New Leadership Group Announced

He's 188 compared to Dawes' 193cm, that's if you're talking height.

He must be standing on his soapbox then.

Smaller leadership group = more competition to be in it plus more responsibility when you are. Win win.

What a fantastic turnaround by Lynden Dunn - it was only a year ago that he seemed to be at the crossroads.

Congratulations - it shows what hard work, focus and good coaching can do.

Looking forward to another big year.

What a fantastic turnaround by Lynden Dunn - it was only a year ago that he seemed to be at the crossroads.

100% agree, I honestly think Dunn is my favorite player on our list (´・ω・`)

I think the test is whether the leadership group stand up in tough games, and get us across the line. Jones has shown this a number of times. Grimes was outstanding in the last quarter in Adelaide last year with some truly inspirational play. Likewise with Dunn several years ago when we won by three points in Brisbane when he kicked a couple of goals in the last quarter, one on the run from about 60 meters out.

Dawes has been great in some wins although in my eyes not quite consistent enough, but a very fine character.

Lumumba I'm not sure about, although I seem to remember he has played a couple of outstanding Grand Finals.

Cross is the one I don't agree with. I think he is yesterday's man. A fine character no doubt, a great trainer, but has come from a middle ranking club albeit with a few finals appearances. I would have thought someone like Dom Tyson would have been a much better choice, won us two games last year off his own boot in close finishes, and he IS the future of the Dees.

Melleadership620.jpg

How good does the guernsey look

Half of those guys need to learn how to push their chests out for photos. Grimes should be known henceforth as The Pirate for that sunken chest. But I fully agree yossarian, the guernsey looks unreal.

Cross is the one I don't agree with. I think he is yesterday's man. A fine character no doubt, a great trainer, but has come from a middle ranking club albeit with a few finals appearances. I would have thought someone like Dom Tyson would have been a much better choice, won us two games last year off his own boot in close finishes, and he IS the future of the Dees.

There's no rush.

The very reason Cross was brought to our club was to teach and inspire.

We've learnt from our mistakes.

Think about how much better prepared all of our young 'leaders in waiting' will be having learnt for a couple of years from these guys.

This is the perfect platform to unearth our next batch of leaders who will really take the club to new heights. Hogan, Viney, Bradshaw, Petracca, Salem etc.

We're in a great position.

Dunny Dunny Dunny Oi Oi Oi Dunny Oi Dunny Oi Dunny Dunny Dunny Oi OI Oi

Original hey!

Spot on assessment.

It surely must have been line ball between Matthew Bate and Dunn as to which one was to be cut just a few seasons ago.

Remarkable transformation by a player who seemed to be destined to be a classic 'journeyman' footballer.

Now commands respect as someone who is not only rarely beaten in one-on-one contests, but also provides run & drive out of defence.

Hopefully with a few more competent forwards and a quicker transition style of play, Lynden's ability to kick penetrating drop punts will frank his value to the team.

Congratulations on his elevation.

That leadership group is just spot on.

There is a massive difference between Paul Roos and Mark Neeld.
Common sense has prevailed and older, experienced heads are leading MFC.

Things are really looking up for our club.

Now our young kids can focus solely on football - as it should be.

These kids have a lot to learn, and they will do so without the distraction of leadership.

he IS the future of the Dees.

that's exactly right, which is why he will probably be in the LG in the FUTURE

right now it's about the PRESENT of the club

Dunny Dunny Dunny Oi Oi Oi Dunny Oi Dunny Oi Dunny Dunny Dunny Oi OI Oi

Original hey!

Go Dunny!

00A85727-47F0-4DC2-88A5-E4BFD113D919_zps

I think the test is whether the leadership group stand up in tough games, and get us across the line. Jones has shown this a number of times. Grimes was outstanding in the last quarter in Adelaide last year with some truly inspirational play. Likewise with Dunn several years ago when we won by three points in Brisbane when he kicked a couple of goals in the last quarter, one on the run from about 60 meters out.

Dawes has been great in some wins although in my eyes not quite consistent enough, but a very fine character.

Lumumba I'm not sure about, although I seem to remember he has played a couple of outstanding Grand Finals.

Yeah lets halter his development just like Trengove and Grimes :wacko:

Tyson still has a lot to learn and development. That's how good his upside is from what he showed last year. He is still a 21 year old with only 35 games experience. No need to burden the kid with any leadership titles.

Cross is in there because he sets the example on and off field. Just because he isn't the future like Tyson doesn't mean he shouldn't be in there. His knowledge and experience is very vital for our development and that's why he is in there. He is the type of bloke like James McDonald that when he talks you can hear a pin drop in the room. Very respected amongst the group

LOVE the balanced thoughtful approach! Each man a diiferent cat!! Reckon you will see a real team banding and bonding together this year!

Cross is in there because he sets the example on and off field. Just because he isn't the future like Tyson doesn't mean he shouldn't be in there. His knowledge and experience is very vital for our development and that's why he is in there. He is the type of bloke like James McDonald that when he talks you can hear a pin drop in the room. Very respected amongst the group

I badly wanted to get Crossy here and he certainly hasn't failed to deliver.

Haven't met him but would like to, just to thank him for coming to our club.

I badly wanted to get Crossy here and he certainly hasn't failed to deliver.

Haven't met him but would like to, just to thank him for coming to our club.

WB fans are still filthy that they got rid of him after 2013..

Ask any of them and not one single bad word to say about Crossy. They still love him and respect him highly.

WB fans are still filthy that they got rid of him after 2013..

Ask any of them and not one single bad word to say about Crossy. They still love him and respect him highly.

Yep without question!

Good to see Dunn as vice captain

Melleadership620.jpg

How good does the guernsey look

CD has lost a lot of weight.

He's looking super lean and has the wrong size jumper on. Also, it looks like he's trying to bring Wawrick Capper back in vogue.

Yeah lets halter his development just like Trengove and Grimes :wacko:

Tyson still has a lot to learn and development. That's how good his upside is from what he showed last year. He is still a 21 year old with only 35 games experience. No need to burden the kid with any leadership titles.

It begs the question why Grimes is still there then. Garland chose to concentrate on his footy. Can only assume he removed himself from being voted for. Debate raged yesterday in a training thread about certain peoples sudden ability to dispose of the footy. No excuses for anyone this year.
  • Author

It begs the question why Grimes is still there then. Garland chose to concentrate on his footy. Can only assume he removed himself from being voted for. Debate raged yesterday in a training thread about certain peoples sudden ability to dispose of the footy. No excuses for anyone this year.

I'm pretty sure Grimes wanted to remain in the leadership group. Col may not have or just may not have had the votes.

Roosy stated that Col stepped away to focus on his own game.

Half of those guys need to learn how to push their chests out for photos. Grimes should be known henceforth as The Pirate for that sunken chest. But I fully agree yossarian, the guernsey looks unreal.

Agree. The red and blue look bloody fantastic.

Best looking Guernsey in the competition.

I might be little biased.. :)