View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Michael Hurley

I mentioned it three hours ago that we should go after him, not that i'm the first. Is Robbo a member of all clubs forums? I'd be suitably impressed. "Are we making a play for Michael Hurley?" just seemed like the most glaringly obvious question to ask after yesterdays defensive effort. 

Does anyone love how the chrome tab has a melbourne icon next to the name Michael Hurley above ^^? 

Edited by johndemons

• Author
10 minutes ago, GCDee said:

Hypothetically if he wants to come to us, and doesn't/cannot void his contract what would you entertain in the form of a trade? 

Garland

15 minutes ago, GCDee said:

Hypothetically if he wants to come to us, and doesn't/cannot void his contract what would you entertain in the form of a trade? 

Open the offer with 2017 1st Round Pick & Dawes to help Daniher out and go from there.

Dodoro - We would like Petracca, Viney, Hogan and Oliver

We can package a 2nd rounder with Hurley as a sweetener 

They managed to get a decent pick for milkshakes from us and managed to make the saints fold regarding carslile.

I have full faith in the footy club now but I do worry how much we would have to give up....

Hopefully Hurley hates Essendon now after everything, tears up his contract and gives them the 2 finger salute walking out the door. 

21 minutes ago, GCDee said:

Considering that he signed in March 2012, and that WorkSafe imposed their heaviest sanctions against the club, and that he was banned for 12 months.

I have no doubt he or lawyers could argue that his contract is void, and if he is enticing a move at years end, he and his manager will be ready for a pre-organised exit.

8 minutes ago, AngryAtCasey said:

Open the offer with 2017 1st Round Pick & Dawes to help Daniher out and go from there.

why? he'll be a dfa

I hope he does walk and bombers get nothing, even if it's not to us I want to see at least 1 player walk from the club the bombers deserve it after what they put them through, and the bombers supporters sooking would be glorious 

3 minutes ago, brendan said:

I hope he does walk and bombers get nothing, even if it's not to us I want to see at least 1 player walk from the club the bombers deserve it after what they put them through, and the bombers supporters sooking would be glorious 

I'd be annoyed if they all come back next year 'on a mission' having gained a top 3 draft pick and leap frog us into finals.. 

Hurley leaving for nothing seems like a great way to end their punishment...

Especially if he comes to us ;)

19 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

why? he'll be a dfa

See below.

45 minutes ago, GCDee said:

Just the thought of dealing with Essendon for a trade with Hurley. 

ugh, they will demand Viney and Hogan as a start.

they thought Ryder was worth Wines or Wingard and a first round pick

2 hours ago, Redleg said:

Don't think we will go for Hurley unless he is a free agent.

Agree, don't give Essendrug an inch. Let alone even one of our scraps that will be delisted at the end of the year.

Edited by Demon Disciple

2 hours ago, GCDee said:

Melksham? :lol:

3 hours ago, schmuttt said:

If Robbo is saying he is a chance to leave it probably isn't far off the truth, he is a mad Bombers fan and wouldn't be passing on bad information about Essendon.

Except their innocence....

Haven't read every page so this may have been mentioned. Can Essendon rort the salary cap by paying its players "compensation"....??

How does the AFL differentiate?

Edited by Bombay Airconditioning

You can imagine this Club, Essendon, would be like Maxwell Smart's "Cone of Silence" joining the Joint( Hah, play on word) and Knights Templar expulsion trying to get out.

12 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Haven't read every page so this may have been mentioned. Can Essendon rort the salary cap by paying its players "compensation"....??

How does the AFL differentiate?

I have been wondering exactly the same thing. How is the compensation decided? Does the club get to negotiate and reach an out of court settlement? If so, what's to stop them paying a million and a half bucks to Heppell as compo and then putting him on, say, a $400k/year contract over 5 years?

2 hours ago, Peter Griffen said:

Just the thought of dealing with Essendon for a trade with Hurley.

I know, every time i think about it, i feel like i need a shower. Would Hurley truly be worth it?

My mail is that another AFL club has offered him squillions. Nup won't be coming to us!

Next!

7 minutes ago, picket fence said:

My mail is that another AFL club has offered him squillions. Nup won't be coming to us!

Next!

Thatcwould depend on who it was and what he wants. If he wants cash then he will go there, if he wants success and that team is at the bottom with no hope of climbing in the next few years then we are still in the hunt. 

14 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Hurley to Tigers for their 1st round pick #6 plus Ben Lennon

If he wants to go, that would be a good result for the bombers