Changes vs Cats

Bang Bang Bang

With Pedersen broken and Dawes underdone, we need to consider bringing in another ruckman to play as a makeshift forward (Jamar or Spencer). I don't love the idea of having two specialist rucks in the side, but it's a choice between a ruckman who might give us stuff all, or an out of form, cobwebby Dawes who might give us stuff all. Ugly.

Have to agree Nasher a real Sophie's choice

I think I would punt for option (A) as (b) is guaranteed.

I am usually really optimistic and watch the full game every week but this week I will make sure I am doing something else.

Changes don't matter we will most likely get smashed by 80pts - best case scenario is something like a 30pt loss.

Don't know why the MFC bothered with this match preview:

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2015-06-17/match-preview-geelong-v-melbourne

Maybe they don't want any Dees fans to rock up...

Anyone know if there is any snow yet?

There was a bit of a cold snap and snow making was in full swing with predictions of an early start to the season etc prior to QB weekend

THEN

the clouds came but no rain, this kept the temperatures up and now its raining

Much needed for the farmers and to refill underground aquifers but just washing the little man made snow back to the reservoirs.

Based on VFL report - Dawesy ended up kicked 1.1. He had 10 possessions and four tackles. Dawesy started slow, but he missed three weeks with a calf injury and it can be tough coming back to VFL level at times. Dawesy relies on that forward-mid connection, particularly playing that key position role. He worked his way into the role, even though he was on limited game time. He finished the game really strongly and took a couple of really good contested marks and kicked a really important goal late. He did what was needed from his point of view - it will be very interesting to see whether Roosy rushes him back, especially since you'd have to think that Gawn won't last the whole game if he's trying to keep up Blicavs - although I think Watts or Cross will probably man him after the ball up.

Personally I'd go option A and bring back Spencer, because he's mega fit and if it is close we can always give Gawny the subs vest and use Spencil on ball after the final break.

Playing two rucks also gives us the chance to really dominate hitouts and any advantage we need to take.

Sadly I'm of the view that Terlich (23rd man last week) will get Grimesy spot and I think Bail deserves his return after two big games and as sub he offers more options as to where he can play than Michie, who really is a central midfielder IMO.

I also think people calling for Neal-Bullen's omission after one week are forgetting he played in the graveyard position up forward - you can't compare disposals there with other midfielders.

To me the key match-up is getting Riley on Enright - he could end up starting a riot if he lays one of his pitbull tackles on him. I actually think Vince takes Caddy and Jack Viney gets Selwood. Our Jones will be tagged by Guthrie.

The big wide wings should suit Stretch and Watts, so if we can get over where we are playing and don't allow Mackie, Stevie J and Selwood to verbally intimidate us, then we can pull off an upset.

Out: Grimes, Pedo, Michie

In: Spencer, Terlich, Bail.

B: Jetta Dunn (Hawkins) Terlich

HB: Lumumba (Murdoch) T Mac (Kersten) Cross (Stevie J)

C: Watts Vince (Caddy) Stretch

HF: Riley (Enright) Spencer Brayshaw

F: Garlett Hogan Howe

Ru: Gawn Viney (Selwood) Jones (Guthrie)

Int: Neal-Bullen, Toumpas, Tyson

Sub: Bail

I thought Stretch showed a bit on the weekend. Certainly looked better then he did in his first two games.

He showed a bit and we love him because he is a f/s ..but i think he needs another pre season.

Looking at our (potential) back six this week, doesn't fill me with much hope. In fact, it tells me that we're going to give up at least 10 goals to turn over off half back and inside defensive 50. Dunn and Jetta are really the only two that can kick it.

However, I'm going down there for the sixth straight year. It's going to be ugly. Hoping we can string some good footy together though and tackle ferociously.

Edited by AdamFarr

Were back this week at the cattery, coming off a heartbreaking loss to the saints.. 2 more players to add to our ever growing list of injuries. our depth players forced to play this week have little/no game time in the AFL. & we're coming up against an in form geelong, confidence sky high after handling port. Plus it's Corey Enrights 300th game, which will ensure the players will be up & about.

if we can get within 60 points. I'd be relatively happy. but honestly I think this will get ugly.. & a 60+ point loss is on the cards.. so my value bet of the week. to at least come out of this with one positive.. is put $$ on Geelong to win by 60+ points.. paying an amazing $4.10 .. too good to be true IMO. & if the unexpected happens & we get within that margin.. the positive is we were relatively competitive from a Melbourne supporter perspective!

Looking at our (potential) back six this week, doesn't fill me with much hope. In fact, it tells me that we're going to give up at least 10 goals to turn over off half back and inside defensive 50. Dunn and Jetta are really the only two that can kick it.

However, I'm going down there for the sixth straight year. It's going to be ugly. Hoping we can string some good footy together though and tackle ferociously.

Do we take a punt and promote White from the rookie list to play off half back? Hasn't put a foot wrong at VFL level.

Why are people debating between Dawes and Spencer when Fitzy is by far the best option?

Because Fitz will be playing in the back 6 on Walker.

Why are people debating between Dawes and Spencer when Fitzy is by far the best option?

Fitzy has an adductor muscle strain (not related to playing tunnelball) and was rated doubtful - need a training report to know if he is a chance.

