old dee 24,082 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 36 minutes ago, ProDee said: When I saw you'd quoted me I re-read my post before reading yours and instantly knew what you'd be questioning. I can't help you old man. I see your charm has not returned 1 1 Quote
TGR 1,367 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 6 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said: "That's no disrespect to Melbourne" are just words. His OTT celebrations when they knocked us out of the finals in 2017 were full of disdain; its not as if they made it into the 8 instead of us. Actions speak louder than words! I was never a big fan of Dunn anyway, selfish player in my book. We have been better off without him. Just me from the outside, but I reckon Melky has him well covered in the me me me stakes. Quote
Tom Dyson 1,645 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 i always thought that Dunny was a great servant of the club and that he tried really hard. he was probably held back a bit by us when we were at the depths. as many have already said, his ott celebrations in round 23 2017 [censored] me off as the game really did not help them out in any way. i wish him all the best for the future. Quote
Coq au vin 755 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 9 hours ago, old dee said: But we 1- 5 and soon to 1-6 so who can blame him. Wrong 1 Quote
old dee 24,082 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 3 hours ago, President Dee Trump said: Wrong Yes amazing I remember the last time too. It was July 1979!!! Quote
Supermercado 2,806 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 (edited) Smart bloke, would have won a flag. Like when Green could have gone to the Pies, stayed and spent the next three years as a scapegoat. Edited May 4, 2019 by Supermercado Quote
John Demonic 5,988 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 "I wish i'd been booted out a decade earlier" 4 Quote
Demon trucker 1,800 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 6 hours ago, John Demonic said: "I wish i'd been booted out a decade earlier" Before roos came dunn had done not much, he played his best football under Roos. He would not have been good enough to play in the pies sides, of 2009 to 2011. 10 year ago he would have not been traded but delisted, and no club would have picked him up, because back then players were less likely to get a second chance. if's and but's and I could've I would 've been a champion, but your not a-s-s wipe. Quote
Adzman 2,154 Posted May 4, 2019 Posted May 4, 2019 Pies are due for a big fall in the upcoming years. He can say what he likes, but a partial rebuild is on the cards for the pies. Second oldest list in the comp and many of those older heads are still crucial pieces to their line up. Dunn will no doubt be sacrificed at seasons end for list balance. Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted May 5, 2019 Posted May 5, 2019 19 hours ago, TGR said: Just me from the outside, but I reckon Melky has him well covered in the me me me stakes. And Melky has Dunn well covered for skill and workrate. 2 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,667 Posted May 5, 2019 Posted May 5, 2019 Collingwood have conjured a really good playing culture out of a FIGJAM coach who took years and a lot of talent to get a good game plan in place and a bunch of pretty unusual or even rough characters as players. I'm not sure they've got a player with an IQ above 100 (maybe Tom Phillips) but they've got some brilliant footballers and they all work exceptionally hard. Bad tattoos, Brodie/Brody's, Taylor's, Dayne's, Brayden's, Jaidyn's, Roughead's and rough heads and keeping them all together some how is the way to build a mean football side. Somehow Bucks have kept them all mostly working together (lost one in a drug ban). Throw in some great facilities and off field support and I'm not surprised Dunny loves it there. I miss what he could've been and was for us for a brief period - one heck of a key defender with a sweet long kick. I don't miss the fat bloke who was in such poor shape that Oscar McDonald took his job. Nor do I miss the decade of contract year Dunn where he'd rally from his career death bed to reinvent himself and play well just before securing another 2 year deal. Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted May 5, 2019 Posted May 5, 2019 On 5/4/2019 at 9:53 AM, Ethan Tremblay said: An unnecessary comment but I don’t blame him. He’s a bit of a faux-tough guy and was never going to assist with taking us any further, so who really cares. I remember when he gave Chapman a cheap jab to the ribcage and near peed his pants when Chapman retaliated. Quote
Little Goffy 14,953 Posted May 5, 2019 Posted May 5, 2019 (edited) Was an occasionally adequate player for us, with significant deficiencies. Is somewhat more often adequate at the Pies, with his deficiencies better controlled. But honestly, I'd care more about how Colin Garland feels about the club. Edit: Point of Trivia, even though we basically gained nothing in the 'trade' of Dunn to Collingwood, the player we now have instead of him is Mitch Hannan. So, I think we've come out ahead anyway. Edited May 5, 2019 by Little Goffy Quote
DV8 2,271 Posted May 5, 2019 Posted May 5, 2019 (edited) 3 hours ago, Fork 'em said: And Melky has Dunn well covered for skill and workrate. And the, 'Dare-to-do-it' attitude. Edited May 5, 2019 by DV8 Quote
nosoupforme 3,085 Posted May 5, 2019 Posted May 5, 2019 Dunny was one of my favourites and played his best games Deep in the back line. Roos couldn't see him in our future look may it be right or wrong. That goes for other clubs that have fringe players and move on because of not being regulars. However some move on and become regulars and play good footy for the rest of their careers others you never here of again. Dunny served his purpose at our club when needed and if only you were more disciplined and more of a leader as you turned out at Coll/wood you might have been a regular and a leader in time. Hope things go well down the track for you. Might come back as an assistant one day who knows? Quote
Mach5 4,768 Posted May 5, 2019 Posted May 5, 2019 It's not nice to hear it, but who could fault the sentiment based on our last 10 years? Don't sweat the small stuff; this is small stuff. Quote
deespicable me 1,584 Posted May 5, 2019 Posted May 5, 2019 The three of Frawley, Dunne and Howe were good mates and in private conversations amongst themselves I'm sure they worked out the best way to advance their careers was at another club. Good, solid, loyal players stay and work out how to improve their team or suffer for the cause. I include May in that bracket along with Lynch at Richmond and over half the Hawthorn team. Scully is the ultimate mercenary and well hated by most of the football public. Quote
poita 3,944 Posted May 6, 2019 Posted May 6, 2019 On 5/5/2019 at 8:38 AM, Adzman said: Pies are due for a big fall in the upcoming years. He can say what he likes, but a partial rebuild is on the cards for the pies. Pendlebury is the only player over 30 who is a regular, and he could play for another 5 years. Treloar, Adams, , Crisp, Grundy, Hoskin-Elliott, De Goey, Phillips, Moore, Langdon, Stephenson, Maynard all 25 or under at start of year. Collingwood will be contending for at least the next five years. 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,283 Posted May 6, 2019 Author Posted May 6, 2019 1 hour ago, poita said: Pendlebury is the only player over 30 who is a regular, and he could play for another 5 years. Treloar, Adams, , Crisp, Grundy, Hoskin-Elliott, De Goey, Phillips, Moore, Langdon, Stephenson, Maynard all 25 or under at start of year. Collingwood will be contending for at least the next five years. Agree, Anyone who thinks otherwise are kidding themselves. They are a big club and will continue to attract high quality players along the way. Quote