Scott Thompson - Would we welcome him back?

On 7 September 2016 at 0:27 PM, stuie said:

Hmmmm wonder if that's to do with a possible coaching role or something to do with the Lions? (Or neither of course)

I wonder if it's neither.

On 8/29/2016 at 8:34 PM, KrazyJay said:

Just thought I would pass on a bit of banter that I heard over here in Adelaide on the 5aa sports show this afternoon... Regular segment on a Monday arvo where old man Cornesy joins Mark Bickley and Stephen Rowe and have a p155 and moan about how much Victoria hates SA footy and how both local teams went on the weekend.... blah....blah....blah...

But at the end of the show Cornesy was saying that Simon Goodwin has apparently made contact with his old mate Scott Thompson and asked him if he'd be keen for a 1 year playing contract for 2017 with a view to moving into a coaching position in 2018.... Has apparently been offered a low ball 1 year deal to stay a fruit loop

We lost the bloke for the best years of his career obviously but wondering what peoples thoughts are on the possibility of a reunion... Cornes did go on to say that his family is settled in Adelaide but all three blokes agreed that it would be a fantastic career move and a win for Melbourne ...

NO ! no and I'll say it again BIG NO he's nearly 34 !

My word today from someone who seems to have good info is that this is likely and will be assistant coach after one year

mainly related to his friendship with goodwin 

I'm not against it. Can't say im super excited by thr prospect but as a coah/mentor i think Thompson would def add value.

And it's kind of poetic, it wasnt long after he left things started to spiral at the mfc. So maybe by him retuning it's some.kind of complete circle and the mfc can move on to bigger and better things as a club.

Or maybe i need to lay off the booze... or get.more im undecided 

Scott Thompson or Harvey or Del Santo would be a good fit for the Dees,they are smart players and they are much better than Newton, Grimes, Trengove, Michie to name a few.

Chapman played for the Bombers and Stevie J for GWS both were/are good players for their new clubs. Neiher players were quick at their new club but they have the skill and footy smarts. 

No went to SCG last night he is cooked and when he gets it his disposal by foot is aimless. 

38 minutes ago, Robbie57 said:

No went to SCG last night he is cooked and when he gets it his disposal by foot is aimless. 

He had 7 clearances and 9 tackles in a hot game agains the most mature and hardened midfield in the league. This is the team that ragdolled us in the wet on the same ground earlier in the year. He was doing last night the things we were too "tired" to do well in the last two rounds. As a free hit under UFA it gives one year to protect and develop  Brayshaw and Oliver whilst we build up their midfield time. It also is good mitigation to injury from Jones, Tyson or Viney (who all had pretty clear runs). Worst case if form doesn't warrant he will not play all 22. 

No problem with Thompson but I think the likes of Dal Santo or even Harvey may give us more of an X factor.

Hard to judge on last night's game alone but while he got several clearances I do not recall many of them being well directed clearances. More like just pumping it forward. (Understand the Crows were under extreme pressure last night so he might be forgiven.)

If this is true it will more then likely come out this week considering Adelaide are out of the hunt now.  

I loved Scotty when he was with us and was really disappointed when he left (understood the reasons why).  But he's cooked.  I've watched him quite a bit this year and yes, he can still get his hands on it and do the odd clever thing but he was just going this year.  Happy to get someone experienced but it needs to be someone with more left in the tank than Scott.

5 minutes ago, Glenn Molloy said:

I loved Scotty when he was with us and was really disappointed when he left (understood the reasons why).  But he's cooked.  I've watched him quite a bit this year and yes, he can still get his hands on it and do the odd clever thing but he was just going this year.  Happy to get someone experienced but it needs to be someone with more left in the tank than Scott.

Maybe we should put him on a vegan diet and get him to do yoga over summer, work on being more flexible, light and nimble.. take off some weight, instead of doing weights?  Or we could recruit Nicky Dal instead, he's probably already doing all of that :P

5 hours ago, big_red_fire_engine said:

He had 7 clearances and 9 tackles in a hot game agains the most mature and hardened midfield in the league.

I think he drew even with Kieren Jack too. I don't think Adelaide's captain drew even or won their contest, Tex made no impact.

I almost feel for Adelaide a bit at the moment. They remind me of us 89-91. A good team, but not quite good enough to win the ultimate.  It's also hard to exactly put your finger on what they need to take the next step.

5 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

No problem with Thompson but I think the likes of Dal Santo or even Harvey may give us more of an X factor

I don't want any of them. I'd rather hope we're past recruiting ageing players just for experience's sake. It worked for a short time with Cross, but we have a much better list than three years ago and are developing beyond it.

Thompson is slow and he doesn't fill a hole in the team.

2 hours ago, AngryAtCasey said:

I almost feel for Adelaide a bit at the moment. They remind me of us 89-91. A good team, but not quite good enough to win the ultimate.  It's also hard to exactly put your finger on what they need to take the next step.

More aggression at their footy, to intimidate oppos.  And to instill a real hard self belief in themselves.  They are the kids of the backwater crows after all.  They have to get over that hurdle.

2 hours ago, AngryAtCasey said:

I almost feel for Adelaide a bit ...  It's also hard to exactly put your finger on what they need to take the next step.

Midfield.

Rory Sloane and ....

8 minutes ago, ProDee said:

Midfield.

Rory Sloane and ....

They identified this last night in the telecast. Said the Crouch boys needed to stand up, but even so, 3 players don't make a midfield 

Adelaide's weakness is definitely their midfield. Their KPP stocks are perfectly fine, although Tex had an absolute stinker last night.

If Sloane left they'd be screwed.

I don't feel for Adelaide and I have no problems him joining our list. If we can secure him for a year then it would be great. Watching him last night on the match there were a lot worse players than Scotttie!

On 9/13/2016 at 5:36 PM, Demons rising said:

My word today from someone who seems to have good info is that this is likely and will be assistant coach after one year

mainly related to his friendship with goodwin 

Christ TFO !! NO !!!

22 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Christ TFO !! NO !!!

Clear headed and calm as always F.

Youre a problems man, not a solutions one aren't you.

Ok, who is this ageing player going to replace??

1 minute ago, picket fence said:

Ok, who is this ageing player going to replace??

Jim Stynes!

No thanks.

He played OK in a team that was getting a beating. However, he will be 34 next year and will basically be a distraction to our development.

The football department should not to quickly recruit a mate of the coach.  They are not social club as per Stynes, Connolly and Schwab.  That worked well, didn't it.

The view is often expressed that you need to let the senior coach pick their own assistants and players so that they are not impeded in their plans.  But it seems to me that is mainly coverage of others back-sides for when it all goes pear-shaped.  Better that it doesn't go pear-shaped.

I don't think that he should be recruited for on-field leadership.  We should insist that the many 30+ plus game players show that or back to Casey with them. 

GC had a list full of tallented youngsters recruited 1 superstar and a heap of so-so middle aged players and hoped for the best.

GWS had a list full of tallented youngsters recuited a plethora of ageing player/coaches to work with them on the field.

Melbourne has a list full of tallented youngsters and has a decision to make. I know which blueprint I would follow.