Posted
2 hours ago, Chook said:

I ain't eatng my cookie. Imma frame it on my wall alongside a stuffed eagle, hawk, and cat. 

Any room for a tiger or magpie?

Posted
8 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

you need to play like there is NO tomorrow or as some geezer said:

“I shall tell you a great secret, my friend. Do not wait for the last judgement, it takes place every day.”

Quoting literary greats on the fan blogs

Press will eat this up... Soooo Melbourne stereotype! Luv it! ?

Posted
1 hour ago, bing181 said:

Not sure if anyone's posted this, but ... special finals edition that excludes one of the teams??

image.thumb.png.993b54192f8cd592153c2dfd3df87f7e.png

That wouldn't have been done in error that paper is pro Meth Coast to the point Freo supporters complain about it. The media here ran a story earlier in the week complaining about the Herald Sun only having the 3 Vic sides in it.

They will be looking for bites

Posted
1 hour ago, bing181 said:

Not sure if anyone's posted this, but ... special finals edition that excludes one of the teams??

image.thumb.png.993b54192f8cd592153c2dfd3df87f7e.png

Golly ...someone's in DEE-nial !! lol

Pluckem Dees !!

Posted

Have been fairly calm all week, telling myself that we have achieved more than I thought we would and even getting to a prelim was an achievement. Now I am royally crapping my dacks. One win from the GF. Boy oh boy wowee!

Posted
1 hour ago, layzie said:

I think we've got this. I just got allocated locker no.64 at the gym..

Sorry to be that guy.

I backed a greyhound at casino after work. It won. Its name was Jonsey.

Posted
22 hours ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

To change topic to a more pressing matter - anyone know what we’re wearing? 

Disco blue or white shorts? Or both? 

Surely the home jumper with white shorts, which is what we wore last time. They wear royal blue so we can't wear the alternate.

9 hours ago, Patches O’houlihan said:

Curve ball idea. Will be shouted down but I’ll throw it out anyway. 

Eagles have quite a tall and not a super mobile defence. Swing McDonald back, clog up the backline and not allow the eagles room, leave weid as the only tall forward. If the ball hits the ground their backline will seriously struggle.

No way we send our 50-goal forward to the backline and hope for Weideman to get on top of Hurn, McGovern and co.

8 hours ago, ProDee said:

Jones and vandenBerg have been playing the wing role in conjunction with Tyson.  The three of them have been rotating through there for about 6 weeks.  I want continuity with all players knowing their role.  Fritsch has recently been playing in defence.  I don't want him now trying on a new role in a cutthroat final.

So, to answer your question, Tyson.

2019 is a whole new ball game and it will be interesting what roles the coaches decide to give to certain players over summer.  Fritsch is yet to have a full preseason, so I expect a better, stronger, fitter version of him next year in whatever role they decide to give him.

That's a fair argument.

I think, for me, a lot of my frustration at the change comes from sympathy for Fritsch, but taking emotion out of it I think we've done the right thing.

7 hours ago, willmoy said:

Anyone notice if WC are still watering the Ground as they were on Tuesday? Also Vardy in for me is a sign of how fit Kennedy isn't!!

Possibly.

But Kennedy's influence against Collingwood in the first final was clear. As he got into the game WC got on top. We can't take him lightly. 

Posted

I hope Oscar does another massive tackle on one of the Eagles players early into the game to remind them of how he took one of them out for an entire game (legally) last time.

Tonight's result has made this match even bigger for me now. I know this will sound crazy but I was not particularly worried about the result of our match, I've just been so proud of the boys since the last time we ventured to Perth. But now, with the prospect of facing the Pies in a grand final, this match has taken on a bigger significance. I want us to play the Pies, I want them to think about the last time we played them and think "oh we smashed them last time, we've got this", I want our first premiership in 54 years to be against the same mob we got it against last time. How poetic would that be!!!

Posted

Dont know about any of you but I cant bloody sleep because of this game tomorrow. 

Posted
On 9/20/2018 at 10:03 PM, Deestroy All said:

Horrible change. 

You’ve got a bloke that was a revelation on the wing and damaging up forward. Yet get rid of him and leave Tyson in who is lost. 

This didn’t cost us the game but it set the tone for what was to come.

Posted
8 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

This didn’t cost us the game but it set the tone for what was to come.

Look how clean Fritsch is today. 

The Benny Hill show Smith and Tyson were putting on was enough to kill any team. 

Posted
27 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

Look how clean Fritsch is today. 

The Benny Hill show Smith and Tyson were putting on was enough to kill any team. 

That may be the case, but Fritsch not getting a touch with the way we were playing isn’t unimaginable either.

Posted
26 minutes ago, Nasher said:

That may be the case, but Fritsch not getting a touch with the way we were playing isn’t unimaginable either.

Yeah but this is the preview and selection thread. Fritsch played 20 good games this year. Joel Smith and Tyson had 1 good one between them and it belonged to Smith. 

Selction waa trying to be clever. It wasn’t. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

Yeah but this is the preview and selection thread. Fritsch played 20 good games this year. Joel Smith and Tyson had 1 good one between them and it belonged to Smith. 

The main reason we didn't drop Tyson is, I suspect, we didn't want to move Fritsch from the backline to the middle for a preliminary final after he'd been playing in the backline for a couple of months.

Ideally, we never would have played Fritsch in the backline, Vince or Hunt would have been in better form and would have had that spot, and Fritsch would have spent the year playing forward/wing. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Deestroy All said:

I’d say selecting Fritsch as a wing when he’s been playing his best footy off half back since Lever went down, in a cut throat prelim, also qualifies as trying to be clever. 

And all the discussion was around Fritsch vs Tyson - even Clint himself said in this thread he understood why Smith was picked. I thought it was obvious, rather than left field. Tossing that one in now is moving the goalposts. 

Anyway, it doesn’t matter now. I still reckon that with the level of pusitude we displayed, we could have picked Dorothy the Dinosaur and wouldn’t have been any better or worse off.