Posted

Hearing the richmond supporters scream "yellow and black" at the Anzac Eve match every year even makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. We have our own war cry that over the last decade of mediocrity has fizzled into non-existence. I think this Friday would be the perfect chance to bring it back and would give the players goosebumps hearing 50,000 melbourne supporters scream "what do we sing" as they ran out onto the field for their first final in 12 years. 

As a collective, does this forum have what it takes to bring back our old war cry? Are there members of the demon army or perhaps the debrief who could help spread the word to make this a reality on Friday night?

Posted

"Ev'ry heart beats true, for the red and the blue, and we sing this song to you ... CRIMSON AND BLUE!!! ... should auld acquaintance, etc"

or ... call and response ... "should auld acquaintance be forget?" "HELL NO! (whatever that means anyway)"

Ours is a good song. Just enjoy that there are some humdingers, even if they are for oppo clubs. Enjoy and revel in the theatre of it, secure in the knowledge that our song is a cracker too.

Posted

what about a hearty 'Go Dees' in a high pitch voice after the song and then we all throw our cheese boards up in the air?

Posted (edited)

“What Do We Sing” can be sung with extra gusto quite easily

Winning will determine how loud the song is

Edited by Sir Why You Little
Posted
25 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

or ... call and response ... "should auld acquaintance be forget?" "HELL NO! (whatever that means anyway)

Definitely this!

Posted
13 minutes ago, DubDee said:

what about a hearty 'Go Dees' in a high pitch voice after the song and then we all throw our cheese boards up in the air?

Haha! I will be impressed if I see a few supporters devouring their delicacies on cheese boards. 

Posted

Remember going to the '87 first final.. sat in the Ponsford stand... had an esky with a nice french rose, pork pies and a good cheese from DJ's food hall. Good glasses of course....

Those were the days !!

Posted
1 minute ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Remember going to the '87 first final.. sat in the Ponsford stand... had an esky with a nice french rose, pork pies and a good cheese from DJ's food hall. Good glasses of course....

Those were the days !!

Would cost you about $600 to buy at the footy these days (i know you didn't buy your feast at the ground btw).

And your wine would be in little dinky plastic 'glasses'!

Posted
45 minutes ago, binman said:

Would cost you about $600 to buy at the footy these days (i know you didn't buy your feast at the ground btw).

And your wine would be in little dinky plastic 'glasses'!

yep... life was different.... I can even remember articles being written about taking your own picnic on long distance plane flights instead of relying on airline meals.

All that ended that day in September 2001...

Posted

i have been trying to get this happening for some time. would be awesome if the cheer squad could do it as well. would be goosebump worthy if 50,000 dees fans belt it out. i will do it for sure on Friday night.

#MFCforever  #waddawesing 

Posted (edited)

I've always disliked  the line in our anthem..."should auld acquaintance be forgot".

It has absolutely no relevance(nowadays) to our club.

(Apparently the players used to sing "Auld Lang Syne" in get -togethers after wins, but it's a really weak part of our otherwise great theme song.)

Perhaps we could sing...."Just bring 'em on, we'll beat the lot !",instead.

Can  Demonlanders please have a think and suggest another line. It could be the best and most inspiring part of the song...(like "Yellow and Black!!" as mentioned in the OP.)

Edited by Jumping Jack Clennett
typo
Posted
11 minutes ago, Jumping Jack Clennett said:

I've always disliked  the line in our anthem..."should auld acquaintance be forgot".

(Apparently the players used to sing "Auld Lang Syne" in get -togethers after wins, but it's a really weak part of our otherwise great theme song.)

Can  Demonlanders please have a think and suggest another line. It could be the best and most inspiring part of the song...(like "Yellow and Black!!" as mentioned in the OP.)

Terrible idea. Right up there with a suggestion that we replace "It's a grand old flag" with "It's a brand new flag."

We're Melbourne. If we don't hold our tradition, what else have we got?

Posted
5 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Those were the days !!

Over in the Ponsford...

cheeseboard-hat.jpg

'Ere go Jim...  If your lucky, she-mite sit right in front of you.  nibble away, while you watch !

bon appétit

?

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Chook said:

Terrible idea. Right up there with a suggestion that we replace "It's a grand old flag" with "It's a brand new flag."

We're Melbourne. If we don't hold our tradition, what else have we got?

Traditions are built on ideas.

Good traditions are built on the back of accepted Great Ideas.

Should we all just continue to smoke ?

Should we all remain standing at the back of the cue when waiting for the train or bus.

.. and miss our spot altogether ?  sounds Melbourne/Mcc.

Times change, and so do people's thoughts, ideas, & values, as we all cross examine our past and its thinking,,,  as we grow.

Its time we shed our old bark, and grow another growth ring as we put on New Growth. 

We've been  'dormant',  in a self-imposed  'Winter'...  for far too long.

Edited by DV8

Posted
15 minutes ago, DV8 said:

Traditions are built on ideas.

Good traditions are built on the back of accepted Great Ideas.

