Farewell Jack Watts

Trade Jack Watts or not? 477 members have voted

1. 1. Do we trade Jack Watts?

• Yes.
    • No.

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Nothin like a Jack Watts thread to make us all turn on one-another.

Go you good things!

24 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Whatever your grievances are with Paul Roos' comments, I think everyone on this board can agree that the last point is the most damning. A player of 9 years deserved to be told that up front. Screams of cowardliness by the FD not to tell the guy directly. 

tenor.gif

Man, reading this thread is making my head ache. We're eating our own here arent we. 

To summarise.

Either 1. we're incompetent fools, messed up how we moved on this and now were gonna get a bag of crisps trade. Watts is unique charecter and a champion about to blossom, loved by all, poorly communicated to...Stabbed in the back by blundering officials who stamped his papers years ago. 

Or 2./ Watts is soft, trains poorly, no leadership, no top ten finishes. Unfufilled talent, sidetracks the whole club, didnt take his chances. Goodwin marking his territory.

The trouble is I agree with each post on both sides as I read them!...hence I have a headache. Almost feels like a relationship break up. "I love you .......but I have to go"

16 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

you know they arent ...don't you......

Often in groups...some throw darts....some ARE the dartboard.

Anyone who wold suppose that a sporting club ( totally bereft of inflated egos...lol ) would be a perfectly normal workplace has to be kidding themselves.

But then ...even a perfectly normal workplace has its foibles. Footy clubs just pump them to more exalted levels.

It's the nature of the beast....quite appropriate for a Demon  environement

You are also talking about a club that has not lifted a cup in 53 years

Goodwin must rid the joint of any soft links if we are to succeed. 

He gets one chance to stamp the template

4 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Go you good things!

No biggie

I never liked the Watts haters anyways

5 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Absolutely. But i will bet my left ball that Goodwin didn’t just decide to get rid of JW. This has must have been brewing for a long time

and in Byron Bay it quite possibly still is SW.  Stone & Wood have certainly done a pretty good job of it

13 minutes ago, mo64 said:

I assume that's a hidden slur on Oliver?

If you are privy to such sensitive info about the goings on at the club, you are either trying to bignote yourself, or you have an axe to grind with the club.

Either way, I take what you have to say with a grain of salt, because all you are doing is mudraking.

Fine. No. Not a hidden slur on Oliver at all. Love him. He's a gun. But admires Jack to pieces. Probably more than anyone. 

But dont take anything i say as fact. Fine. 

I have been supporting the Club with this but if it's true that Jack heard indirectly about being put up for trade and was given no clue at his end of season review that is really poor and very disappointing. Process is really important and if not done properly can fuel all sorts of resentments. I would have thought PJ and the football department were better than that.

32 minutes ago, ChewyOnMyBoot said:

Yes i do but no i can't. Wouldnt put it on DL. And certainly not before im absolutely certain that the clubs sends him packing. Ultimately they have the final decision. But i know in Jacks mind he's not staying.

Maybe meet up for a cuppa once its all done. If you're in Melbourne

I think you need to be very careful. If you're a Melbourne Football Club supporter and member and truly care for this club and its future then you need to be aware of the potential damage your comments may have. If you're a friend, family member, acquaintance, team mate, member of management team etc . . .  of Jack Watts then you need to be equally careful not to betray the confidence placed in you. Your tone since you started posting has changed. Your agenda is clear. At the moment all you are doing is rubbishing the club, its coach and its footy dept boss. This club is so close to the ultimate success, with or without Jack Watts and my tolerance for anyone creating bad blood at this particular point in time is very low. You have every right to make your point but now its clear your agenda has surpassed the questioning of the club and is instead focused on discrediting it. Sue, Ron, Rusty, Beelzebub and Jumbo have been clear in their pro Watts stance but regularly posters here know that they love this footy club and should Jack leave, that love may well be tarnished but they'll still be here. Your loyalties are not as clear. I think we deserve a little transparency from you given the mountain of Jack Watts related posts you've provided since your recent arrival.

1 minute ago, Goodvibes said:

I think you need to be very careful. If you're a Melbourne Football Club supporter and member and truly care for this club and its future then you need to be aware of the potential damage your comments may have. If you're a friend, family member, acquaintance, team mate, member of management team etc . . .  of Jack Watts then you need to be equally careful not to betray the confidence placed in you. Your tone since you started posting has changed. Your agenda is clear. At the moment all you are doing is rubbishing the club, its coach and its footy dept boss. This club is so close to the ultimate success, with or without Jack Watts and my tolerance for anyone creating bad blood at this particular point in time is very low. You have every right to make your point but now its clear your agenda has surpassed the questioning of the club and is instead focused on discrediting it. Sue, Ron, Rusty, Beelzebub and Jumbo have been clear in their pro Watts stance but regularly posters here know that they love this footy club and should Jack leave, that love may well be tarnished but they'll still be here. Your loyalties are not as clear. I think we deserve a little transparency from you given the mountain of Jack Watts related posts you've provided since your recent arrival.

what IF the Club deserves to be brought under gaze ??

Do you think the FD plss champagne ?

