WELCOME TO THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB - KYSAIAH KROPINYERI PICKETT

Posted

One observation... he is more goal hungry now compared to 2020.  Not a chance in hell he snaps over his shoulder from 40m out last year.  He is backing himself in and will only get better.  Exciting times ahead.

Posted
37 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Have to say I was sceptical with everything we had to do to get an extra 1st round pick in 2019 and then we just used it just to get a small fwd, but now I’m so glad we did, not only did it fill a vital need he is an absolute gun to boot.

Small forwards are game changers 

and now he knows he can do it, at the top level. 
Wait till he kicks 4 at The MCG..

Posted
2 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

There was a passage of play in I think the third quarter where he ran about 30 metres to put pressure on a GWS player with the ball.

The GWS player was under no pressure and had a lot of space but Pickett just rubbing at him resulted in the ball going out of bounds. One of the best pressure acts I have seen for a very long time.

Was telling whomever was about to run towards Buntine to drop back and not leave their bloke spare, while sprinting. Was a great pressure act. 

Posted (edited)

He is speciallllll.

Ha...Trac looks like hes expecting a handball.

Edited by leave it to deever

Posted

Something I noticed a lot was our forwards would lead a lot laterally or to the incoming forward flank; which created a lot of space behind this on a 45 degree (from the square) angle in the other direction, which we never led into at all that I can remember.  Of course if this space is so prevalent so close to goal then the remaining space is going to be even more crowded.

Posted
31 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

He is speciallllll.

On repeat with the first coffee ️ of the day!!!

Posted
32 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Absolutely he was!!

the indigenous radar was having none of it

BANG!!

Posted
10 hours ago, McQueen said:

I don’t think he’ll ever have the presence of Rioli - particularly strength wise at contests. 

But by geez, can he read the play and map out plays like nobody’s business!

What a weapon.

Might get more strength as he matures ! 

Posted

Part Cyril, part Michael Long, part Aaron Davey (I think Dermie compared him to all 3 last night).

Steven May has competition as my favourite player.

Posted

Woke up today and thought 'holy [censored] do we really have Pickett? Is he really this good already?"

When you factor in that hes a teenager and has only played 17 games or so and that he lost his mother a few months ago and had to go back to S.A to mourn and while he was there he still trained his butt off, came back in supreme shape and is setting the AFL on fire..

this is a special kid!

Posted

He has the x factor all indigenous players have and when you reflect on a player who has played less than 20 games and is capable of creating such excitment when he is near the ball just watchout when he has played 100 games or more.

Posted
1 hour ago, Jaded said:

I can’t wait until he has the tank to play serious midfield minutes. He is pure joy. 

Do you reckon he will ever play serious midfield minutes? I reckon he’ll be too important in the forward line. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Do you reckon he will ever play serious midfield minutes? I reckon he’ll be too important in the forward line. 

I agree. Midfield is for big solid bodied players now

KK is better running around the edges

Posted

Just too agile for his opponents.  Would be a nightmare to play against.

And it's not just his pressure acts that cause turnovers, it's his presence. 

At times in the last couple of years our inability to put pressure on the opposition rebound led to too many easy goals on transition.  One of the reasons why we would win i50s but lose games.  Pickett helps a lot with this.  He is butthurt for opposition and a godsend for us.

Posted
44 minutes ago, Nasher said:

I do. I think he will play a quarter or so minutes each quarter in the midfield to shake things up. Teams will need to put lots of attention on him and it will free up other players in there. Besides his burst of speed and agility in the contest is a nice contrast to the rest of our bull-like inside mids. 
He is obviously not struggling with endurance given he missed 4 weeks of pre season and just got himself fit and is running out games nicely. 
I reckon once his tank is up for it, his midfield minutes will be super damaging. He has started many quarters this year in the Centre square, and I expect that to continue. 

Posted

I've never seen acceleration like Pickett's, he truly is a blur at times.  The clean pick-up at top speed, the agility, the snap off either foot.  Incredible!

Posted
1 hour ago, Nasher said:

If he keeps up this form he is going to start getting a lot of off the ball attention.  As we've seen with the likes of Oliver and Gawn, the umpires will pay free kicks from time to time but most of the time players are good at doing this without being seen.  Like Oliver, it will be important for Kozzie to change positions for the days when he's getting tagged out of the match.

Posted
20 hours ago, Nasher said:

100%.

He already is too important to have anwhere else.

That forward pressure, goal creating role is critical in footy circa 2021.

Which is why I said before the first game he will come straight in, and that he is in our top 5 most important players, even at this very early stage of his career