Posted
18 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Why is he on our list if we don't play him when Hogan is injured?

Pederson is not good enough to play AFL. 

You know how OD feels about Weideman, Jaded.  You can't pay any attention to it as it's gone beyond reasonable thought.

Weideman makes sense for Hogan to play the 1-2 role with Tom, especially as one of them will need to give Gawn a chop out in the ruck.

As you said earlier, the potential additions of Hibberd and Melksham will make us a much better side.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

You know how OD feels about Weideman, Jaded.  You can't pay any attention to it as it's gone beyond reasonable thought.

Weideman makes sense for Hogan to play the 1-2 role with Tom, especially as one of them will need to give Gawn a chop out in the ruck.

As you said earlier, the potential additions of Hibberd and Melksham will make us a much better side.

We have to stop TMac being the ruck chop-out.  He's our best forward by a long way.  I'd go for Weid.

What I wouldn't do is rely on Weid taking a contested pack mark inside 50!  McGovern will slaughter him.  This week of all weeks our mids needs to be hitting up leads going inside 50.  If we can do that we'll win easily, but a big if.

Posted
49 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Why is he on our list if we don't play him when Hogan is injured?

Pederson is not good enough to play AFL. 

In every senior game he has played like he has had no preserence whatsoever . Just look at his stats he has rarely been above double figures. 

At VFL he has struggled to produce 10 good games and everyone of them is against the low lights of the competition.

IMO he is either a very slow developer or just not a good VFL player.

I think he should play out the season at Casey and then see what another pre season produces.

But right now IMO he is not a senior level player, Hannan will be much more use.

While Hannan is shorter he has shown at times he can take the big mark and make the big play at senior level. 

Posted

i still don't get why Hannan isn't in our best 22?? very poised around goal and a natural footballer.. pretty sure he doesn't have the yips in front of goal too often... Weed or Pedo is tough one... Pedo could maybe stay in and be used to stay exclusively on Mcgovern and to force a contest anytime he goes near it... i fear if Weed plays down there Mcgovern will be too strong and poised and cut off every long bomb.

Think Kent/Hannan/Melksham/Hibberd are definite must ins for HUNT SPARGO HOGAN NEAL BULLEN but no way bullen loses his spot lol

Posted
40 minutes ago, Watson11 said:

We have to stop TMac being the ruck chop-out.  He's our best forward by a long way.  I'd go for Weid.

What I wouldn't do is rely on Weid taking a contested pack mark inside 50!  McGovern will slaughter him.  This week of all weeks our mids needs to be hitting up leads going inside 50.  If we can do that we'll win easily, but a big if.

I think we still need to put someone on McGovern all day, unless he goes forward, someone like Hannan who is also good overhead. Ensure that even when he comes over to a contest he's always got someone directly on him to either help block his run or bring it to ground - it might be hard for Hannan as he seems like an attacker, but it needs to be a very defensive tag.

My in: Hannan, Weid, Melk & Hibberd

Outs: Hogan, Hunt, Spargo & JHK

Posted
5 minutes ago, Red and Blue realist said:

I think we still need to put someone on McGovern all day, unless he goes forward, someone like Hannan who is also good overhead. Ensure that even when he comes over to a contest he's always got someone directly on him to either help block his run or bring it to ground - it might be hard for Hannan as he seems like an attacker, but it needs to be a very defensive tag.

We will need to make McGovern accountable but a lot of this will be seen in our delivery inside 50. If we're going to bomb aimlessly again it will be Aliir all over again.

Posted

Hogan out requires some structural consideration. Which of T Mac, Weideman or Pedersen becomes the second ruck to provide Gawn with relief around the ground? All of them have had a go. In my opinion, T Mac would be the best relief option because of his ability to run and play more like a midfielder than the other two. But if he does that, it leaves either Weideman or Pederson as the sole key forward (unless we play them both...or neither of them, which is surely unlikely). Or are we better to keep T Mac permanently forward (the Hogan role) and have either Weideman or Pederson play the role that T Mac has been playing? My gut feel is keep T Mac doing what he's doing and have either Weideman or Pedersen play the Hogan role. 

Posted

The VFL watchers say Weid has been the best key forward the last six weeks, thats good enough for me.

In -   Weideman, Kent, Melksham, Hibberd, Hannan

Out -  JKH,  Garlett,  Hogan (inj), Pedersen, Hannan

Posted
4 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

The VFL watchers say Weid has been the best key forward the last six weeks, thats good enough for me.

Hannan can’t take a trick mate ?

Posted
6 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

Hannan get's selected and is then quickly told he's out, Trac?

Posted
4 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Sounds about right with Melbourne team selections this year 

Posted
6 minutes ago, MSFebey said:

Hannan can’t take a trick mate ?

4 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Oopsy.

Should read out - Pedersen ...    sorry Pedders.

