FA & Trade Whispers

11 minutes ago, stuie said:

You know Mitchell and Lewis are different people yeah?

Knew I would get both of you replying. Yes I know they are two different people, but the same conversation started it.

While it's certainly flattering that Lewis would pick us, I'm glad this isn't going ahead. We have an abundance of slow, inside players, and while his experience and leadership would be valuable, it is not worth it IMO 

Just now, Redleg said:

Knew I would get both of you replying. Yes I know they are two different people, but the same conversation started it.

Lol... So you were trolling with your illogical posts again? Great...

BTW, did you hear Heeney is being traded? I mean, I assume he is because Tom Mitchell is.. They're completely different players, but I'm going to make the same assumption based on the fact they're on the same team that has salary cap issues...

the sad thing about the draft process is that the GWS will be able to continue to strip out the top players for many years to come by continuing to swapping players from the stockpile of high draft picks and continued access to their academy players. A side that finished in the finals has all of the top picks sown up once again.

Wow what an exciting day! We still havnt made any trades.

So how's Hibberd looking? Hopefully we get some progress on that soon.

1 minute ago, olisik said:

Shut it.

At the very worst, this whole Mitchell and Lewis business shows that Hawthorn may well be all over the place next season. That's still a good result IMO.

4 minutes ago, olisik said:

Groan.

If anyone is feeling slightly cynical and jaded with trade week then pop over to the MFC site and check out the Elise O'Dea interview. 

If there is a happier person on this planet at the moment I would be surprised. Just wants to play football, just wants to play for Melbourne, can't wipe the smile from her face. Love to see footy bringing such unadulterated joy.

We can't afford to give up pick 27 for Hibberd,because we will lose our 2nd rd pick in the kiddy draft. If Essendon accepts a 2nd rd draft for next year as we have offered then that would be great. Hibberd should be able to walk without any compensation becaue of the drug saga.

I wonder if we'd consider trading our 2017 first round pick and something to try and get a top 10 pick and land young English

he's very much a rory Lobb type who would be able to be a more than capable forward who is able to play in the ruck, he's loaded with talent and i reckon he'd be a great get if we could somehow swing that

if pick #29 doesn't get Hibberd over the line perhaps we could also offer a 2017 third round exchange with their 2017 fourth round or some sort of steak knive thing to sweaten the deal, i think they feel Hibberd is worth pick 25 and pick 29 just doesn't quite get it done. 

I am not discounting the change Lewis is still in play, he was clearly a long way down the path with Melbourne and he may genuinely see a better opportunity here, he'd definitely be in the AFL side and maybe a 4 year 2 of playing 2 of coaching type deal would offer him more security than what he currently has/ is getting at the Hawks.

I reckon we would be following this Tom Rockliff situation closely, he's a quality player who i think has mentally suffered from being Captain of a terrible side that has been going nowhere for a little while now, watching coaches get sacked and so on, if he came in without the leadership to worry about i think he could really add to our side, he's the right age and could potentially be a bargain pick up if the Lions actively WANT to trade him they may consider a deal involving Dunn and our second round pick, potential for a real value pick up if i am reading the situation correctly. ( Tom would obviously have to accept less than the 800k or whatever he's asking) 

obviously this is hypothetical, but i think this trade period has the potential to take a really positive turn, especially after the great news of Dom and Jesse re-signing with the club. 

Robbo (who is actually mates with Lewis): “I always thought it was going to be a problem at Hawthorn because when you put together a list you’ve got to pay players unders ..He (O’Meara) is going to get $750k and he’s been playing football for five minutes…ruffled some feathers? I thought that would hurt some Hawks players and clearly something’s happened with Jordan.”

Jordan Lewis approaches us? 2nd in the Hawks best & fairest, out of all the clubs, chooses us as his desired destination? Huh.

If only someone A-Grade like Koby Stevens would...

I'm actually really [censored] off that we didn't get Lewis. [censored] Clarko

3 hours ago, P-man said:

I've always thought Wines would leave Port. Whether it happens this off season or not, it just feels inevitable for some reason.

If he did come to Melbourne, how's this for a chain of events:

- Port supporters gloat about Wines over Toumpas

- Port supporters talk up their chances of luring Viney

- Port supporters boast about "de-Melbourning" Toumpas after picking him up

- Viney re-signs with Melbourne

- Toumpas fails and gets delisted (likely)

- Wines leaves Port to join Viney at Melbourne

Mm. Tasty.

Wines is more likely to make his way to Carlton.

Cripps, Crouch, Wines and Murphy is a pretty decent core.

3 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

Jordan Lewis saw us first hand when we beat them while they were two games clear on top...  this is why every game matters, all 22 of them, even dead rubbers.

Now he is interested in coming to the MFC.....  I was cold on him coming an hour ago for the simple fact of where does he fit in.. but now I want him to come as it sends  a message to the AFL world, we are no joke anymore.

HH back-pedalling? Never. ;)

Just now, A F said:

Wines is more likely to make his way to Carlton.

Cripps, Crouch, Wines and Murphy is a pretty decent core.

HH back-pedalling? Never. ;)

Apparently Crouch has absolutely zero interest in playing for Carlton and, being under contract, he can veto a move.  

I am a renowned bull  shi tter. This I admit.

However, I have just scanned through parts of this thread. FMD!!!

Guessing, speculation, assertion, claims to inside knowledge, reliable sauces, chook raffles - it's all here - the  drama  of life unfolding before my very (bloodshot) eyes.

Aint demonland grand?

13 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Apparently Crouch has absolutely zero interest in playing for Carlton and, being under contract, he can veto a move.  

Good to hear, mate. Crouch looked increasingly promising as the season wore on. Still hold out some hope we may land him one day.

Not devastated we didn't get Lewis, more heartened that he approached us. Ah well back to Hibberd. Seems like Essendon are going to continue their form for being the worst club to trade with, after everything they've put him through you'd think they'd want to get the deal done quickly for him. 

So... are we talking absolutely no chance of a Lewis move?

So let me get this straight, Lewis management asks US if we r interested in Lewis, then we have a meeting, then offer a contract which is ACCEPTED in principle then the Hawks drop their pants and Lewis stays and renegs on our contract. 

If that is the way it happened then that does not sit well with me at all. 

Imo we were used and that really farts me off. 

Just now, DemonOX said:

So let me get this straight, Lewis management asks US if we r interested in Lewis, then we have a meeting, then offer a contract which is ACCEPTED in principle then the Hawks drop their pants and Lewis stays and renegs on our contract. 

If that is the way it happened then that does not sit well with me at all. 

Imo we were used and that really farts me off. 

That's what I'm thinking also.