Looking at his interview on the mfc website he actually looks to have a decent build on him that could potentially fill into a power forward.

Obviously has enormous upside.

Looking at his interview on the mfc website he actually looks to have a decent build on him that could potentially fill into a power forward.

Obviously has enormous upiside.

:)

:blink:

I live locally and just happened to be meeting a mate at the tan today mid morning and walked by Goschs' and who do I see?

Christian Petracca and Jack Viney jogging a lap, having a kick to kick and even practising ground ball gets. No taping or support on Petracca's knee.

Three other guys down by the goals having shots for goal. 1 wearing an MFC singlet but I couldn't work out who he was. 1 quite clearly looked like Daniel McStay from the Lions, who's probably back in town and just having a kick. Likely mates with Petracca from Vic Metro days.

Anyway, at one stage McStay (or the McStay like figure) turns from down near the goals on to his left and kicks a good distanced kick out to Petracca, who not content to mark it normally spins around and marks it with both hands behind his back.

Found it!

Over to you GRRM.

Oooohhhhhhh Scotty.....

And why wouldn't Jacky Watts make me feel good?!

Did I find sarcasm when it wasn't intended? If that's the case, I apologise unreservedly to both you and Jack Watts.

No no trust your gut LaDe, just a little bit of Wattsy sacry from me. Thought I'd double down, should have left it alone :)

Sounds like a great pick up. Can't have too many players who are passionate about the club.

Wonder how long before he moves from VFL dev league to VFL proper? A decent chance to do so next year. If things go well he could leapfrog Max King.

I'm really looking forward to the training reports on Smith. Only 3 years out of the system and with great attributes he could quickly come on. Hopefully he is the missing link

yes, he will be an exciting one to watch his progress. fingers crossed

Hope to see him beat J.Howe to the free car, hopefully by standing on his head on QB.

Sounds like a musician.

Fresh from his European "Stand up and appreciate" tour here is Joel Smith with his number 1 hit; Believe.

I need a hobby

Sounds like a great pick up. Can't have too many players who are passionate about the club.

Wonder how long before he moves from VFL dev league to VFL proper? A decent chance to do so next year. If things go well he could leapfrog Max King.

At 191 cm probably not competing for the same - forward / ruck- spot as King.

Or do you mean, if he has dad's leaping ability, could fly over the 200cm King?

Smitty hasn't aged one bit!

His Dad was one of the most gutsy players I've seen......not just a spectacular mark.

He was prepared to stand in "the hole" and be crashed by the on rushing pack, time and time again( a bit like Steven Icke.

Didn't Shaun get smashed by that thug Lockett (when he was at the Swans) as he stood under a high ball coming into the backline?

Massively courageous player, loved watching him at the Dees.

SOS would know Trac from their basketball days obviously.

He might know Petracca from basketball too, if i recall correctly Tracca played some basketball for the Vic rep side

So, what are the rules for a Category B Rookie? Does he need to be upgraded like any other rookie if he is to play? For the purpose of playing list numbers, does he take one of the rookie spots? How many years can he stay on the list as a Category B Rookie?

Most of it's been covered, but here are the points:

- Not counted as part of the list for the purpose of player numbers (ie he's not one of the 44 listed players).

- His wages are not counted in our salary cap.

- We have him for an initial contract of 2 years. If we like him we can then add him to our Rookie list for a further two years.

- The same rules apply for upgrading him as for any other Rookie.

To qualify as a Category B Rookie a player can not have been a part of any Aussie Rules List for three years (pretty sure that's the limit) and I think they have to be playing another sport at the elite level. Playing Basketball for Australia obviously qualifies him. Blicavs at Geelong was trying out for the Olympic track and field team as a steeplechaser when he signed with them. There was a bit of talk earlier this year that Alex Keath wanted to get back into AFL. This is the route he would be taking as well, and I think he'd have his pick of pretty much every club in Victoria if he decides to do it.

So basically we get to sign him outside the drafting system, pay him whatever we like and he doesn't cost us anything in terms of salary cap or list composition for two years while we train him up and see if he can really play.

