Wiseblood 24,637 Posted July 17, 2019 Posted July 17, 2019 Is the kid going to be any good? If we miss out and he's only just a half decent player then I'm not fussed if we miss out. Quote
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted July 17, 2019 Posted July 17, 2019 39 minutes ago, Lord Nev said: I don't recall that quote being anywhere in the article I posted. Would you mind posting a screenshot? Attached screenshot from my phone. Has the quote I copy pasted as well as stating Kobe is part of Freos next gen academy. Looks very unlikely he’ll go anywhere but Freo if he’s good enough to make an afl list. 2 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted July 17, 2019 Posted July 17, 2019 44 minutes ago, Lord Nev said: I don't recall that quote being anywhere in the article I posted. Would you mind posting a screenshot? Was in the video clip attached to the article. Last 30 secs of clip 1 Quote
Roger Mellie 4,205 Posted July 17, 2019 Posted July 17, 2019 It appears to me that Jeff talks up Melbourne when he's here and Freo when there. I can understand that. I don't like it, but I understand he might do that. 3 Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted July 17, 2019 Posted July 17, 2019 32 minutes ago, Lord Travis said: Attached screenshot from my phone. Has the quote I copy pasted as well as stating Kobe is part of Freos next gen academy. Looks very unlikely he’ll go anywhere but Freo if he’s good enough to make an afl list. Thanks mate, I think the article might have been updated since I read it, couple of different versions of it online now. Quote
picket fence 18,188 Posted July 17, 2019 Posted July 17, 2019 I'll call this thread the "Peter Pan" thread Fanciful and delusional! When is the last time we have had a father son pick that has been ANY GOOD!! Come to our club??? Won't happen and time to think Logically Remember This is MFC! Quote
Earl Hood 6,167 Posted July 17, 2019 Posted July 17, 2019 13 minutes ago, picket fence said: I'll call this thread the "Peter Pan" thread Fanciful and delusional! When is the last time we have had a father son pick that has been ANY GOOD!! Come to our club??? Won't happen and time to think Logically Remember This is MFC! Viney? 4 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted July 17, 2019 Posted July 17, 2019 35 minutes ago, picket fence said: I'll call this thread the "Peter Pan" thread Fanciful and delusional! When is the last time we have had a father son pick that has been ANY GOOD!! Come to our club??? Won't happen and time to think Logically Remember This is MFC! I'll call your post the "Negative Nancy" post. What a pathetic, negative comment, Picket, regardless of Kobe's destination. 2 Quote
picket fence 18,188 Posted July 17, 2019 Posted July 17, 2019 1 hour ago, Moonshadow said: I'll call your post the "Negative Nancy" post. What a pathetic, negative comment, Picket, regardless of Kobe's destination. Reality suggests otherwise! Oh and yes we have JV well I'l let that just rest right there!! Quote
Philthy 284 Posted July 23, 2019 Posted July 23, 2019 Bad news my friends (and I really hope my source is wrong) Work with a bloke who is par of the Fremantle talent pathway and would be VERY surprised if Kobe Farmer doesn't elect to go as a father son for Freo ? It's only "his opinion" but after seeing him on the news in Freo colours the other week, I think our chances of getting him are slipping away. Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,389 Posted July 23, 2019 Posted July 23, 2019 (edited) Opinions are like buttholes. Nevertheless, Fremantle can have him, he’s not even that good. Edited July 23, 2019 by Ethan Tremblay Quote
SFebes 4,884 Posted July 23, 2019 Posted July 23, 2019 14 minutes ago, Philthy said: Bad news my friends (and I really hope my source is wrong) Work with a bloke who is par of the Fremantle talent pathway and would be VERY surprised if Kobe Farmer doesn't elect to go as a father son for Freo ? It's only "his opinion" but after seeing him on the news in Freo colours the other week, I think our chances of getting him are slipping away. We already basically know this, seeing as he is a part of their NGA. It's a feel good story, but he doesn't seem to be setting the world on fire either so no great loss. Quote
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted July 23, 2019 Posted July 23, 2019 This came to light over the past month. He's going to Freo if he’s good enough to make an AFL list. Mods merge this with existing Kobe thread. 1 Quote
Wrecker45 3,381 Posted October 13, 2019 Posted October 13, 2019 Where is Kobe Farmer? I reckon i was praying on Chris Johnson & Jack Viney for less time. Surely he is getting close to draft age? Quote
Mach5 4,768 Posted October 13, 2019 Posted October 13, 2019 10 minutes ago, Wrecker45 said: Where is Kobe Farmer? I reckon i was praying on Chris Johnson & Jack Viney for less time. Surely he is getting close to draft age? I’d give up. Cant recall if I’ve posted this on here before, but despite Jeff’s desire for Kobe to be a demon, Kobe’s mother is very unlikely to “allow” the kid to leave WA. Quote