Posted

Pedo out.  I would run Weid and TMac in the forward half, supported by Melk, Fritsch, Hannan and Jeffy.  ANB and VBD on connection to 50 duties.

Back half, Hibbo definitely in.  Hunt is out, and Pedo doesn't fit here either.  Don't have a Bernie or a Smith to bring back, so we may need some creative thinking in getting this done.  Kielty?  What about DJ?  Potentially I see Wagner as a reasonable fit that is not overly tall and reasonably athletic.  You would think that they will struggle forward without Kennedy, it is really Captain Darling and Will he Rioli? 

Out big problems are not having the high connector with Hogan out, Maxy on one leg, and any number of players down from last week.

My early changes:

Out:  Hogan, Pedo, Hunt, JKH

In:  Weid, Milky, Hibbo, Hannan

Posted (edited)

i'd like to see...

IN: hibberd, kent, melksham, weideman
OUT: hogan (injured), spargo, pedersen, hunt (injured)

in an ideal world we wouldn't have jkh or garlett running around for us this weekend, but if it was a choice btw them and bugg or an underdone hannan i'd go for them

B: Jetta - Frost - Hibberd
HB: Lewis - O Mac - Salem
? Jones - Brayshaw - JKH
HF: Petracca - T Mac - ANB
F: Melksham - Weideman - AVB
Foll: Gawn - Oliver - Harmes
I/c: Tyson - Kent - Fritsch - Garlett

who's left that's available if hibberd and melksham don't come in? wagner and bugg? oy vey...

Edited by whatwhatsaywhat

Posted (edited)

OUT: Hogan, Garlett, Jones, Pederson

IN: Melksham, Hibberd, Weeds, Hannan

Would rather Spargo than Garlett. When is Jeff's contract up? No more downhill skiers please.

Edited by praha
Posted
23 hours ago, Deespicable said:

Can I restate what I said several weeks ago when I watched Weid at training. The kid is no longer a kid - he looks the part. Weed now has some agility, he no longer has a David Neitz turning circle. He also has lateral vision. When I went down to training I thought, jeez, is Maynard back from injury, but no it was Weid - he now moves like a midfielder. Sure he's not mega-quick like Frosty or Clayton, but he's hardly slow now.

When he got his chance v St Kilda, he was part of a top-heavy forward line and blew it. For some reason he just didn't have the confidence to go back and nail his shots that day - but I suspect that day will come soon and hopefully he can turn it on in one of the next two games for us.

And then if the rules are changed to limit zones, he will be an even better player.

One man's misfortune is another's opportunity:  grasp it with both hands Sam and run with it.

Looking forward to you having a chance to prove the critics wrong.

Posted
5 hours ago, -Ⓥ- said:

o, you wouldn't swap Hogan for Weid?

Weed  has had his chances and one more at this stage of the season would be too much. He needs a summer of hard training and the development of real forward skills to get the ball in the first place. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Red and Blue realist said:

You want JKH out, who had the same possessions as ANB, but unlike ANB who turned over half of them, every one of JKH's were to our advantage. He took a few marks as well,  unlike ANB, who dropped the crucial one in the last that may have led to a goal and us close to hitting the lead. 

That was JKH's best game for us this season and one of ANB's worst and you want to drop JKH, who at least plays footy, in favour of a skilless runner.

WOW!

Posted

Hogan out is just another kick in the balls to what’s been a frustrating year. 

Sounds as though Weeds has been doing well at Casey in recent times, these are the moments that can make players if they have the guts to step up. 

I’m still of the opinion Spargo needs a rest or time at Casey, he’s young but he was awful last week and has been down in the second half of the year. 

In: Hibberd, Weeds, Kent, Melksham 

Out: Hunt (inj), Hogan (inj), Spargo, Pederson 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Pates said:

Hogan out is just another kick in the balls to what’s been a frustrating year. 

Sounds as though Weeds has been doing well at Casey in recent times, these are the moments that can make players if they have the guts to step up. 

I’m still of the opinion Spargo needs a rest or time at Casey, he’s young but he was awful last week and has been down in the second half of the year. 

In: Hibberd, Weeds, Kent, Melksham 

Out: Hunt (inj), Hogan (inj), Spargo, Pederson 

I reckon these may be the changes assuming Hibbo comes up. Spargo is not quick as other DL'ers have pointed out, nor are his tackles sticking.  JKH needs at least one more game. 

Posted
2 hours ago, praha said:

OUT: Hogan, Garlett, Jones, Pederson

IN: Melksham, Hibberd, Weeds, Hannan

Would rather Spargo than Garlett. When is Jeff's contract up? No more downhill skiers please.

You would rather the Captain out than the injured Hunt.

Posted (edited)

In: Hibberd ,Melk, Kent and the Bugg

Out: Hogan, GARLETT, JKH , Hunt

Fritz to Full Forward on the lead.

The Bugg to McGovern

Edited by shorty