POST MATCH DISCUSSION - Round 5

How critical has losing Lewis for the last three weeks been. Unbelievable whats happened. THree games he probably would have helped us win. Injuries are killing us this year. Footy gods not smiling at us. 

1 minute ago, Abe said:

Injuries are killing us....that doesn't excuse a fade out like that.

Abe, I reckon it does mate. I can't think of a time a team has been 2 down on the bench for a half and won. Let alone one of them the only ruckman in the side.

We simply ran out of legs. The boys were just buggered. 

Can't recall a run with injuries quite like it. In big trouble now without a ruckman. Still think we are a very good team .Will get an exciting draft pick due to unfortunate circumstances.

I've loved this club for so long, but I can't do it anymore. Some clubs are just destined to suffer and we are that club.

Demons hey? You play far from that.

We were two down and out on our feet. It's a shitsandwhich but there was a lot to like. Oliver will be a champion for the club and we've found our rebound defender in Hibberd. No ruckman and we lose a forward early.

Just now, Diamond said:

Season over

Hard to argue though I understand the emotion.

Sober analysis says that is pretty well our season gone

The first 5 games (6 if you count next week) were our easy run. We needed to win 4 or 5 of those 6.

2 minutes ago, Forest Demon said:

Most unlucky 2-3 side ever I would say. One quarter aside against Fremantle, we have looked very good. 2 games we have lost a ruckman for 3 quarters.

But at the end of the day, we are 2-3, missing some key players, and in big trouble f letting this season get away from us.

Couldnt disagree more

we have been weak under pressure and have no excuses

3 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

What you suggest is irrelevant if we dont climb the ladder !

Why? Do you see us winning the flag this year? Watch Oliver and Petracca and tell me when you have seen two kids as good as those in an MFC jumper? Lets have another look at the age of our list. Would you take Richmond's over ours regardless of where we finish? How many of our best 18 were missing in your opinion tonight?

3 minutes ago, drdrake said:

Do we have our first round draft pick this year it will be a top 4 pick, no chance to win a game on the next 10 weeks with the lack of leadership and injuries we have

Did you even watch the game?

what a joke.

Just now, Return to Glory said:

We were two down and out on our feet. It's a shitsandwhich but there was a lot to like. Oliver will be a champion for the club and we've found our rebound defender in Hibberd. No ruckman and we lose a forward early.

That was the big one for me, RTG.  Without Watts as a target we allowed them to pick off many of our forward entries in the third term, and we did exceptionally well to push the lead out to 20 points in the third term.  Then we ran out of juice.

2 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

We failed to adjust to the contest.

What were you watching ?

Give me a spell,you take a forwards out of Richmonds side and their ruckman and you tell me what happens.  2 down for a half of footy was always going be a struggle, don't get me wrong JKH, Harmes, Tyson and at times ANB has shocking games.  It was a tremendous effort from the Dee's.

Yeah well ran out of puff and fit players. However decision making and disposal by hand and foot was terrible in second half. We gave up the ball time and time again. Backwards, sideways, every way but forward. Great pressure from the tigers but we gave up the ball every time.   So disappointing. 

Can't help be proud of the boys.  They were the 'walking wounded' (well those who could still stand and walk anyway) and gave everything they had to give. I'm obviously bitterly disappointed with the loss, but our boys showed a ton of character, which will take them a long, long way as the kids get games under their belt.

4 minutes ago, Abe said:

Injuries are killing us, was always going to be hard to run out the game though that doesn't excuse a fade out like that, again it's three fantastic quarters where we don't get value for our dominance and the opposition gets on a run and goes over the top of us 

It does excuse the fade out. Absolutely.

2 minutes ago, ding said:

Anyone proud of that rubbish is following the wrong side

Hope you are prepared for another loss next week because it almost guaranteed

Finals this years is out of the question. Good teams find a way to win regardless. We rarely find a way

Richmond are [censored] and they still beat us. Top 5 pick here we come.

You're a deadset plonker!!

2 minutes ago, Wells 11 said:

How critical has losing Lewis for the last three weeks been. Unbelievable whats happened. THree games he probably would have helped us win. Injuries are killing us this year. Footy gods not smiling at us. 

Lewis wasn't injured. He injured someone else.

Ffs when on earth is it going to be our turn every far king team gets their shot but us even richmond.

This is just pure bloody anguish cant even begin to imagine the loyals 1964 crew ah well another game this week to try again....

Just now, Return to Glory said:

No. We COULD have won with better set ups, players quicker to the ruck. How did they suddenly have space fwd ?

No apologists please

Dont know what to say.. 

We had good luck with injuries last year and now its our turn to cop our wack.

Sorry to say but we are not going to win alot more games this year due to pure and simple no pure ruckman. They are just simply important to a team structure.

Alot of our players looked cooked like Viney Jetta Jones etc..

I wasn't confident going but yeah... just shatterd.

none of our mids can kick the ball, or want to kick the ball:

oliver - 8 kicks, 24 handballs

jones - 7 kicks, 18 handballs

tyson - 9 kicks, 16 handballs

viney - 7 kicks, 16 handballs

anb - 10 kicks, 11 handballs

stretch - 9 kicks, 10 handballs

in wet weather football. disgraceful!

1 minute ago, hemingway said:

Yeah well ran out of puff and fit players. However decision making and disposal by hand and foot was terrible in second half. We gave up the ball time and time again. Backwards, sideways, every way but forward. Great pressure from the tigers but we gave up the ball every time.   So disappointing. 

We expected to kick long in the wet to a forward line that at most times should have had Hogan, Smith and Watt. How often was that possible in the second half?