A crumbing forward, my kingdom for a crumbing forward

JKH will be going far earlier than that! we'd be a chance with pick 40 but he'll most likely be gone in the top 30

I don't think so, he will be the player most forget about. That gem.

Callinan would be best 22 but he's 30 turning 31 in December and surely that's too old for a guy who doesn't come with a large amount of positional flexibility or AFL experience. But he showed he was too good for state leagues and probably still is. I hope he gets a gig at a contender. Sydney are way out of depth players, would fit in well for a season.

Small Forward is a rather specialist position

Not a believer that a small forward has to be a certain height either

Your basically wasting a spot in the team if your developing a small forward who in reality is not in the best 22

You need someone who has goal sense , able to use both sides and be evasive

Then there is reading the play coming up the ground and off packs

Be able to stay on your feet and be strong at the hips enough to shrug tackles

If all that is hard enough you need a defensive side as well

Its really not a position you would actually train for

Your either a Farmer , Milne or a Daicos and just plain good at it right off the bat

Wingers would find working in a restricted space quite awkward

I think you would actually have better luck with an outside mid who had natural goal sneak instincts

Getting the ball in the forward 50 more often is what we should be aiming at before worrying about a crumbing goal sneak

They dont grow on trees and then you wont know until they play there

Ironically we already had one called Liam Jurrah

Alwyn Davey has been cut by the Dons. Is he worth a 1 or 2 year contract?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-30/dons-cut-alwyn-davey

Why not? Even though he was out-of-favour, Aaron always lifted the side when subbed on this year and Alwyn is a chip off the old block!

Let me think about it.

No.

My first reaction also, especially in light of recent efforts at the airport.

But as devils advocate...who have we got thats better .

hed have 2-3 years in him.. Fits the Roos mould .

Worth a contemplation I would have thought. His brother would know any back stories.

My first reaction also, especially in light of recent efforts at the airport.

But as devils advocate...who have we got thats better .

hed have 2-3 years in him.. Fits the Roos mould .

Worth a contemplation I would have thought. His brother would know any back stories.

A one trick pony, we won't take him.

Roos doesn't rate specialist small forwards so how does he fit the mould?

A one trick pony, we won't take him.

Roos doesn't rate specialist small forwards so how does he fit the mould?

Far from one trick. He has been known to roTate at times in the middle. Just not his specialty. Kicking goals is. THATS HANDY. Only two Dees kicked more this year !!!.

Hes a proven talent looking for games. Might appeal to Roost

Far from one trick. He has been known to roTate at times in the middle. Just not his specialty. Kicking goals is. THATS HANDY. Only two Dees kicked more this year !!!.

Hes a proven talent looking for games. Might appeal to Roost

Can't play up the ground, looks like a one trick pony to me and the tricks not that good. That's why he's gone.

I reckon there's 5 players that we could look to draft at Pick 57 that could fill this void, 3 of them midfielders who go forward, the other 2 forwards who we'd need to develop to be able to rotate through the midfield. In order of my prefernce that we draft the, would be:

Mitch Honeychurch (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 175cm, Weight: 65kg, DOB: 02/03/1995
Recruited from: Eastern Ranges
Style:
Player comparison:
Range: 30-rookie
Profile: Short, light bodied midfielder but provides some real inside grunt and hardness over the ball really winning the contested ball with the best of them. He’s got that real competitive, hard edge to him and from all reports is as hard a trainer as you’ll find. Honeychurch in addition to his ability inside the contest also displays excellent endurance and has that ability to find a combination of inside and outside ball. Has a burst of speed to him. Excellent at ground level as someone who can gather the footy off the ground effortlessly for a clean pickup. Is excellent in traffic and is a very quick thinker. Short kicking excellent and has the vision to find his targets inside 50, my main criticism with his kicking is that he can sometimes try to do too much with his longer kicks but any minor kinks over the medium-longer distances can be ironed out.

Dwayne Wilson (SA – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 178cm, Weight: 75kg, DOB: 17/01/1995
Recruited from: Sturt
Style: Danyle Pearce
Player comparison:
Range: 30-rookie
Profile: Wilson is a very damaging outside player who you just want the ball in the hands of. Has some genuine linebreaking pace and really takes the game on but then also has the damaging footskills to go with it. Has some penetration on his kick and on a wing any time he gets forward of centre he loves a goal and generally hits the scoreboard really doing some damage. He will need to get stronger and start winning his own ball more as he can really go quiet for stretches of games and lack consistency from game to game but when he’s up and going he can get his hands on it he’ll break games open.

Chris Cain (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 83kg, DOB: 14/07/1987
Recruited from: Port Melbourne
Style:
Player comparison: Sam Dywer
Range: late/rookie
Profile: Cain has been one of the better performed players in the VFL these past few seasons and seems finally hot on the radar of clubs this season. Cain is a midfielder with a nice skill set but also strong hands overhead allowing him to be a marking threat when he pushes forward. Athletically he’s above average with a nice combination of pace and endurance at his disposal.

Dayle Garlett (WA – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 77kg, DOB: 09/01/1994
Recruited from: Swan Districts Football Club
Style: Harley Bennell
Player comparison:
Range: 20-undrafted
Profile: Quality midfielder who can sneak forward and have an impact. Garlett has game-breaking pace and uses it to advantage with regularity and is willing to take running bounces and take the ball as far as the opposition let him. Decision making excellent and even when pressured or in congestion still makes the right decision most of the time. Finishing around goal good. Left footer with some nice penetration and hurt factor on his kick and hits his targets easily over a variety of distances. Can also use his right boot and use it well. Has the ability to really hit the scoreboard and be very damaging with the influence he can have on some games. Also when the ball hits the ground I like how he immediately has that quickness of mind and body to get to the ball quicker than everyone and quickly get the ball onto hit boot for a goal. Garlett is also very capable of winning his own ball and playing on the ball and not just outside. Dayle still needs to build more strength through the hips so that he can stand up in tackles, but there is a fair bit to like about his game. Also defensively can continue to get better to compliment his incredible offensive game. The main questions with Garlett are around his personality and attitude and if he can convince a club that he will keep his head down and not be a problem player he has the opportunity to get drafted.

or

Jarrod Stokes (NT – Fwd)
Height: 173cm, Weight: 74kg, DOB: 5/12/1994
Recruited from: Darwin Football Club
Style: Jeff Garlett
Player comparison:
Range: 50-rookie
Profile: Stokes is an extreme speedster of the Jeff Garlett variety. He has absolutely elite pace which he can use both offensively with ball in hand to burn guys off but then also defensively as that elite pressure player. Footskills and finishing ability around goal have improved making him more of a two way threat this year.

Reckon Stokes is certain to be there at Pick 57 and the other 4 are all 50/50 to be there when our pick comes around. They'd all fill our need well IMO.

I like the look of Ben Cavarra

I do think all 3 of our senior draft positions will be midfielders and the 4 rookie spots could be a place to fill some future needs

You have also got to take into account the strategy of who we take in next year and the likelihood of Stretch being a FS selection

IMO I would pick a Small Forward (Ben Cavarra) , Tall Defender (Hugh Beasley) and Ruckman to fill 3 of the 4 Rookie spots and the mandatory Mid for the final spot

If the Tassie Ruckman Toby Nankervis is still their at pick 57 in the main draft i would snap him up instead of another Mid however

Don't be at all surprised the FD has a another surprise selection aka Terlich