Posted
2 minutes ago, Oneday said:

Just got a msg from a whorethorn mate, "we played shite, Frawley in and we would have choked you guys, you better thank the afl for your win, as the only reason your here is cause they bailed you out". He is cut deep, and I love it. Not even going to reply, just let him stew on it. 

I'd reply with :"grins"

Posted
1 minute ago, Clint Bizkit said:

So good to stick it up the pompous Hawthorn supporters around me, especially the old bloke in trackie dacks and runners.

Where's Jeff Kennett, surely Hawthorn are VFL standard?

Great call.

Posted (edited)

We've done a service to all humanity by making things a little bit harder for the Hawks. 

Max Gawn must now be a lock for all-Australian, which is nice.

So happy for Cameron Pederson, too.

Ahh, this is how a club regains respect - Hawthorn fans will resent us and be sooking all week, while every other club's supporters will love reminding them. This time it won't be 'ha ha, you lost to the rubbish team' like it was whenever we beat a strong club int he last 9 years, this time it will be 'you're on your way down and others are on their way up'.

Side note - O.Mac is still eligible for Rising Star nomination, maybe this 'breakout game' could earn him a nod?

Edited by Little Goffy
O.Mac note
Posted (edited)
13 minutes ago, bush demon said:

best win since elimination final v carlton, 2000, imo.

Best win since 1994 Qualifying final, 7th place Melbourne beating Carlton at the G. With Schwarz going nuts in the last half, it was his Wayne Carey moment. Me and my dad were having a great time. Similar match to this. Carlton were a really strong side that year and we showed up and dominated them out of nowhere, it was ecstatic.

Edited by johndemons
Posted

When Alexander Graham Bell invented the telephone he had two missed calls from Max Gawn.

Just saw this gem on the Bigfooty thread. Credit goes to RandB.

• Like 14

Posted
2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Oliver's game today was also a ripper, and further proof we need to trust the FD more.  He had 5 weeks out in the VFL, away from the spotlight, to work on areas of his game and freshen up, and look at the result.  They knew what they were doing and were rewarded for it.

Dito

Posted

This is a turning point for our club. 

Cant make the finals but beat a team who has won 3 flags in a row and chasing a 4th.

Best win for many years.

Posted

Take out Cyril and that was a 10 goal win.

Add some decent umpiring and its 12.

I think we have a pulse.

• Like 14
Posted (edited)

Wattsy, Big Max, Viney, Bernie made up for last week and then some. Some guys really took another step towards greatness.

Ive got no voice and and deep in this bourbon.

God damn what a win.

Edited by DSP

Posted

Watching streams of Hawks supporters leave with 3 minutes to go has now been entrenched in my mind for the amount of happiness it gave me.

• Like 19
Posted

DjdvaisvekdgsosbsoagakevebejeosbdteidneodnsosnsosnsoeneosgRwepemegdompddhfdldevldidbdkdbdmdbcbrygohobhpeendnffhcifnffnfcichdrwwjosxnksanvteejwpwoyfmkfbfkmfkcovgdjdbei!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Like 13
Posted
12 minutes ago, Oneday said:

Just got a msg from a whorethorn mate, "we played shite, Frawley in and we would have choked you guys, you better thank the afl for your win, as the only reason your here is cause they bailed you out". He is cut deep, and I love it. Not even going to reply, just let him stew on it. 

You got his number?.....I got a message for him.

Posted
13 minutes ago, Oneday said:

9 minutes ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said:

I'd reply with :"grins"

How about

"No Hogan, no Hawthorn"

Posted
1 minute ago, Ron Burgundy said:

DjdvaisvekdgsosbsoagakevebejeosbdteidneodnsosnsosnsoeneosgRwepemegdompddhfdldevldidbdkdbdmdbcbrygohobhpeendnffhcifnffnfcichdrwwjosxnksanvteejwpwoyfmkfbfkmfkcovgdjdbei!!!!!!!!!!!!

Easy for you to say!

Posted

Was listening to the last quarter on a packed team heading home from work. Crying, cheering, shouting I must've looked quite the nut job. 

My heart is overflowing with pride.

THIS is the win and THIS is the future! 

?❤️?❤️

Posted
2 minutes ago, DSP said:

Wattsy, Big Max, Viney, Bernie made up for last week and then some. Some guys really took another step towards greatness.

Ive got no voice and and deep in this bourbon.

God damn what a win.

Yep…that was 1 week & this is 1 week.

But what a significant boost to the mindset of our young charges.

The belief within the squad will soar & players looking to move clubs will take notice.

Posted

Oliver was absolutely sensational. Seriously. I watch him very closely and everytime he gets the ball the ability to just spot a player in a contest and release a handball is absolutely mouth watering. 

• Like 14
Posted

So Clarkson just used inexperience as an excuse for their loss today. The little person scrambling for excuses.

Posted

The laughter when the name "Melbourne" is mentioned, just stopped.

The embarrassment when you front up to work with the team sticker on the bumper has been erased.

Was on the road for all bar the last 25mins. Walked in the door to watch the friggen hawks take the lead, and assumed my normal position in front of the TV, with head in hands (God I hate hawthorn). My nervous little missus snuck off to another room, sensing the impending footy rage. 

After 5 brilliant goals on the trot, I now get to sit with her and troll the supporter sites and drink mass amounts of my whisky, while waiting for a replay.

Thank you Melbourne. My faith is restored.

Oh, and my sad sack brother owes the club a membership. Good times!

• Like 14
Posted
1 minute ago, faultydet said:

The laughter when the name "Melbourne" is mentioned, just stopped.

The embarrassment when you front up to work with the team sticker on the bumper has been erased.

Was on the road for all bar the last 25mins. Walked in the door to watch the friggen hawks take the lead, and assumed my normal position in front of the TV, with head in hands (God I hate hawthorn). My nervous little missus snuck off to another room, sensing the impending footy rage. 

After 5 brilliant goals on the trot, I now get to sit with her and troll the supporter sites and drink mass amounts of my whisky, while waiting for a replay.

Thank you Melbourne. My faith is restored.

Oh, and my sad sack brother owes the club a membership. Good times!

feels  good hey !

Posted (edited)

To hold the ladder leaders and the winners of the last three premierships to 1:3 in the last quarter and only one behind after the 11 minute mark is a magnificent achievement.

Edited by Diamond_Jim
Posted (edited)

Special mention  to Pederson. After a relative quiet first half he was brilliant in the final quarter.  And gave some great physical contests all day.