Most of it's been covered, but here are the points:

- Not counted as part of the list for the purpose of player numbers (ie he's not one of the 44 listed players).

- His wages are not counted in our salary cap.

- We have him for an initial contract of 2 years. If we like him we can then add him to our Rookie list for a further two years.

- The same rules apply for upgrading him as for any other Rookie.

To qualify as a Category B Rookie a player can not have been a part of any Aussie Rules List for three years (pretty sure that's the limit) and I think they have to be playing another sport at the elite level. Playing Basketball for Australia obviously qualifies him. Blicavs at Geelong was trying out for the Olympic track and field team as a steeplechaser when he signed with them. There was a bit of talk earlier this year that Alex Keath wanted to get back into AFL. This is the route he would be taking as well, and I think he'd have his pick of pretty much every club in Victoria if he decides to do it.

So basically we get to sign him outside the drafting system, pay him whatever we like and he doesn't cost us anything in terms of salary cap or list composition for two years while we train him up and see if he can really play.

By that criteria I have to admit there is little chance I will be selected as a Category B rookie. Bummer. Would have been quite the story.

SOS would know Trac from their basketball days obviously.

He might know Petracca from basketball too, if i recall correctly Tracca played some basketball for the Vic rep side

There's an echo in here.

oops I thought he said TMac, but on closer inspection it says Trac... thought the T Mac reference was odd

Moving right along....

Didn't Shaun get smashed by that thug Lockett (when he was at the Swans) as he stood under a high ball coming into the backline?

Massively courageous player, loved watching him at the Dees.

Smith got crunched lots of times, and Lockett might have done it, but I think you might be thinking of Sean Wight, who stood in the hole,yards in front of Plugger, on the MCG. Lockett knew he was too late to spoil, so ran full pelt , both knees up , and crashed his back.

I reckon it was worth 4 weeks, but the ump didn't even give him 50 m. It ranked with Judd's efforts , as one of the most vicious assaults I've seen on the footy field.

Smith got crunched lots of times, and Lockett might have done it, but I think you might be thinking of Sean Wight, who stood in the hole,yards in front of Plugger, on the MCG. Lockett knew he was too late to spoil, so ran full pelt , both knees up , and crashed his back.

I reckon it was worth 4 weeks, but the ump didn't even give him 50 m. It ranked with Judd's efforts , as one of the most vicious assaults I've seen on the footy field.

Nothing like Richie McCaw's effort on Saturday night that will be brushed off as playing with the spirit of rugby.

Thought i read somewhere that in an under 16s grand final Joel kicked something like 9 goals?

Smith got crunched lots of times, and Lockett might have done it.

JJ, one nasty one on SS (may have broken his jaw) was by one of Lockett's teammates - does it ring a bell?

Apart from the obvious appeal of a father-son from a great player of the past, and not playing footy for three years etc... I see this as a window into the new MFC. And by that I mean club, not playing list. We simply do not leak anymore. At all, unless the club thinks it is strategic to do so (think of all the Howe movement information that circulated. Pretty sure that was club inspired). The leading personnel AND the entire Board are a tight-knot closed shop who make decisions and act upon them without too much spin. Pesoally I love this new look MFC.

The recruiters have noticed this young kid, kept an eye on him for a long period, seen a raw potential with unknown limits, and have kept it totally quiet. Go back 5-10 years and we would have had his name up in lights with promos saying "Dees focus on father-son gun" or some such carp, with Herald-Sun photos, and banal interviews.

Out of all the trading we have done, which includes very shrewd planning to end up with picks 3 & 7, there is something about the ercruting of this young kid that excites me. A 6'3" quick young bloke who is quick, willing to learn, and is a raw talent. And most importatnly - at this point anyway - has no boundaries on his potential.

I can't wait to see what he becomes.

JJ, one nasty one on SS (may have broken his jaw) was by one of Lockett's teammates - does it ring a bell?

Only vague memories, Tim. Please remind me who hit him that time.

(was it that rough StKilda ruckman who later played for us? I can't think of his name)