We are only ever an assembly of humans...humans have faults.  Ponder that also

I admire your counsel here. Not all might suggest it warranted but we all get what we are all about...mostly.

then again I'm enormously respectful of an 7ft Wookie !! :) May the force be with us.....must more preferential than a farce ;)

16 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Go you good things!

it's been that sort of journey hasn't it.

who will be next I wonder

146 pages  wowewwwwww

i want Watts to stay. To be part of our success. I won’t argue again on the pros & cons 

But I applaud the passion shown by all

but no more insults

we are not Range Rover drivers who ski in the winter.

Remember we all love the MFC 

We are resilient 

We want that premiership

Go Demons

3 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

what IF the Club deserves to be brought under gaze ??

Do you think the FD plss champagne ?

We are only ever an assembly of humans...humans have faults.  Ponder that also

I admire your counsel here. Not all might suggest it warranted but we all get what we are all about...mostly.

then again I'm enormously respectful of an 7ft Wookie !! :) May the force be with us.....must more preferential than a farce ;)

The club should always be under a gaze. Loyal supporters like yourself have every right to question and vent. But the posts of ChewyOnMyBoot have moved beyond that in my opinion and have the potential on this forum and beyond to create resentment and a divide within the supporter group.

23 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

You are also talking about a club that has not lifted a cup in 53 years

Goodwin must rid the joint of any soft links if we are to succeed. 

He gets one chance to stamp the template

irony perhaps

two quick boundaries and jack has bounded to the lead.....mesmerising footwork.....will he still be there at stumps on day 2.....stay tuned

15 minutes ago, Goodvibes said:

The club should always be under a gaze. Loyal supporters like yourself have every right to question and vent. But the posts of ChewyOnMyBoot have moved beyond that in my opinion and have the potential on this forum and beyond to create resentment and a divide within the supporter group.

For me its more about posturing that you have knowledge to affirm a point yet unwilling to corroborate sources, or your own identity. And yes that does betray confidence, but its merely putting out your own truth without validity - so on a forum such as this, its hard for folk to give it credibility. And it feels unfair that you can assert certain things and link it to privilege knowledge  - and fall back on, well believe me or not.

Reminds me of this cracker of an album...from the year of beating Adelaide in the finals, then them holding aloft the cup..sigh.

Unknown.jpeg

1 hour ago, Deecisive said:

if Jack was running 6th in our b&F after 14 or so rounds, can someone tell me how long has Jack been in the rut for!

Great question.  The 'in a rut' comment was mindboggling.  Have I said I cannot believe we are doing this?

1 hour ago, ChewyOnMyBoot said:

I can understand that.

If Roos has come out with that then i know Jacks definitely going.

I can assure you that Jack is highly respected and deeply loved by most if not all of the young guns. Contrary to what the club puts out there. Will be interested to see how they recover. 

No one has said he has poor relationships with anyone, players, leadership group or coaches.

Jack Watts adds more to this team In it than out of it !

Don't care what Goodwin says this is the sort of decision that can split a club!

Roos is right on the money with his thoughts and is credible because he has won a premiership!

I think Geelong great fit for Jack 

Go for it son and good luck

From 

The messenger at Casey (yeah, you know who I am!!)

PF 

10 minutes ago, Goodvibes said:

I accept that view GV  I just never accept anything at face value. Maybe I've read too much Christie, too much Doyle...maybe Brown intrigues me too much and I cant help but feel Shakespearean ( and enjoy  bacon ) but I seldom believe anything anyone tells me lest anything in print or web etc.  Not much left to reference but the spaces between lines.

In its simplicity I dont think the club is anywhere close to being beyond reproach.  It has handled itself admirably in recent times but not without hiccups. For mine the current FD has f@18 all points on the board. I know it's heresy to suggest it's ridden coat-tails but that's my position. To me it fk'd up big time this season. That's not to be laid at Jack's feet . That's not to be Jacks  DCM !! But it's become such.,

Faceless men ( in a fashion )  sacrificing the most public player...wow !! Aztec proud !!

Am impressed with the MFC ??    what do you reckon ?  and yes...I'll still sing the song...of course

1 hour ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Whatever your grievances are with Paul Roos' comments, I think everyone on this board can agree that the last point is the most damning. A player of 9 years deserved to be told that up front. 

Disagree. From what I can see, not uncommon across the AFL once exit interviews are over and the players are no longer around the club. Player managers are there for a reason.

25 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

I have been supporting the Club with this but if it's true that Jack heard indirectly about being put up for trade and was given no clue at his end of season review that is really poor and very disappointing. Process is really important and if not done properly can fuel all sorts of resentments. I would have thought PJ and the football department were better than that.

Well put.

23 minutes ago, Goodvibes said:

As I quoted above - if it is the case that we sprung this on Watts after we started shopping him and didn't inform him of our intent - is there a good way for a poster to broach that subject?

I don't want to mirror the past but I remember when we told a few to pipe down about the Schwab reign, and a loud couple defended Neeld to the ridiculous end...

Again, I don't want to equate those times because I don't think they can be equated, but the lesson I learnt was that open and honest with your f-ups is healthy - don't get defensive, get better. 

I'm going to say it... I don't think we handled this well.

33 minutes ago, ChewyOnMyBoot said:

But admires Jack to pieces. Probably more than anyone. 

Irrelevant. To anything.

1 minute ago, picket fence said:

Jack Watts adds more to this team In it than out of it !

Haha sorry @picket fence im not picking on you but that line made me lol

1 minute ago, bing181 said:

Disagree. From what I can see, not uncommon across the AFL once exit interviews are over and the players are no longer around the club. Player managers are there for a reason.

[censored]!