But given he has barely played as a forward this year, it might be better having someone who has. The Cats, because of their injuries will go small, so he's unlikely to have a match up down back.

It is also expected to be windy on Sunday - which means that it won't be conditions suited to Fitzy.

Spencer has rested forward a bit and did fairly well in the twos last week - plus it also means that when Gawn runs out of gas, we can sub him off and still have a ruckman.

Given the injury news today, and the fact there's still no news of anyother rookies being elevated, i'm now going with.

OUT: Grimes (inj), Pedersen (inj), Michie (was poor), Neal-Bullen (victim of lack of run)

IN: Bail (need run), Dawes (for Pedersen), Fitzpatrick (cover for the cats talls), Terlich (no other half back options on the senior list)

FB: Fitzpatrick, Dunn, Jetta

HB: Cross, T. McDonald, Terlich

C: Lumumba, Vince, Tyson

HF: Watts, Dawes, Bail

FF: Howe, Hogan, Garlett

FOLL: Gawn, Brayshaw, N. Jones

INT: Riley, Toumpas, Viney

SUB: Stretch

EMERG: Jamar, M. Jones, Neal-Bullen

Not Terlich!

Time to roll the Dice !

White to make his debut!

IMV this kid is gonna be a star!!

Whatever - I don't want them singing their song looking bored and fresh as daisies.

Sadly it is a big chance.

I think the only remedy jr is turn off before the song

I'm not putting myself through it, od.

I'm sanding back the roof of the HK panno.

Easily a better way to spend Sunday arvo.

I am lunching with my sister and sinking a few of her own Pinot's up Bbo's way jr

This post is a bit confusing to e honest with you, I personally do not think Dawes is as bad as the whole of demonland thinks, I do agree that he will drop several marks that he should take but he will definitely help to create space in the forward line for Jesse and also draw considerable attention. At the very least Dawes presents continually and it is something that we desperately need, because we have struggled with that get out kick from our back half. The thing that i reckon Dawes does really well in comparisson to most of our team is that when the ball is kicked to him he competes and breaks even, whether it is holding the ball in or forcing it accross the boundary. If Dawes is fit enough to play out the game he is brought in to CHF without question, and i think even if he is a little underdone he may well be brought in.

Highlighted stat is wrong.

We have seen how Fitzy goes as a permanent forward and he is uncompetitive and he is showing potential in the back half, so if there is a match up for him then it is fair to assume he will come in and hopefully continue to play his role/beat his opponents.

With Grimes out, maybe Michie can move to the back flank where he had limited success, but at the same time i am not overly convinced on his utput and still think i would prefer Jones and Bail in ahead of him.

JKH will not play, 50% game time in the Casey 2s does not equal AFL call up

EDIT: IN: Dawes, Bail

OUT:Pedo, Grimes

Sorry, what i meant is... stat is correct in terms of considering the genuine options for a KPF that i was highlighting. That is, you wouldn't put Garlett/JKH etc in as a KPF in at CHF.

So out of the options considered as "possibles" we have Pedo as No.1 for Marks i50 (ranked 2nd behind Hogan), Fitzy as No.2 (ranked 6), Dawes is 3rd (ranked 12) and then T-Mac 4th (ranked 18 as you would expect as a backman).

So i'm not necessarily endorsing Fitzy as THE option. I was saying we roll through each of those 3.... Fitzy (1st because Pedo is out injured), Pedo on return and even T-Mac for a game or 2 in the dead rubbers against mediocre opposition later in the year just to see if he can give us something and change things up a little. Did the same with Garland last year and did get something from it for a few games so worth a try IMO.

We haven't really seen how Fitzy goes as a permanent forward as for 1. he hasn't been able to hold down a regular game; 2. He has only played 3 matches so far this year, and 3. He has played a reasonable amount of that time switching between forward/back roles. What i'm saying is don't switch him. Let him settle for a few games at CHF and see how he and the forward line as a whole perform with him in it. It might be a disaster. But we wont know unless we try.

Just my opinion but I wouldn't put michie into a HBF role to replace grimes. Way too slow IMO. We need some run as we are already slow by foot off HB apart from T-Mac and H. Much more suited in the clinches and pushing forward occasionaly. And i think that's michie's problem. Might have some skills but struggles to get run both ways. Bail is an alternative as suggested but he is yet another NQR and we know what we are getting here. Michie really hasn't had a credible consistant run at it so far. If Bail and M Jones have been gifted so many games and really been non-performers in many of those then there's no reason why Michie shouldn't be given that chance for at least 2 to 3 as well before axing.

Not sure where your JKH reference is coming from as i certainly didn't suggest him as an "IN" at any point. I presently have him outside our top 22 along with Dawes. As mentioned, i don't believe Dawes offers us any value up forward from here. I would try him only at CHB for the remainder of this year (assuming he makes it back) and look at alternatives if no success. I've seen enough to suggest he is a yard or 2 too slow for the pace of AFL now and unable to make enough contests to impact the game. He was a reasonable decoy at the Pies but that was 4 to 5 years ago now and they were absolutely flying.

Idgaf who gets picked - I don't want another meek effort against these pricks.

I want them hurt.

Jumbo you do realise this is a blog site for the Melbourne Demons yes? :huh: