Posted

You cannot step into the same river twice. You are not the same man, nor is it the same river.

Therefore, Dees by 22 points.

Posted

Skies looking a bit greyer as I grab the gear and head to the door.  I have hope.  Looking forward to seeing us play like we did against the dogs - I'm not sure we have played anywhere near our standard since then.  If we do, I will enjoy my afternoon at the G'

GO DEES!

Posted

Judging by the crowd,Melbournes fans are more successful ,urbane and sophisticated than any other team in the AFL.

Our female fans are the best looking in the AFL.

Port in the other hand look like they have just rolled up from a homeless shelter for the mentally deranged.Rough as guts .

Kochy can barely hide his disgust at his track suited cheer squad .

We are winning the fashion stakes already you will all be pleased to hear.

• Like 13
Posted (edited)

I've driven 25kms in a remote area just to log onto this thread.  It hasn't let me down.  Well done all contributors.  Love the optimism!  Fortunately I have access to Foxtel this arvo, otherwise I would have found a reason not to be in this part of the world.

I'm quietly confident of a win by a couple of goals.  Our pressure and 'never say die' attitude should get us across the line, I reckon, and once again have the media talking us up.

GO DEES!,

Edited by Deeoldfart
Afterthought

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Judging by the crowd,Melbournes fans are more successful ,urbane and sophisticated than any other team in the AFL.

Having attended games against all other clubs over the years I can confirm both the above are 100% correct.

Edited by Lord Travis
Posted
33 minutes ago, Demon Jack said:

I watched that game (don't judge me!). I'm unsure what that says about Port as West Coast were very average that day.

Exactly 

Posted

Just arrived at the G, a mate ran into Ben Matthews and was told Viney a certain starter. In saying that, Pedders was just out there warming up for a few minutes.

Posted (edited)
35 minutes ago, BigFez said:

What's the weather doing in Melbourne today?

Good, no rain forcast and hope the sun stays out.

Also well done to watts on his 150th and lets hope we see another 150

Edited by dees189227

Posted
4 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

We have never won on a return game from Darwin... we will find out today if thats just cos we have been such a poor team for many years or if the trip drains the players.

Although we have changed a quarter of the squad from last week, four of those guys are returning from injuries and haven't played in a few weeks at least.  The other guy hasn't played AFL in a year.

Interesting times ahead.

Didnt seem to affect the crows off a six day break last night so shouldnt affect us.

Posted
46 minutes ago, BigFez said:

What's the weather doing in Melbourne today?

Very windy

Posted
56 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Their win against West Coast 2 weeks ago probably their best for the year.

They were clearly the better flat-trackers on the day.

Posted
1 minute ago, Allen Jakovich said:

Very windy

can you talk LOUDER....it's VERY WINDY !! :P 

Posted
37 minutes ago, Kumamoto_Ken said:

Bernie Vince to be guest speaker at the Interstate Members function. I assume that's a club-imposed punishment.

Have you gone over KK?

Posted

Am watching from afar - Siem Reap in Cambodia. I note that clown Maggot 15 is listed to run around and impose himself on the contest. Not a good sign. Despite that, go Dees, and both Jacks on their special days. A massive day - not the be all and end all, but a win could really set up the rest of the year. Go Dees!

Posted
Just now, Call Me What You Will said:

Am watching from afar - Siem Reap in Cambodia. I note that clown Maggot 15 is listed to run around and impose himself on the contest. Not a good sign. Despite that, go Dees, and both Jacks on their special days. A massive day - not the be all and end all, but a win could really set up the rest of the year. Go Dees!

Yes, I think BHC is our biggest concern.

Posted

Wearing so many layers I feel like the Michelin man. At least 5 of them are MFC paraphernalia. Now just need the boys to bring the heat and light up a fire on the ground.

Stoked to see the return of Trenners today. 

Posted
1 minute ago, FireInTheBelly said:

Yes, I think BHC is our biggest concern.

I would put money on him picking out a free kick to a Port player at the first bounce.

Probably against Gawn.

Posted
20 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Good, no rain forcast and hope the sun stays out.

Also well done to watts on his 150th and lets hope we see another 150

Sun's gone home for the day me thinks.... As a player I wouldnt mind an Yze like jumper today :rolleyes:

Posted
1 minute ago, McQueen said:

I would put money on him picking out a free kick to a Port player at the first bounce.

Probably against Gawn.

Absolutely. Even if he's positioned 50 metres away in the forward line.

Look at meeeeeee

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Demonised said:

You cannot step into the same river twice. You are not the same man, nor is it the same river.

Therefore, Dees by 22 points.

Very philosophical for a Saturday.  I don't know what it all means, but I like the last part!

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter
Auto carrot and dislexia
Posted

Train arrives at Camberwell station and a phalanx of Dees supporters strut onto the train.

Just to add to the stereotype. 

Posted
57 minutes ago, Kumamoto_Ken said:

Bernie Vince to be guest speaker at the Interstate Members function. I assume that's a club-imposed punishment.

Bernie's punishment, your gain.  I'd love to hear him speak at one of those events.  Top bloke, layed back country attitude and has been great for the MFC.

His suspension was silly and I'm not sticking up for his actions on Betts, but I actually think his break is well timed in a sense.  I've thought he could use a few rested games this year and when you look at all the in's we have today, it might have been almost the ideal time anyway.  Without counting too many chickens, I recon Bernie is just the sort of player it would be good to have fresh and cherry ripe for finals.

Posted
53 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Port in the other hand look like they have just rolled up from a homeless shelter for the mentally deranged.Rough as guts .

Kochy can barely hide his disgust at his track suited cheer squad .

We are winning the fashion stakes already you will all be pleased to hear.

Special Robbie with the Power supporters Biff?