View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Round 15 Non MFC games

Bruce Macaveney today: 

"Hodge on the goal line."

"Hodge the quarterback."

"Hodge the goalkeeper."

"Hodge the old champ....ooooooooooooh"

.... Several seconds of silence on the broadcast where I assume all the other commentators exchanged awkward glances .

Then commentary resumes with BT saying "Sicily" with a big pause after. 

Edited by Robot Devil

And the bald umpire makes another mistake gifting Collingwood a goal

Essendon losing is a great result for us.

If Fremantle beats St Kilda (big if, of course) then at the end of this round there will be three teams out of the top 8 who are on 7 wins (they'll be St Kilda, the Dogs and Fremantle) and all of them will have a percentage under 100 (ours is 110%). Everyone else will be on 6 wins or fewer, which puts us two games (and percentage) clear of them all with 8 games to go.

If St Kilda wins, that pushes Fremantle down but puts St Kilda level with us. Still an OK result as it keeps Fremantle out of the way but with their awful percentage that hardly matters anyway.

Essendon losing is always a good result! One of Collingwood or Hawthorns season would be over after this match you would think. I wonder if Collingwood can lift and finish the season in 9th?

46 minutes ago, loges said:

And the bald umpire makes another mistake gifting Collingwood a goal

He and his mate all over the shop. Some very.....:rolleyes: decisions :unsure:

Watching Hawthorn v Collingwood. Shocking standard, so many turnovers and missed shots for goal. Not sure who I "want" to win. Kind of like the dilemna would I prefer cholera or typhoid.

My "enjoyment" is enhanced by the commentary team of Bruce "demented shrill" McAvaney and Brian "fat turd" Taylor. 

Going for the Hawks as I don't want St Kilda getting a top 5 draft pick

10 minutes ago, bingers said:

Watching Hawthorn v Collingwood. Shocking standard, so many turnovers and missed shots for goal. Not sure who I "want" to win. Kind of like the dilemna would I prefer cholera or typhoid.

My "enjoyment" is enhanced by the commentary team of Bruce "demented shrill" McAvaney and Brian "fat turd" Taylor. 

Maxwell though, knows his stuff.. only one with mike who does :rolleyes:

Pies gone...

hee hee hee

3 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

If freo win in officially happy

Hopefully they don't run out of steam in the last like they did last week. 

Essendrug hahahahhaah

Oh god,.  LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

23 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

No optimism from you, Clint?  That's so unlike you...

Well we are two for two this weekend - Blues got rolled to keep them well out of the hunt, and pretty much out of finals contention, while the Dogs getting rolled was excellent as well.  I reckon Freo are a chance at home and I will bow down to every God that is worshipped if the Lions pull off an upset over Essendon... but I don't think our luck will stretch that far!

God exists wiseblood. he's just f#@*&ing with us

I only first really noticed it against us. Hawthorn play this (illegal tactic i reckon ) of drifting a player towards the opposition guarding the mark. Quite often this player can all but shepherd the kicker. He surely can't be allowed there ?

Jeremy Howe if he couldn't mark he wouldn't be on an afl list cost the pies 2 crucial goals in last quarter 

How much longer can the Pies be stubborn for in terms of Buckley?  This loss today basically snuffs out any finals chance and they have consistently gone backwards under his coaching.  I know it's good to see them down and out while McGuire puts on a brave act for his mate, but they stink and are going absolutely nowhere.

It's fun to watch, though.

Someone should ask Taylor Adams if Dunn is really enjoying his footy in the last month.

Edited by Demon77

3 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

How much longer can the Pies be stubborn for in terms of Buckley?  This loss today basically snuffs out any finals chance and they have consistently gone backwards under his coaching.  I know it's good to see them down and out while McGuire puts on a brave act for his mate, but they stink and are going absolutely nowhere.

Yes and

Yes...lots of fun :P

some great stats coming out of pies-hawks:

1 minute ago, Wiseblood said:

you can't see bucks coaching them next year, surely

in fairness to bucks, he can't help it that so many of their players that are being paid a fortune either can't get a game (wells, mayne) or turn it over more than 50% of the time (treloar, adams)

moore really doesn't look that great - and their youth coming through is not that impressive; de goey is a bit like, say, brayshaw in that he's a nice long kick but expect him to hit up a target under pressure and he can't execute

elliot and fasolo are good small forwards as goalkickers, but they don't really apply defensive pressure so they keep getting burned with rebound all the time.

it's glorious to see them be so average

Howe back to his very worst. Turnovers by hand and foot were arguably the difference. No thanks. Pies loss means they are gone. Nothing to play for against us in the final round.Helpful. Be nice if Freo won but not vital.

• Author
15 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

I only first really noticed it against us. Hawthorn play this (illegal tactic i reckon ) of drifting a player towards the opposition guarding the mark. Quite often this player can all but shepherd the kicker. He surely can't be allowed there ?

noticed that last year. As you say it allows the kicker to run on easily past the mark and presumably kick past the zone.

No one seems to complain too much about it as I suppose it gives the non possession team an extra player in the zone. Certainly does not feel in the spirit of the game.