Posted
17 hours ago, Django said:

One will do for now, thanks.

Spot on. As a developing team the boys need to stay focused and take it one flag at a time.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Peter Griffen said:

Vince imo is a far better player since joining us than he was at the crows for all but one season, he's aged very well so far.

Definitely. The defensive roles he did in midfield last season in particular, were immense. Shutting down an opposition big gun while collecting 30 odd himself. Have to take your hat off to Roos and co for somewhat re-inventing him.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

7 goals for Jesse, thats gotta be the biggest bag a Demon has kicked since either Robbo or Neitz

Imagine not having Hogan out there today?

Would've been an annihilation.

Posted

That was a 100+-point loss without Hogan. Kent, Harmes, Frost, Watts and Garlett were all annihilated. No one else would have kicked goals. 

Posted

It was good to see Jesse find some form, pity about the end result though.

Good thing that May is out next week, Jesse could do another number on their defence, now if only everyone else decides to turn up next week, we may be a slight chance.

Posted
6 hours ago, Skuit said:

Spot on. As a developing team the boys need to stay focused and take it one flag at a time.

Come on mate, he missed that last one!

Posted
18 minutes ago, Undeeterred said:

Are people still going to complain about that run up and pretend Jesse isn't an accurate kick?

His quirky run up works for him, why try and fix something that isn't broken?

The more we try and tinker with it, the more it will screw him up.

Posted

The only shining light today for me. What a star.

Posted
12 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

Ok Ill go with 10..3

See you next time we play the Saints. :)

6 hours ago, Django said:

Great display from Hogan. I was shattered when he missed his 8th.

You and me both. lol

Posted
7 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

His quirky run up works for him, why try and fix something that isn't broken?

The more we try and tinker with it, the more it will screw him up.

I completely agree - have been saying the same for about two years.

Posted

his run up is fine cos - on the whole - his last five steps, his head positioning and his ball drop are very steady.

it's only when there's a slight deviation from these key last vital ingredients that it goes awry.

he's a bona fide superstar in the making. 26 games...it's freaky just how good he could potentially be.

Posted

He was red hot yesterday if we can continue to improve delivery to him he could be that 1 in a Lifetime player for us, not that I want to put to much pressure on him. He looks comfortable all over the ground and covers a lot of territory. What a STAR!!

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I think he likes playing at Docklands- kicked 6 there last year as well didn't he?

5. And from my memory they were all in the first half. He also had 5 to half time yesterday.

That 5 from last year was his PB until yesterday. Likes to play St Kilda and yeah, I reckon the quick deck suits him. It means we can get it down to him quickly and defenders don't have time to get back in numbers.

Edited by AdamFarr
Posted

I saw riewoldt kick 8 against us in a losing side in the early 2000s... When everyone knew he'd be a star but he was not quite there yet. We won, but somehow knew we wouldn't be winning a flag that year... And the saints left with big smiles on their faces. Fast forward almost 15 years and they're still smiling. Not as much as me though. The tables have turned. Just a mater of time now. And a matter of whether or not we can keep him in free agent era footy.

Posted
On 4/30/2016 at 4:40 PM, Petraccattack said:

7 goals for Jesse, thats gotta be the biggest bag a Demon has kicked since either Robbo or Neitz

Correct weight, Petrac. First Demon to kick 7 in a game since Robbo in Round 11, 2007. 

Posted
8 hours ago, The Song Formerly Known As said:

Must sign him. 

So, so lucky that Freo have turned to poo, otherwise, after yesterday and games like essendon, it would have been very easy for him to leave.

All teams lose sometimes. If he leaves because we don't play at our best from time to time, he's in for a very frustrating and unfulfilling career.

Posted
3 hours ago, Nasher said:

All teams lose sometimes. If he leaves because we don't play at our best from time to time, he's in for a very frustrating and unfulfilling career.

Twice in 5 games isn't "time to time" though, it's 40% of games. Not saying things won't improve but that's how things are as they stand. 

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.