26 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

Has anybody come back out of shape??

Absolutely no chance of that, even Lewis with a squillion pre seasons under his belt was doing extra, was in last Friday

As for the extra work over the break, every player has an individual program that goes all year round

Weid obviously told he needs bit of extra weight so has been 'working' on it, assume once back 'under control' they will have another look

Spoke to James Harmes after he finished his outside rehab, asked him what was planned for rest of day for him and he rattled it off

2 hours ago, Mad_Melbourne said:

I’d say from comments made by Jason Taylor, he’d be playing most of the time as a forward. Secondly, would suggest the ruck not necessarily an ideal spot to put a player who hasn’t played football in a few years, until he is able to protect his body correctly in the position. Teach him to use his body in marking contests and attack the ball in the air, progress that to ruck is my thoughts on the matter

Already had 2 ruck craft sessions in the open with Greg Stafford

22 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

Has anybody come back out of shape??

Me. 

The whole finals things took its toll. Just recovering.

Actually May managed to push Preuss off the line of the ball once

My lovely lady can attest to the size of May close up after the incident yesterday and we are talking body size only???  she has left it to me to do the gun check???

49 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Actual size comparison.

Screenshot_2018-12-04 Braydon Preuss Pictures and Photos Getty Images(2).png

May looks like a midget standing beside those two giants!

3 hours ago, hemingway said:

It would be extraordinary if fitness staff could not give advice to players or give them a fitness/workout program if players voluntarily seek their advice.  Even if they don't seek their advice, surely club fitness people can give advice in the off-season. 

Players should be maintaining their condition outside officially sanctioned club training days. I would expect all professional players to do this. This is not to say that this is part of the clubs official training program or mandated training periods. 

The consequences of not keeping fit are obvious. Players are more likely to get injured by not keeping fit than getting injured through over exertion. However, players are not going to be punished for turning up out of condition. 

It players are not able to use their own discretion about maintaining fitness and condition in the off-season, god help me. They may not all be rocket scientists but they are professional footballers and should know what to do.   

I was listening to SEN radio a week or so back, and I think the collective bargaining agreement might mandate a certain amount of time away from the club, but the player being interviewed seemed to indicate that a number of players would head back to the club even only after a few weeks or so away to start doing weights and fitness. It didn't sound like they were not allowed to engage with the training and fitness staff. He went as far as indicating that he went back to the club for that exact reason, he had the physio and others that could help him improve. (I can't recall the player nor the club btw)

I suspect that the players that have had surgery over the offseason would still remain in contact with the club, physios and the medical team. I would imagine that it's more that the CBA states that the club is not able to mandate these things. But the doors would remain open for the players if they chose to be there.

1 minute ago, Ouch! said:

I was listening to SEN radio a week or so back, and I think the collective bargaining agreement might mandate a certain amount of time away from the club, but the player being interviewed seemed to indicate that a number of players would head back to the club even only after a few weeks or so away to start doing weights and fitness. It didn't sound like they were not allowed to engage with the training and fitness staff. He went as far as indicating that he went back to the club for that exact reason, he had the physio and others that could help him improve. (I can't recall the player nor the club btw)

I suspect that the players that have had surgery over the offseason would still remain in contact with the club, physios and the medical team. I would imagine that it's more that the CBA states that the club is not able to mandate these things. But the doors would remain open for the players if they chose to be there.

I imagine that at some time in the not to distant future the Players' Association will say that players are being unreasonably coerced to attend the club during their supposed break. It will only take one club being unreasonable - and there will eventually be one - before the dam wall breaks. 

6 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I imagine that at some time in the not to distant future the Players' Association will say that players are being unreasonably coerced to attend the club during their supposed break. It will only take one club being unreasonable - and there will eventually be one - before the dam wall breaks. 

Just found an article from back in 2013, it actually states that clubs are not permitted to track or monitor players fitness over the mandated break. Does not state anything about players and clubs not permitted to have contact with each other.

Players have to stay or improve their fitness, they can chose to do things by themselves, using running coaches, or other things away from the club to keep it fresh and different, but equally if a player wants to come in and use the staff who are there to help the players, also fine I guess...

1 hour ago, Demonland said:

You decide.

