Now for the Pies!

Posted

Whilst everybody is waiting with anticipation on next week's (away) game against Eesendrug, personally l cannot wait until until we meet Collingwood in Round Four's (away) game at the "G"! When we smash them by a massive margin, we will show Sydney, and the rest of the AFL, how it is done, to take us to the top of the AFL ladder! Four plus goals each to Hogan, Garlett, Watts and the freshly-unleashed Petracca!

p.s. Only query in having an unbeaten start to the season is maintaining our 'away' form against North in Round Three.

p.s. Round Four of the VFL is against Essendrug. Let's hope that our Casey boys can similarly hand out a football lesson.

No idea how you can look so far ahead when we have such a mouth watering game coming up next weekend.

The arrogance on the site at the moment is mind boggling. We've won 3 practice games against under done and under manned teams and we could've and probably should have lost yesterday. No doubt we have improved but we are not Hawthorn. We will get pantsed a few times this year. 

1 minute ago, Mr. White said:

The arrogance on the site at the moment is mind boggling. We've won 3 practice games against under done and under manned teams and we could've and probably should have lost yesterday. No doubt we have improved but we are not Hawthorn. We will get pantsed a few times this year. 

I dont think its arrogance....I just think after a lost decade, the first hint of a genuine rebirth is making us over excited.  We will get smashed a few times this year...but we are defnitely on the up. 

I can admit I got them wrong. Possibly read to much into their NAB cup win against Geelong. I had them taking care of Sydney last night. In hindsight they need a more experienced big body down back. My Magpie mate said tripple M Melbourne said two weeks ago that the Pies has approached Tmac's management, I think they would be wasting their time. Hurley will be at the Pies or Hawks next year. Apparently he's stopped training with the rest of them.

Last year we would have found a way to lose to the top up express, i bloody hope we've improved! should give them similar treatment to what the swans did to the Pies last night really.

North will be a challenge but not impossible to beat, while we haven't beaten them in a while we've been reasonably competitive against them so that's something!

9 hours ago, Wells 11 said:

I dont think its arrogance....I just think after a lost decade, the first hint of a genuine rebirth is making us over excited.  We will get smashed a few times this year...but we are defnitely on the up. 

The OP is arrogant though. I think we need to calm down a little bit.

I think I'm gonna find the arrogance of some MFC supporters harder to bare when things do take a real up turn, because the majority of them weren't there when we really needed them. The amount of bandwagoners there yesterday was staggering and none of them seem to understand the game. I hope they give their money to the club, but try and keep themselves a little grounded. 

9 hours ago, CBDees said:

Whilst everybody is waiting with anticipation on next week's (away) game against Eesendrug, personally l cannot wait until until we meet Collingwood in Round Four's (away) game at the "G"! When we smash them by a massive margin, we will show Sydney, and the rest of the AFL, how it is done, to take us to the top of the AFL ladder! Four plus goals each to Hogan, Garlett, Watts and the freshly-unleashed Petracca!

p.s. Only query in having an unbeaten start to the season is maintaining our 'away' form against North in Round Three.

p.s. Round Four of the VFL is against Essendrug. Let's hope that our Casey boys can similarly hand out a football lesson.

Here's hoping!!

10 hours ago, Mr. White said:

Port wasn't underdone (though chose to use fewer interchanges) and St Kilda was at completely full strength (and it was at Etihad, and we were undermanned). Don't discredit the pre-season wins and their importance in building confidence.

I'm already looking forward to resting all our players against Geelong in round 24 with top 4 already sewn up and still winning.

I'm taking it a step further and pondering who we should rest in round 23 on the eve of the finals. 

... fair dinkum. 

Exuberance rather than arrogance. We know more than most fans, that this can all turn back into shitsoup at the flick of the footy gods tail. 

So let's enjoy it. 

Round 4 Headline - "Rampaging Demons debone hapless Pies!"

Yeah I agree the arrogance is a bit concerning, but theres nothing surer than Jack Viney winning the Brownlow this year baring too many votes being stolen by N.Jones and Vince who should round out the top 3.

42 minutes ago, Pipefitter said:

I'm already looking forward to resting all our players against Geelong in round 24 with top 4 already sewn up and still winning.

We'd get done for tanking.

Collingwood might become the new Richmond. Held together by the same handful of elite players, but lacking the all-round ability to compete with top clubs.

What odds that Pendlebury, Sidebottom, Adams and Treloar will fill 4 of the top 5 B&F places at Collingwood for the next three years? That kind of stagnation is a 'Full Richmond'.

Collingwood DID NOT BEAT a top-6 team last year, and only two from the middle 6. Yep, the ultimate 'flat track bully' team.

Plus, they appear to have blown their drafting, OR, even better, their youth development has failed. If our Kennedy keeps up his newfound form, and Freeman at the Saints can turn it up, it would probably be a final humiliation for the Pies and for Buckley personally.

Is it any wonder that ol' Eddie has finally gone completely bonkers?

30 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

What odds that Pendlebury, Sidebottom, Adams and Treloar will fill 4 of the top 5 B&F places at Collingwood for the next three years? That kind of stagnation is a 'Full Richmond'.

With Jeremy Howe rounding out the five... oh wait. One of the stranger recruiting decisions of recent years.  Buckley  seems to like him- surely their opposition analyst would have been screaming NOOOOOO!!!!  

36 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

Collingwood might become the new Richmond. Held together by the same handful of elite players, but lacking the all-round ability to compete with top clubs.

Collingwood DID NOT BEAT a top-6 team last year, and only two from the middle 6. Yep, the ultimate 'flat track bully' team.

Plus, they appear to have blown their drafting, OR, even better, their youth development has failed. If our Kennedy keeps up his newfound form, and Freeman at the Saints can turn it up, it would probably be a final humiliation for the Pies and for Buckley personally.

Is it any wonder that ol' Eddie has finally gone completely bonkers?

Exactly why saying no to someone like Prestia is folly. We must keep swimming forward or we risk becoming stagnant. 

RE: Eddie. His ego is tied to the decision to back Buckley, so his presidency may well go down with Buckley.

Collingwood still can turn it on with the talent they have at the top end of their roster. Even with Swanny out I'm not pencilling in a win.

If the last 10 years has taught me anything it is don't count your chickens before they hatch. We have lost games we should win far too often in the past few seasons.

2 hours ago, Adzman said:

Collingwood still can turn it on with the talent they have at the top end of their roster. Even with Swanny out I'm not pencilling in a win.

If the last 10 years has taught me anything it is don't count your chickens before they hatch. We have lost games we should win far too often in the past few seasons.

Absolutely. Whether Melbourne beats Collingwoood will be up to Melbourne.

But in the meantime, it looks like Collingwood are doing a good job of beating Collingwood overall.

I love their slow slide.

Premier, Runner-up,, 4th, 6th, 11th, 12th... and now?

All done with total confidence.

And in the end, all somebody else's fault, too, I'm sure.

All I care about right now is smashing the drug cheats this Saturday

I don't know if we have the class of Sydney to smash the pies just yet but it will definitely be a close game all the way to the final siren this year.