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted October 13, 2019 Posted October 13, 2019 1 hour ago, Wrecker45 said: Where is Kobe Farmer? I reckon i was praying on Chris Johnson & Jack Viney for less time. Surely he is getting close to draft age? See above older posts. He’s part of Fremantle NGA, already trains with them, and Wiz now works for Freo as an ambassador. His family is settled in WA. His mum doesn’t want to move. If he’s good enough to make an AFL list, then he’s going to Freo as one of their elected NGA players. This thread should probably be closed now. Quote
Wrecker45 3,381 Posted October 13, 2019 Posted October 13, 2019 2 hours ago, Mach5 said: I’d give up. Cant recall if I’ve posted this on here before, but despite Jeff’s desire for Kobe to be a demon, Kobe’s mother is very unlikely to “allow” the kid to leave WA. Sorry mate I don’t read every post on demonland. I missed your post on this. With the Pickett thread it just reminded of a fellow indigenous player who made my 90’s. Quote
Pates 9,697 Posted October 13, 2019 Posted October 13, 2019 (edited) Sad that if he is good enough he won’t be following in his dad’s original footsteps. No doubt the Wiz played his best footy here but I’m 99% sure he ended up playing more at Freo in the end. He’s a WA kid so it’s understandable that he’d have a strong desire to remain there. Sucks but there ya go, could be that Jeff is also trying to create an almost bidding war between the Dees and Freo for him to give him a greater opportunity at getting onto an AFL list. Edited October 13, 2019 by Pates Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted October 13, 2019 Posted October 13, 2019 (edited) Yes, but they still have to find the points for him. Is his draft year 2020? Highly unlikely, but with all the academy and f/s nominees next year, some clubs may have to prioritise what they can take and what they might leave behind. All it takes is for a outsider club with an early pick to bid and it could stuff up a raft of planned selections. Other may know how many potential academy/fs Freo have next year, I'm not sure. We could do that this year with pick 3 and Tom Green. Makes GWS pay top price, or we get a bloody good player. Roosy did it by bidding for Mills when we got Clarry (thank christ) Edited October 13, 2019 by Moonshadow Quote
Pink Freud 378 Posted October 19, 2019 Posted October 19, 2019 On 10/13/2019 at 9:59 PM, Moonshadow said: Yes, but they still have to find the points for him. Is his draft year 2020? Highly unlikely, but with all the academy and f/s nominees next year, some clubs may have to prioritise what they can take and what they might leave behind. All it takes is for a outsider club with an early pick to bid and it could stuff up a raft of planned selections. Other may know how many potential academy/fs Freo have next year, I'm not sure. We could do that this year with pick 3 and Tom Green. Makes GWS pay top price, or we get a bloody good player. Roosy did it by bidding for Mills when we got Clarry (thank christ) If Fremantle are in the position where they have to prioritise whether they take him or not, then the reality is that if they decide not to take him, then he’s not much chop. It’s not sounding as if he’s setting the world on fire anyway. Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted October 19, 2019 Posted October 19, 2019 3 hours ago, Pink Freud said: If Fremantle are in the position where they have to prioritise whether they take him or not, then the reality is that if they decide not to take him, then he’s not much chop. True, but we are in trouble if we use Freo's talent scouting as a guide. They did well recruiting Sylvia, Bennell, McCarthy, etc Quote
Deecisive 1,709 Posted October 19, 2019 Posted October 19, 2019 demons just need to play well in 2020, show we are capable of winning a premiership and that may just change his mind a little. 1 Quote
ignition. 1,478 Posted February 25, 2020 Posted February 25, 2020 Does anyone know if Kobe made the WA U18 team as a bottom aged player this year? Or even if teams have been named yet? I'm certainly eager to see how he goes and can't help but wonder if the club still has him on their radar to come in a scoop him from the Dockers. Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,455 Posted February 25, 2020 Posted February 25, 2020 4 hours ago, ignition. said: Does anyone know if Kobe made the WA U18 team as a bottom aged player this year? Or even if teams have been named yet? I'm certainly eager to see how he goes and can't help but wonder if the club still has him on their radar to come in a scoop him from the Dockers. He did not make the WA team 1 2 Quote
TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted February 25, 2020 Posted February 25, 2020 A quick google search shows that he is well and truly a Fremantle recruit in waiting. (assuming, of course, he is good enough) Quote