Roos organises secret camp.

"We want you to feel bad,we want you to feel negative and then we want you to embrace that negativity."

Brett Stephens.

I think we have already mastered that one over the last 10 years.

t the final training session the players when mingling spoke of the camp. 11 hours of training woken up at 2 am 4 am etc all to challenge their mental and physical capabilities. Then on last friday the day after they get back they have a hard high intensity training session in the heat

"We want you to feel bad, we want you to feel negative and then we want you to embrace that negativity."

pic2297673.jpg.21259e2fe41690a46f9297d53

19 hours ago, Salems Lot said:

Surprised this is news;  don't get me wrong, it is great that they are doing this sort of thing but wouldn't 17 other clubs be doing similar things?  Just sayin..

I don't think they do, do they? Do the Hawks ever do altitude training? I like the idea of mixing it up but I get the feeling while this is great for first year players this is more directed at a handful of senior players who still don't get it. We as a team are still mentally weak and don't understand the need to come mentally switched on to play every week. The games against Carlton and Essendon said it all.

7 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

Who exactly is secretly camp?

Lots of blokes,including tradies and footy players,according to my gay mate.

Most Green voting inner urban trendies and whale rollers as well I'd wager.

Hope it works, great place to have a camp and given the temp. last week, can't be too bad overnight.

Maybe used to determine who will be in the leadership group.

I think the interchange cap is going to really test the young guys, probably good to know who's going to embrace the challenge and who's gunna sulk

2 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

I don't think they do, do they? Do the Hawks ever do altitude training? I like the idea of mixing it up but I get the feeling while this is great for first year players this is more directed at a handful of senior players who still don't get it. We as a team are still mentally weak and don't understand the need to come mentally switched on to play every week. The games against Carlton and Essendon said it all.

Yes BA isn't it funny that when you have upwards of 10 elite AFL footballers on your list who have been doing it for over 10 years, you don't need altitude, heat training or sleep deprivation stuff. Funny you just know how to in the ball and importantly you exactly where you team mates will be in traffic. You need to be fit but  if you control the ball for much of the game you usually look fit. If you are chasing all day you usually look unfit, despite your altitude and heat training! 

Good stuff i reckon, bring it Demons. You guys are on 300k+ per year, you have to expect the unexpected.

11 minutes ago, Earl Hood said:

Yes BA isn't it funny that when you have upwards of 10 elite AFL footballers on your list who have been doing it for over 10 years, you don't need altitude, heat training or sleep deprivation stuff. Funny you just know how to in the ball and importantly you exactly where you team mates will be in traffic. You need to be fit but  if you control the ball for much of the game you usually look fit. If you are chasing all day you usually look unfit, despite your altitude and heat training! 

Funny? It's called being accountable. It comes down to accountability and trust.

3 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

49 minutes ago, Earl Hood said:

They were really big on the Kokoda Track though 'Bombay & Earl'...

i reckon this altitude training will become really important when we start playing games on mt. kosciusko

4 hours ago, Biffen said:

Lots of blokes,including tradies and footy players,according to my gay mate.

Most Green voting inner urban trendies and whale rollers as well I'd wager.

Maybe even halfway house hustlers.

I'm a little disappointed no one managed get down to take some photos or provide an in depth review of the session. 

1 hour ago, Juicebox said:

I'm a little disappointed no one managed get down to take some photos or provide an in depth review of the session. 

That's why they held it in a venue not suitable for scooters.

love the idea, the players can play we know that, their mental attitude and confidence is the areas that they really need to work on. This type of camp sounds like it will assist in these areas.

The venue must have been like a minefield after an entire footy team took a dump with a shovel.

10 hours ago, rjay said:

Fair call, do we know what they're doing now or what the Bulldogs are doing? Did it work against Port in that they were over-trained and burnt out? 

I think our culture is still weak but getting better. I think we're 12 months away from real depth on our list, but I can't put a time frame on accountability. Senior players either through lack of skill or effort set a poor example, I'm talking about Grimes, Dawes, Watts, Garland, Dunn, H, Garlett. The ones who can play turn up about 8 times a year, the ones who lead can't play the game. Great teams have the advantage that if 5-6 players are having an off day there's enough talent out there to pick up the slack. We are now in a position where the majority of our better players are 23-24 or younger. By better I don't just mean their footy skills but more so their mental application. Until their body's fill out we can't expect to make finals. 

15 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

Maybe even halfway house hustlers.

You're thinking of the Park Hyatt.

We don't label people at the Gatwick-never enough time.

23 minutes ago, Biffen said:

You're thinking of the Park Hyatt.

We don't label people at the Gatwick-never enough time.

Biff you putting a bid in as it's now up for sale I hear.

1 hour ago, Cards13 said:

Biff you putting a bid in as it's now up for sale I hear.

He doesn't need to, the two female owners are part of his harem.