Posted
14 minutes ago, ManDee said:

Thats where Tommy Mc started, in defence. And you say "it is much easier to play good defense" You may also note that when switched back to defence against Richmond he had his best stats for the season. As a forward this year both have been poor.

Your argument continues to be contradictory, so that is all for me. 

I agree, both have been poor forward but at least Tom has another string to his bow. It is easier to play in defense because it is all in front of you and you only need to run one way. Tom has proved to be good at that job. I don't know what point you are trying to make?  

Posted (edited)

Only 1 or 2 smart posters on here, warned that the finals form of 2018 was more likely an event than a trend, in light of KPP development of guys like Hawkins, Boyd etc...

No one should be surprised that consistency for him is still 2-3 years away.  That said, I would have like his competitiveness with ground ball and tackling pressure to be better than it is.

Something tells me he will end up at Collingwood before his time is through...hence the ambit claim of 700+.

Edited by TGR
Posted
1 hour ago, SFebes said:

He's still only 21 years old......give him time. It's TMACS form that is hurting us, not Sams.

His first 3 weeks weren't too bad SF.  Dropped away badly since.

Neither have fired a shot so far.

Posted

He’s developing fine.

If TMac as an experienced leader in the team was plying better, then it wouldn’t be such an issue.  Weideman should be a supporting act at those stage of husbands career.

Posted

The worry is four years in he still floats around inconsequentially and lacks physical presence. Runs under the flight of the ball, takes very few clean contested grabs and doesn’t hit the scoreboard enough. 

Poses no threat to AFL defenders at this stage. Needs to play at Casey until he can really dominate at that level. Get his hands on the footy and enjoy the game for a while.

Posted (edited)

And who do you suggest should assume the role of CHF when Weideman is demoted?

Keilty is not the answer

Edited by joeboy

Posted
1 minute ago, joeboy said:

And who do you suggest should assume the role of CHF when Weideman is demoted?

Keilty is not the answer

There lies the problem. He is in WA but does not play for us any more.

Posted
Just now, old dee said:

There lies the problem. He is in WA but does not play for us any more.

Correct, the problem was he wants to be in WA and NOT in Melbourne.

The club didn't get rid of him, they traded because if he had stayed he would have walked out at the end of this year with or without a premiership, that so many people on this site think he would have delivered  for us. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Umpire Please said:

The club didn't get rid of him, they traded because if he had stayed he would have walked out at the end of this year with or without a premiership, that so many people on this site think he would have delivered  for us. 

Versus the current delivers? 

Posted
6 minutes ago, Umpire Please said:

Right - you know this...how?

Posted

Now we're back to waiting for him to develop. We spent about 5 years doing that with any number of "gun recruits" in the Neeld torture chamber. Its not that Goody might not be right...but gosh it feels like all too familiar scenario. One day........some day....if only we'd picked....

Posted
On 3/29/2019 at 11:17 AM, Sydee said:

With the departure of Hogan this was always on the cards - wait for the Collingwood rumours to surface soon 

Pretty quiet on the magpie rumors front

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

He’s developing fine.

If TMac as an experienced leader in the team was plying better, then it wouldn’t be such an issue.  Weideman should be a supporting act at those stage of husbands career.

Not sure I agree. Needs to stay in the team but his development has stalled - particularly in terms of his leading patterns, timing and game craft. 

That said he does not look fit and seems a bit proppy.

By the by I didn't know he was married to tmac. 

Joke worked better without spelling mistake
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, TGR said:

Only 1 or 2 smart posters on here, warned that the finals form of 2018 was more likely an event than a trend, in light of KPP development of guys like Hawkins, Boyd etc...

No one should be surprised that consistency for him is still 2-3 years away.  That said, I would have like his competitiveness with ground ball and tackling pressure to be better than it is.

Something tells me he will end up at Collingwood before his time is through...hence the ambit claim of 700+.

Yep and u know what dont really care He is not worth more than $ 500 K given current form 

Lets think about it 5 or 6 times a professional normal  REASONABLE SALARY of an Aussie worker per year to not impose, not take pack marks and not kick goals!

Sheeet can I have some??

Potential is just that, start proving yourself son then reconsider!

Posted
19 minutes ago, binman said:

Pretty quiet on the magpie rumors front

Very, and we all know why - if he was getting a few kicks and slotting some goals it would be a different story 

Posted

might be just me..( I know...often is..... )  but I dont think Weed is the culprit here. Hes a bit down on form but he has shown he can take a mark...he can get to a leading position. Both of these situations require one very important thing to happen...decent ball delivery.

The defence rests

Posted
7 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

might be just me..( I know...often is..... )  but I dont think Weed is the culprit here. Hes a bit down on form but he has shown he can take a mark...he can get to a leading position. Both of these situations require one very important thing to happen...decent ball delivery.

The defence rests

Good forwards should still be able to take half chances and manufacture goals ‘Bub. If Weid can only perform under ‘silver service’ conditions that won’t cut it at this level. Need more tricks than that.

Posted
16 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

The defence rests

It is well known that I am not a fan but I think you are correct bb. I said this a couple of weeks ago the delivery is killing him. If our game plan remains bomb it in ( the Hail Mary plan) then we might as well clear him now. 

Posted (edited)
38 minutes ago, Matsuo Basho said:

Good forwards should still be able to take half chances and manufacture goals ‘Bub. If Weid can only perform under ‘silver service’ conditions that won’t cut it at this level. Need more tricks than that.

Mate... Silver ? Bronze ?

We're lucky to offer up a tarnished Brass !!

I'm not a fan...nor am I a brickbat lobber in this instance. The truth is Weed.. actually half the team.... aren't the problem. ..you just can't dance when the tempo, the rhythm, the tune.. all fight each other. You tend to look silly.....oh wait ?

Edited by beelzebub
Posted
49 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

The defence rests

And... the other forwards doing their bit.  Especially TMc... he should be the No1 forward,  and Weide playing as the No2.  The kid nerds a foil, at this stage.

He doesn't need silver service... but he needs to team playing reasonably well around him.  So he can perform to some degree.

IMO he is a couple of seasons of playing consistently to his level of September,  last season.

Posted

I think in the first 4 games I was generally happy with how he was tracking and I still am. Last couple of weeks I would have liked to see him holding a couple more as it will make huge difference to not have the ball hitting the deck every single time.

I think more games will help, has been far from our worst despite having a shocker last week. Certainly not ready to lead the line.