reactive clowns? The single most reliable stat to predict a club’s ladder position is players unavailable week to week, thus through a season. Not speculation or supposition....this is fact. Nobody wants to talk about it because it takes the art discussion out of the game. We are where we are because week to week we have been playing with a decimated list. Brisbane are 2nd for the opposite reason. 8 Quote
Leoncelli_36 2,264 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 Lever on 3AW spewing garbage. “We didn’t compete in the contest for long enough” “we are frustrated” “we competed for the first three quarters”. - it’s all bulltish. It’s rubbish football rhetoric. Tell us about the [censored] skills across the board. Why you make horrendous decisions. He sounds just like Goodwin. He is feeding them his crap 1 Quote
Earl Hood 6,167 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 1 minute ago, zeldacat said: Where are the captains? No onfield presence. Non existent. Yep no leadership, it really shows. We missed May’s ability and leadership tonight done back but we need more of it up forward and in the middle. We had Lewis forward and Max in the middle as well as the 2 captains but all we saw was a rudderless shambles. Just don’t know how to explain the headless chook stuff that went on tonight! Quote
My name is legion 158 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 17 minutes ago, DSP said: Is it really going to matter. We have destroyed that many 1st round picks that it will just be part of the norm at MFC. Don’t worry we’ll pick the wrong one Quote
dees189227 12,515 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 (edited) That last play just summed up our year. To many handpasses and fumbled. At least we kicked straight tonight Just dumb turnovers by the players, broken tackles and just didn't man up and let the saints players get free to easily. The good thing is, as we won't be playing finals we will start pre season earlier so we have time to work on everything that has gone wrong this year. On a plus side I thought that was Petracca's best game in ages, if not ever. Im not on the sack goodwin bandwagon. Yes if we begin 2020 like we started this year then questions will be raised but the last thing we need is another coaching change and panic. Im wiping this season away and I'm confident next year will be like last year. We will have a fit McDonald back, a fit Melksham who I reckon has been the player we have missed, May I'm pretty sure will have a different pre season than his last few and even VandenBerg would have been handy this year. Anyway Im going to cheer myself up and go to you tube and look at highlights from the 2 final victories last year. Just remind myself that we were a good team and we actually put geelong and the hawks out of the finals and I wasn't dreaming it. Edited July 27, 2019 by dees189227 2 Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,972 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 5 minutes ago, bing181 said: Yes I know, much more effective to run around like a headless chicken. You just described the Melbourne game plan. Don't tell the other clubs, it's our intellectual property. 2 Quote
Demonsone 2,056 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 Roos developed a defensive working both ways... Goodwin has completely unwound that or the players have .. either Goody should resign or sack the players... what’s occurring is a complete disgrace at this club again. We are the laughing stock of the Afl again! Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,972 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 3 minutes ago, Return to Glory said: The usual suspects were on display but Viney plays a bash/crash brand of footy that's increasingly devoid of thought. Is it infectious? There has to be some explanation for this debacle Quote
Sorry kids 635 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 2 minutes ago, Webber said: So the fact that we have had the most players unavailable week to week of any club this season, and up to round 12 (it could be still) of any club in the AFL EVER means nothing to you over-reactive clowns? The single most reliable stat to predict a club’s ladder position is players unavailable week to week, thus through a season. Not speculation or supposition....this is fact. Nobody wants to talk about it because it takes the art discussion out of the game. We are where we are because week to week we have been playing with a decimated list. Brisbane are 2nd for the opposite reason. Saints had good players out too. You are talking schoolyard stuff and not looking at the issues 2 Quote
demonique 314 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 22 minutes ago, Purple77 said: Thought we'd get up for this one Boy, some work to do. Also, no Bruce and Carlisle and saints lose that game. I thought Josh Bruce looked a lot like Basil Fawlty and we played like him . 1 Quote
