Posted

I just get frustrated with Neeld with constantly bringing in then dropping Sellar, Rodan etc and not giving Davis and, dare I say it, Cook and Gysberts (when they were around) a decent go at senior level just to see what happens. Sometimes they might not have shown enough consistency etc but if we're getting smashed and they're in the gun already, just experiment and give us something rather than keep bringing in spuds who are proven to be not much other than ordinary depth players.

I think Rodan is a fill in for when Viney isnt there

Also Cook wasn't even good enough for VFL let alone AFL... there was a reason he never played an AFL game - no muscle, no skills, not worthy of taking someone elses place

Posted

I've watched Davis a couple of times and I've really seen him struggle below his knees.

But, I agree, some of these boys need a chance, especially if they're tearing it up @ Casey.

My big concern with him is his kicking. I'll take the rest of the package. I think he shows a lot more than some of the guys who get a regular spot in the side and also can't kick.

Posted

I think Rodan is a fill in for when Viney isnt there

Also Cook wasn't even good enough for VFL let alone AFL... there was a reason he never played an AFL game - no muscle, no skills, not worthy of taking someone elses place

I'm not saying Cook would have ever made it, and I don't want to start up on him again, but I just reckon if you're team is struggling so badly just throw in a guy who hasn't played a game and say "right, you get 2 games, do something or you're off the list". We're going to get smashed anyway, if you're going to find out about the list, then find out about the whole list not just the guys who have already had 50+ games. Don't get me wrong, I think Cook was a massive spud, but I just can't understand the logic of continually playing these older hacks when we could experiment sometimes, it's not like we're trying to make the top 8 on percentage!

Posted

why? He dropped one mark and had one goal kicked on him. Everything else including his disposal was fine. We need more players who get set a task and do it. Probably top 5 to 10 who played today and not at all the problem with this team.

Same goes for Strauss. Maybe had a goal or two kicked on him but he got one back himself and won some contests down back. He also tried to run the ball. The run too far against him whilst close to 15 was a crazy decision in the scheme of the game

Thank god someone sees it. Sellar clearly won his dual with Lynch one of very few that beat their opponent. I love how people judge Sellar's game before he plays and refuse to look at his role and how his opponent performed.

In: Jamar, Watts, Jetta, Magner, Blease

Out: Spencer, Bail, Nicholson, Sylvia, Kent

Posted

I'm not saying Cook would have ever made it, and I don't want to start up on him again, but I just reckon if you're team is struggling so badly just throw in a guy who hasn't played a game and say "right, you get 2 games, do something or you're off the list". We're going to get smashed anyway, if you're going to find out about the list, then find out about the whole list not just the guys who have already had 50+ games. Don't get me wrong, I think Cook was a massive spud, but I just can't understand the logic of continually playing these older hacks when we could experiment sometimes, it's not like we're trying to make the top 8 on percentage!

How do you think the other players who had been busting their guts all year would have felt when a spud who struggled in the VFL reserves was gifted a game or two? It was easy to see Cook was in no way up to AFL footy.

Posted

Thank god someone sees it. Sellar clearly won his dual with Lynch one of very few that beat their opponent. I love how people judge Sellar's game before he plays and refuse to look at his role and how his opponent performed.

In: Jamar, Watts, Jetta, Magner, Blease

Out: Spencer, Bail, Nicholson, Sylvia, Kent

Definitely. Sellar is actually quite handy down back - everyone seems to have forgotten his last 10 games last year when he was doing pretty well. I don't rate him as a forward at all though.

Posted

How do you think the other players who had been busting their guts all year would have felt when a spud who struggled in the VFL reserves was gifted a game or two? It was easy to see Cook was in no way up to AFL footy.

They may have appreciated a week off from the carnage. As I said, he seemed a massive spud, but seems silly to me that a team getting smashed every week wouldn't try some left field things near the end of the season. Is percentage really important when you finish 17th?

Posted

They may have appreciated a week off from the carnage. As I said, he seemed a massive spud, but seems silly to me that a team getting smashed every week wouldn't try some left field things near the end of the season. Is percentage really important when you finish 17th?

Of course percentage didn't matter. However in a club where there was already enough issues with culture, gifting games to rubbish players at the expense of guys who have been working hard would cause detriment to the culture that we really don't need. The feeling among the players would have been bad enough already.

