Posted (edited)

Just thought I would pass on a bit of banter that I heard over here in Adelaide on the 5aa sports show this afternoon... Regular segment on a Monday arvo where old man Cornesy joins Mark Bickley and Stephen Rowe and have a p155 and moan about how much Victoria hates SA footy and how both local teams went on the weekend.... blah....blah....blah...

But at the end of the show Cornesy was saying that Simon Goodwin has apparently made contact with his old mate Scott Thompson and asked him if he'd be keen for a 1 year playing contract for 2017 with a view to moving into a coaching position in 2018.... Has apparently been offered a low ball 1 year deal to stay a fruit loop

We lost the bloke for the best years of his career obviously but wondering what peoples thoughts are on the possibility of a reunion... Cornes did go on to say that his family is settled in Adelaide but all three blokes agreed that it would be a fantastic career move and a win for Melbourne ...

Edited by KrazyJay

Posted

Interesting.

His form has definitely dropped this year from previous years.

Wouldn't be entirely opposed to it although he most certainly won't help address our lack of speed or foot-skills through the middle.

I'm not sure what to think really.

Posted

If we were to recruit an older midfielder i'd rather Dal Santo for his kicking ability.

Posted

Yes. We need all the leadership we can get, especially as we will likely get rid of Grimes, Dawes, Dunn and Garland.

Posted (edited)

The fact that we let him go in the first place and the player he became will always hurt.... 

The bloke has a fantastic football brain and as D9 said, his training habits are elite...

I would definitely entertain the idea myself!

Edited by KrazyJay

Posted

Ranked 7th in tackles in the AFL and 15th in clearances. Not a bad option. Free agent so "free" well it would be swapping him for Grimes as we'd get nothing for Grimes if we get him. 

GM K HB D M G B T HO FF FA AF * SC *
 Total 20 230 253 483 64 3 3 141 3 28 30 1,914 1,762
 Average 20 11.5 12.6 24.2 3.2 0.2 0.2 7.0 0.2 1.4 1.5 95.7 88.1

Posted

Absolutely, would walk into our midfield, great leader who would help teach our very young list

Posted

On another note, if he did come back with Dawes likely being delisted his number 6 guernsey would be waiting for him.

Posted
29 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Should never have let him go in the first place.

True but it was family issues that caused him to want/need to leave for Adelaide. Little we could do about that.

Posted

34 next year, can only play inside mid so it'd be a no from me. I'd prefer seeing brayshaw, Oliver, tracca etc get more time on the ball. 

Great player though and would happily have him as coach

Posted

guys are kidding surely

Posted
51 minutes ago, KrazyJay said:

Just thought I would pass on a bit of banter that I heard over here in Adelaide on the 5aa sports show this afternoon... Regular segment on a Monday arvo where old man Cornesy joins Mark Bickley and Stephen Rowe and have a p155 and moan about how much Victoria hates SA footy and how both local teams went on the weekend.... blah....blah....blah...

But at the end of the show Cornesy was saying that Simon Goodwin has apparently made contact with his old mate Scott Thompson and asked him if he'd be keen for a 1 year playing contract for 2017 with a view to moving into a coaching position in 2018.... Has apparently been offered a low ball 1 year deal to stay a fruit loop

We lost the bloke for the best years of his career obviously but wondering what peoples thoughts are on the possibility of a reunion... Cornes did go on to say that his family is settled in Adelaide but all three blokes agreed that it would be a fantastic career move and a win for Melbourne ...

Would take him every day of the week. Clearly his brother is okay...

Thompson and Harvey would significantly improve our gaping leadership chasm.

Posted

I wouldn't be against this move.

No harm in having a Cross type role player with such a young list.

It would all come.down to ability to get a deal done but it's a yes on face value from me

Posted (edited)
27 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

guys are kidding surely

He'll fit in nicely with the other retirees at the Demons Lifestyle Village. Dal Santo, Harvey, Petrie..

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted
17 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

He'll fit in nicely with the other retirees at the Demons Lifestyle Village. Dal Santo, Harvey, Petrie..

Wouldn't touch Dal Santo or Petrie...

Posted

Have to pass. We need to get games into all these kids we have so we can build a future core.

A team with a win now premiership window like Hawthorn,  Geelong would be best for a one year rental.

Posted
13 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Scarily AF, both have been suggested. I'd be more keen on Thompson if his form this season was as good as last but it wasn't. And and his age I can't him regaining form for next season. 

People said that about Steve Johnson too. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Should never have let him go in the first place.

Not sure we had much choice but none the less a huge loss. A gun and i reckon one of the most underated players in my considerable time of watching footy. 

I would love him to come home