doc roet 1,302 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 4 minutes ago, Docs Demons said: That's done it for me I'm an old Vic boy now living in Qld and played at Fitzroy Under 19's with Wilson, Irwin etc in late 60's. I at least can now say I have the Lions up here to follow for rest of year as my heart just can't take this crap from my old team any more. did you play with wilson & irwin at swimmers ? Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,972 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 3 minutes ago, Webber said: We are where we are because week to week we have been playing with a decimated list. Brisbane are 2nd for the opposite reason. How many games has this decimated list thrown away due to ineptitude? AFL level players are expected to exhibit AFL standard skills 2 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 25 minutes ago, FireInTheBelly said: Whoever made the decision to select Oscar McDonald needs to be sacked immediately. Absolutely unforgivable. The perfect, time-tested, guaranteed pathway to opposition goals. OMac is absolutely useless and with confidence but bitter disappointment, it is evident that he has cost us many games across the past two years - tonight's performance was yet another. The backline again scrambled to make up the vacancy he creates on the field (when on the field). A total spud. Quote
Sorry kids 635 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 4 minutes ago, Leoncelli_36 said: Lever on 3AW spewing garbage. “We didn’t compete in the contest for long enough” “we are frustrated” “we competed for the first three quarters”. - it’s all bulltish. It’s rubbish football rhetoric. Tell us about the [censored] skills across the board. Why you make horrendous decisions. He sounds just like Goodwin. He is feeding them his crap lever is well, well ahead of himself. Quote
FireInTheBennelly 4,104 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 8 minutes ago, Sorry kids said: Would it have hurt to have continued Preuss footy development for the rest of the season. Of course it wouldn't. Another stupid decision by the match panel. Who would care if we lost whilst getting games into Dunkley, Lockhart, the 2 ruck system in Preuss. Tonight was just dumb, as a professional football club this was a fail. Lewis, Wagners, OMac. Even Smith who isn't the future. No club in the current environment would've made these selection decisions. 3 Quote
Redleg 42,174 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 26 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: OSCAR McDonald, Wagner's, ANB get the [censored] out of this football club you spuds! I have been a Goodwin but not anymore! I am done! Nothing positive to come put of this dreadful performance. Maybe one positive, Noah Anderson. Also we now hold the AFL record for scores off turnovers, to the opposition. With 5 minutes to go we had conceded 84 points of their 103 from turnovers. That is simply disgusting. 6 Quote
Stand and Deeliver 6 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 (edited) 35 minutes ago, Leoncelli_36 said: I am not interested in hearing any excuses. We have completely overrated our list. We are lead by a board who has no passion for the club. Goodwin is under the pump. The media are going To Come for him and rightly so. Levers kicking was [censored]. Putrid. The Wagner’s arebte same. Champion Data also over-rated the list. According to Channel 7 we were top ranked at the start of the season. Lots of explaining all round Edited July 27, 2019 by Stand and Deeliver Typo Quote
Return to Glory 8,518 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 1 minute ago, Mazer Rackham said: Is it infectious? There has to be some explanation for this debacle I actually think Viney has been playing like this for a while. He developed a reputation as a tough-as-nails player but that doesn't mean he has to dive into packs without thinking through what he wants to do. 1 Quote
Sorry kids 635 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 1 minute ago, FireInTheBelly said: Of course it wouldn't. Another stupid decision by the match panel. Who would care if we lost whilst getting games into Dunkley, Lockhart, the 2 ruck system in Preuss. Tonight was just dumb, as a professional football club this was a fail. Lewis, Wagners, OMac. Even Smith who isn't the future. No club in the current environment would've made these selection decisions. I woud have kept playing Preuss with strict instruction to run run run. Get him match conditioned this year. Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted July 27, 2019 Posted July 27, 2019 8 minutes ago, Docs Demons said: That's done it for me I'm an old Vic boy now living in Qld and played at Fitzroy Under 19's with Wilson, Irwin etc in late 60's. I at least can now say I have the Lions up here to follow for rest of year as my heart just can't take this crap from my old team any more. See ya. 2 1 Quote