Screenshot_2018-12-04 Braydon Preuss Pictures and Photos Getty Images.png

Screenshot_2018-12-04 Braydon Preuss Pictures and Photos Getty Images(1).png

Actual size comparison.

Screenshot_2018-12-04 Braydon Preuss Pictures and Photos Getty Images(2).png

Maxi looks like he won that one haha

3 hours ago, Deeminion said:

Another diehard that really appreciates all these training reports. I'm up in Brisvegas and for obvious reasons attending training is impossible so having these reports, with the level of detail that some go into is absolutely amazing. I have a great feeling about this team, more so than any Demons team in the last 3 decades. Time will tell I guess.

Anyway, I just wanted to pop in and say thank you for this site and thank you to the great posters that offer us a glimpse into the preseason training sessions.

You get a like from me, because Avatar.

:)

First time (actually second) long time but need to reiterate the thanks as others have done to those dedicate fans that go to training sessions in the pre-season. I live in the excitement hub of Adelaide now (married into a Crow Eater family) and reading the papers here you wouldn't know that there are 16 other teams in the comp. I get laughed at when discussing footy at any family occasion and at work and I find reading this site is now my only link to my number one passion. Having access to these first hand accounts makes living in this hellhole (don't tell my wife) bearable.

I've been an avid reader of this website for a long time. I hope I can contribute my thoughts on the Mighty Dees. I'll be back in Melbourne for a week in the new year and I'm making it my mission to get down to training as I'm deeply saddened that the Dees won't be playing in Adelaide next year. Hoping to make it to the QB clash if I can convince the missus.

KEEP YOUR EYE ON THE RED AND THE BLUE

JKH is too small for an AFL footballer...Lewis towers over him...

1 hour ago, Pipefitter said:

I’ve been in good paddock.

i'm actually in better shape now than the end of the season

just saw my cardio and he doesn't want to see me next for 3 years (normally annually). all because  got off my [censored] and did some regular training

?  

5 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Are Essendon not allowed to inject their players in the official off season?

38 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

i'm actually in better shape now than the end of the season

just saw my cardio and he doesn't want to see me next for 3 years (normally annually). all because  got off my [censored] and did some regular training

?  

I've been doing regular arm raises, but it doesn't seem to be working.

2 minutes ago, FireInTheBelly said:

I've been doing regular arm raises, but it doesn't seem to be working.

big guys take longer to develop?

4 hours ago, raDeelaide said:

First time (actually second) long time but need to reiterate the thanks as others have done to those dedicate fans that go to training sessions in the pre-season. I live in the excitement hub of Adelaide now (married into a Crow Eater family) and reading the papers here you wouldn't know that there are 16 other teams in the comp. I get laughed at when discussing footy at any family occasion and at work and I find reading this site is now my only link to my number one passion. Having access to these first hand accounts makes living in this hellhole (don't tell my wife) bearable.

I've been an avid reader of this website for a long time. I hope I can contribute my thoughts on the Mighty Dees. I'll be back in Melbourne for a week in the new year and I'm making it my mission to get down to training as I'm deeply saddened that the Dees won't be playing in Adelaide next year. Hoping to make it to the QB clash if I can convince the missus.

Yep, I'm with you, raDee(laide), living in Seaford and missing the home of football from whence the mighty Dees originate. This city is a hellhole for news, information (etc) of the MFC, and having to tolerate the incestuous football wisdom of the Adelaidean footy fraternity. Still, this site helps, heaps - except for one or two contributors who cloud the horizon with irrelevant one-upmanship; however, these types are few. Going to miss the Adelaide games in 2019  against Crows and Port. Carna Dees!

Same issue

Same in NSW on TV - only the Swans and Giants here (and only on Channel 7 - nothing on Nine!)

Welcome to Demonland mate.

Doesnt sound like you owe anyone the courtesy of "asking permission" 

Enjoy the game.

6 hours ago, Cards13 said:

Maxi looks like he won that one haha

My God, May and Preuss look like two tough hombres.

Not to be messed with. 

You would want them on your side. 

We have one hell of a tough outfit.  

6 minutes ago, hemingway said:

My God, May and Preuss look like two tough hombres.

Not to be messed with. 

You would want them on your side. 

We have one hell of a tough outfit.  

Potential for an old school late preseason training “just the boys letting off some steam/we’re all good now and had a laugh about it” punch on. Not that those things are acceptable these days.