Should we all just continue to smoke ?

Should we all remain standing at the back of the cue when waiting for the train or bus.

.. and miss our spot altogether ?  sounds Melbourne/Mcc.

Times change, and so do people's thoughts, ideas, & values, as we all cross examine our past and its thinking,,,  as we grow.

Its time we shed our old bark, and grow another growth ring as we put on New Growth. 

We've been  'dormant',  in a self-imposed  'Winter'...  for far too long.

I'm not saying "keep every tradition forever no matter what." I'm saying "If you've got nothing else, keep your tradition until you get something else."

Right now Melbourne has just 1 thing. History. Win 3 flags and I'll be a little warmer to changing our song. Until then we risk destroying the only thing we have going for us.

Posted
1 hour ago, Jumping Jack Clennett said:

The song is based on ye olde George M Cohan (a very famous vaudeville performer back when vaudeville was a thing) song "You're A Grand Old Flag". It's about the stars and stripes. Hack ptuih!! Cohan was the Michael Jackson of his day, only difference being his kids were never invited to hang around at the Melbourne Cup on a junket.

Original words:

You're a grand old flag,  you're a high flying flag
 And forever in peace may you wave.
 You're the emblem of  the land I love.
 The home of the free and the brave.
 Ev'ry heart beats true  'neath the Red, White and Blue,
 Where there's never a boast or brag.
 Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
 Keep your eye on the grand old flag.

It makes a bit more sense in that context.

(Cohan also wrote "The Yankee Doodle Boy" which was adopted as a club song by a horrible VFL/AFL club which shall remain nameless.)

Now for the replacement lines ...

The premiership's a calkwalk now   no ... doesn't scan

Camry Camry Camry ... no f**k that.

Give them the old heave-ho ... ditto

Or ....

While others quail, we will prevail...

With tooth and claw, win lose or draw...

Let others cower, we've DEMON POWER...

The others fear the DEMON CHEER...

OK not awesome but may serve as inspiration to others.

Consider yourselves inspired!

While fact checking this post, I came to the conclusion that the N Melb club song has possibly the lamest words ever writ. Christ!

Posted
7 minutes ago, Chook said:

I'm not saying "keep every tradition forever no matter what." I'm saying "If you've got nothing else, keep your tradition until you get something else."

Right now Melbourne has just 1 thing. History. Win 3 flags and I'll be a little warmer to changing our song. Until then we risk destroying the only thing we have going for us.

Pretty grim! 

Chook  thinks our  song is all we have going for us.

I reckon we’ve got a tough , dedicated, spirited team, which is very well led.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

The song is based on ye olde George M Cohan (a very famous vaudeville performer back when vaudeville was a thing) song "You're A Grand Old Flag". It's about the stars and stripes. Hack ptuih!! Cohan was the Michael Jackson of his day, only difference being his kids were never invited to hang around at the Melbourne Cup on a junket.

Original words:

You're a grand old flag,  you're a high flying flag
 And forever in peace may you wave.
 You're the emblem of  the land I love.
 The home of the free and the brave.
 Ev'ry heart beats true  'neath the Red, White and Blue,
 Where there's never a boast or brag.
 Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
 Keep your eye on the grand old flag.

It makes a bit more sense in that context.

(Cohan also wrote "The Yankee Doodle Boy" which was adopted as a club song by a horrible VFL/AFL club which shall remain nameless.)

Now for the replacement lines ...

The premiership's a calkwalk now   no ... doesn't scan

Camry Camry Camry ... no f**k that.

Give them the old heave-ho ... ditto

Or ....

While others quail, we will prevail...

With tooth and claw, win lose or draw...

Let others cower, we've DEMON POWER...

The others fear the DEMON CHEER...

OK not awesome but may serve as inspiration to others.

Consider yourselves inspired!

While fact checking this post, I came to the conclusion that the N Melb club song has possibly the lamest words ever writ. Christ!

Thanks,”Master R”.

I like the third and fourth suggestions best.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Chook said:

The Hawks lyrics, is one of the most uniting and driving set of lyrics going around;  & I have no doubt that when self doubt arises amongst them...  It helps them to stay positive and fight on as a united team.

It relaters in the 'present tense', so is always relevant to the current group.

I love our Tune......   but Our lyrics are about different times, different values.   About a club, a flag, an emblem, and our past.   (things) (almost possessions).

But not much about the players as a group, having a red hot go, and, the teams fight... fun... and love for club & one another.   (spiritually).

...  we need to write our own contemporary Story.

A dare... play this video with mute on,,,  and read the words as they appear,, with no sound.

... then replay with sound on.

Edited by DV8
Posted

Definitely agree about being back “Wanda we sing” with a vengeance!

I’ve also always enjoyed “should auld acquaintance be forgot” because it sounds like a kind of polite marketing attempt. As in, “Oh and by the way, if you just happen to forget about your team and want to switch to another team for some reason, then why not the red and the blue?” Always makes me chuckle thinking about it like that.