Posted

Of course percentage didn't matter. However in a club where there was already enough issues with culture, gifting games to rubbish players at the expense of guys who have been working hard would cause detriment to the culture that we really don't need. The feeling among the players would have been bad enough already.

I just reckon if you're open and honest about it and say "this is your one and only shot" then who knows? Plus, how often are players rested these days? It's a part of AFL.

Posted

You don't mean that P_Man......

Mate, we can all debate on the changes that should be made but there's very much a deck chair feel about it, and with the way selections are going at the moment, there's every chance none of us will be right. The cynic in me thinks Neeld chose a less experienced side last week in order to have that excuse at his disposal. Admittedly tin foil hat stuff, but the fact that thought is even entering my head means Neeld has completely lost me.

At this minute, I have zero faith in the ability of the coaching staff to assemble a 22 and motivating them to be capable of even competing with Richmond. Look at them. Most of them are playing like they couldn't give a rat's arse. Why should I? I've had it with this mob.

Posted

I just reckon if you're open and honest about it and say "this is your one and only shot" then who knows? Plus, how often are players rested these days? It's a part of AFL.

There is a part of your argument that I agree with (that it was almost worth a shot just to see how Cook would go) but I just hate the idea of gifting games to players who don't deserve it. It can breed such bad feeling and softness/laziness among players.

Posted

Give me 22 players that will lay a tackle, not 12...22.

22 players all helping one another with their efforts. & don't just present for a receive, run in & put on a heavy block sometimes.

Posted

Martin will be a worry in the first half, send someone, maybe a dunn, to him then. His second half's are very poor. So he isn't our main worry. If we curtail Cotchin, we will be within a shot of the win.

Don't worry demonchris we will play Martin into form in the second half! He will have his best second half for the season.

Posted (edited)

Jetta will come in. He should of been in last week and has now had a week off for nothing. If Dunn is to be kept a tagger it certainly can't be at AFL level. But if they do drop him it shows how dumb our ideas men have become. Dunn has showed form down back but to then change him to a tagger and then drop him would confuse and frustrate the hell out of him. Sellar is a backmen and not a bad one on the taller forwards. He should take Vickery if he plays. Will Magner be elevated this week? I hope so. Play dunn down back doing Watts's role. Play Watts forward he should get the second or third defender with Gawn and Dawes down there. T.Mac is out for two weeks please no Gilles.

In: Jetta,Watts,Magner,Davis

Out: Nicho,Mckenzie,Sylvia.T.Mac

Edited by cowboy_from_hell
Posted

Im really not looking forward to this week.

The only good thing is that it's on Sun avo so it doesn't ruin your weekend.

Posted

If we lose, neeld sinks further into the abyss, if we win this eventuality is only delayed

Posted

Mate, we can all debate on the changes that should be made but there's very much a deck chair feel about it, and with the way selections are going at the moment, there's every chance none of us will be right. The cynic in me thinks Neeld chose a less experienced side last week in order to have that excuse at his disposal. Admittedly tin foil hat stuff, but the fact that thought is even entering my head means Neeld has completely lost me.

At this minute, I have zero faith in the ability of the coaching staff to assemble a 22 and motivating them to be capable of even competing with Richmond. Look at them. Most of them are playing like they couldn't give a rat's arse. Why should I? I've had it with this mob.

You're not alone in any of this....

But, a rekindled effort this week will (may) bring you back?

Posted

You're not alone in any of this....

But, a rekindled effort this week will (may) bring you back?

Granted, and I've never left, but to say I'm disenchanted would be a massive understatement.

Posted

Jetta will come in. He should of been in last week and has now had a week off for nothing. If Dunn is to be kept a tagger it certainly can't be at AFL level. But if they do drop him it shows how dumb our ideas men have become. Dunn has showed form down back but to then change him to a tagger and then drop him would confuse and frustrate the hell out of him. Sellar is a backmen and not a bad one on the taller forwards. He should take Vickery if he plays. Will Magner be elevated this week? I hope so. Play dunn down back doing Watts's role. Play Watts forward he should get the second or third defender with Gawn and Dawes down there. T.Mac is out for two weeks please no Gilles.

In: Jetta,Watts,Magner,Davis

Out: Nicho,Mckenzie,Sylvia.T.Mac

Dunn seemed to play a great game on Judd... last week he was down, & seemed without focus, like the whole team.