View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Posted

After being a valuable role player he has dropped of the face of the planet? Not on the injury list and not mentioned in the returning players media release?

Anyone know what his illness was when he was left out a few weeks back?

Despite the considerable improvement we have seen this season, the team selection in some of the games this year has been curious to say the least, and in my view it has absolutely compromised our performance in certain games (those games being against the Saints, Essendon and Port).

Pedersen may have missed the Port game due to match ups, but he's not the only player I'd like to know why they've gone missing. Dunn is another experienced player who's no longer in the mix.

Finally finding some depth seems to have troubled the match committee.

3 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Despite the considerable improvement we have seen this season, the team selection in some of the games this year has been curious to say the least, and in my view it has absolutely compromised our performance in certain games (those games being against the Saints, Essendon and Port).

Pedersen may have missed the Port game due to match ups, but he's not the only player I'd like to know why they've gone missing. Dunn is another experienced player who's no longer in the mix.

Or he could have been simply ill.......

1 hour ago, DemonWA said:

After being a valuable role player he has dropped of the face of the planet? Not on the injury list and not mentioned in the returning players media release?

Anyone know what his illness was when he was left out a few weeks back?

If the release is this one http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2016-06-01/trio-set-to-return-this-weekend  it was about players returning from injury.

Last year Pedersen seemed to be preferred over Dawes until he was out for the season, injured.  I don't think we can play both in the side now that we have Petracca and Watts in the forward line so it is either Pedersen or Dawes. 

Like you I am a fan of Pedersen and prefer him to Dawes.  However, Dawes will be allowed games as he is OOC and needs to show if he deserves another.  While DL's prefer we pick the best team it is likely the club will select some of the team on what I call 'List Management' reasons eg games into kids, OOC players getting a run, testing players in different positions, player development etc.  So Dawes will get a run ahead of Pedersen at some stage.

However, to increase our chances of winning more games, we have reached the stage where we must select the best team to win; 'List Management' selections can wait till later in the year!  So hopefully, Pedersen plays before Dawes.

Btw, you may like to change the spelling of Pedersen's name in the thread title.

1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

Or he could have been simply ill.......

yes....but Tyson who had the same affliction was included for the Port match whilst Pedersen was not (and hasn't been mentioned in despatches since).

10 minutes ago, Copuchas said:

yes....but Tyson who had the same affliction was included for the Port match whilst Pedersen was not (and hasn't been mentioned in despatches since).

Two things.

1. Not everyone recovers from illness at the same rate.

2. Casey had a bye last week, so there were several other players that we didn't hear anything about either that weren't named in the 25 last week.

He was sick two weeks ago and I would assume didn't get better quick enough. If he was running around for Casey I would start to ask the questions you are but he isn't (at this point).

I think we really missed having him against Port. That third marking tall in the forward line, and ability to have one back and one forward was something we sorely lacked. Oliver was the other I think we missed, which is great that he is so valuable but not so great that we are starting to really rely on a bloke who has played a handful of games.

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

And Tyson played like he still had thinflu against Port. Maybe he was nbelow par. Worst game I've seen him play.

His 1st rnd game wld also be close chook. Doesn't seem to do so well In return/1st up games. Maybe a week In the magoos might be a better option next time before he returns  

Pedersen is so important for our structure, we'll look a lot better when he is back in the side.

As for match ups I thought that would mainly dictate what our back six looks like, if someone is part of our forward set up I thought we would go with that player and let the opposition worry about it?

13 minutes ago, Nasher said:

3. Tyson played like he was still ill anyway.

He was...

• Author

So we assume he'll play VFL this week? I just find it strange that there have been almost daily updates about Olivers corky but silence when it comes to pedo. More over, Dawes is talked about in the selection discussion / news articles but with no discussion about pedersons 'illness' etc

Seems weird - he was actually playing really well before he went out. Would hate there to be something seriously wrong, but would hate it more if he were down the pecking order below Dawes.

19 minutes ago, Undeeterred said:

Seems weird - he was actually playing really well before he went out. Would hate there to be something seriously wrong, but would hate it more if he were down the pecking order below Dawes.

If Dawes plays well on Saurday it will be difficult for Pedo to get back in, unless he gets a go in the back line

1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

If Dawes plays well on Saurday it will be difficult for Pedo to get back in, unless he gets a go in the back line

Yep, you're probably right. But still seems like it happened incredibly quickly. I don't think Dawes is a long term bet, though.

I think Pedo was playing okay before he went out.  7 games, 5 goals, ave 14 touches, 2 tackles.  not great stats.  but he did provide a target, took some marks and put some physical pressure on.  so he was playing well enough to keep his spot (just) but not well enough to be automatic in (in my opinion)

im happy to see what Dawes can provide - assuming he has his body right! regardless of how dawes plays, I reckon he will be in for a few weeks 

regardless a quality KPF/2nd ruck should be on the list for a trade target.  Hoges is doing it on his own with help from Watts

Somewhat fresh start for Dawes. Let's hope his 'old man' calves hold up. If he has a good show in the next run of games he might cement a spot. I look at the remainder of the year for him as being a test to prove his value to the team. Hard to carry passengers anymore, especially if they struggle to get on the park. Next year Weid will get more opportunities. Pedo is no world beater, but he gives everything and adds good versatility to team structures.

On 2 June 2016 at 5:58 AM, Ron Burgundy said:

I think a big part of that actually comes down to the fact we have the coaching handover happening. Roos has been dubbed selfish by some externally but I believe he is giving the younger players a chance to gain some experience and develop so Goodwin has more to work with going forward. It may have hurt us in some games but I see it as a positive and shows we have an eye to the future. I know we all want to win right now but by the end of the year, we will have a much better idea what O Mac, Hunt, Wagner, Stretch, etc are capable of. We have about 15 starters locked in and are trying to build depth and see who are our fringe players or who is capable.

Roos and the selection committee would be aware O Mac currently provides less than Dunn on any given week. However, it allows us to develop a tall that can be used going forward. If he can't show signs in a role, it also shows our recruiters what we need to look for at then end of the year. Taking a step back from week to week performance, it's actually astute selection. It confused/frustrated me earlier in the year but it is a logical process.

He has been named as an emergency, so must be over his illness. Might still be playing this weekend who knows. He is the only logical chopout for Big Max in the ruck. Watts has done ok in his absence but its not where we want him.

Had pneumonia, asked him at the Lions game, still sounded crook then so not surprised its taken a while to get back.

4 hours ago, mordja said:

Had pneumonia, asked him at the Lions game, still sounded crook then so not surprised its taken a while to get back.

surely that's something that the club/misson should have referred to in the injury update? pneumonia is pretty serious! wow..

How tall is pedo?

Now that it seems Dunn has fallen out of favour, he could be a good option to go down back and take on the big backmen that TMac struggles with. He has the size to do so.

On 02/06/2016 at 3:43 PM, Nasher said:

3. Tyson played like he was still ill anyway.

Apparently the flu this year is particularly nasty.

I got sick towards the end of my trip and it got me so bad, the doctor nearly didn't let me fly.

I also heard Tyson had a throat infection, which means around 10 days of antibiotics (plus maybe a couple of shots if they wanna kill it quickly) which is really tiring on the body. Could explain why he seemed so lackluster.