Posted

For the record, from the man himself, Cook 195cm & 88kgs. Hoping to hold down the full forward role in Dees side start of next year.

88kgs!

You would hope that he would reach around 100kgs at some stage but he has put on about 7kg this year. That's an awesome effort. Hopefully he will be around 91 - 93 by the start of next year.

Unfortunately he has shrunk 1cm. :P

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/players/playerprofile/lucascook/tabid/8357/playerid/22237/category/senior/season/2012/selected/bio/default.aspx

Posted

The 2 key players putting up their hands in this game ...

1. Lucas Cook - must push for a CHF/FF role in 2012 (alongside Mitch Clark)

and

2. Ben Ross, 22 (Ex Kangas) , skilful onballer who would fit into Demons team. Possible rookie for 2012. Has class and ability to get the footy. Wasest onballer in recent VFL side agst Tassie. Could not get into Kangas with Swallow, Wells, Adams, Bastinac & Ziebell ahead. Has the tools to be an AFL player.

Posted

Spencer, Martin amd Bennell ( cannot believe I am saying this) from last weeks side are in Brisbane

Did we expect a lot more.

Two of the three played very good games and the third was ok.

Take them out and they are going to struggle.

Big surprise!

Posted

Spencer, Martin amd Bennell ( cannot believe I am saying this) from last weeks side are in Brisbane

Big surprise!

This is hell for Casey supporters, & is a strong reason for standalone AFL reserves sides.

This Issue is a big concern for footy, & I know many VFL died in their wool supporters who have given up on the VFL with all the disturbances. Changing affiliations, pulling players out for surgery as the finals are on, etc, etc.

These goings on are causing people who have followed the game for decades of they're lives to give it away.

Wakeup AFL & help the VFL competition, instead of milking it.

And start the VFL 3 weeks early, & finish the VFL Grand Final the week before the AFL PreLiminaries.

This ought to helpout with the practice matches & also the post season surgery's.

Posted

And start the VFL 3 weeks early, & finish the VFL Grand Final the week before the AFL PreLiminaries.

This ought to helpout with the practice matches & also the post season surgery's.

Good call, it happened last year with Casey where they got into the finals and we pulled all our players out for surgery and all the rest, and it crippled them.

I remember back when we were with Sandy we helped them to win 3 premierships, and I thought it created a strong bond with them but the moment we started doing what we're doing to Casey now it started to fall down.

I reckon your idea of starting and finishing early for the VFL is a very good idea.

Posted

Good call, it happened last year with Casey where they got into the finals and we pulled all our players out for surgery and all the rest, and it crippled them.

I remember back when we were with Sandy we helped them to win 3 premierships, and I thought it created a strong bond with them but the moment we started doing what we're doing to Casey now it started to fall down.

I reckon your idea of starting and finishing early for the VFL is a very good idea.

They're damaging the AFL Footy brand at grassroots level. Many people have left especially the long term supporters, the elders, the bearers of the game, & the holders of the traditions & values.

The game is being hijacked from the people.

We have too many ex footballers commentating, & they tends to represent the 'Tones' of footballers ans maybe sometimes don't get the desires of the Public. They differ occasionally.

The players now want to run the game from the AFL. They've been around for 10 minutes. They should wait til they've been out of the game 10 Years for a broader perspective.

The ones being forgotten are the watching public being trodden on all over the place.

# The AFL closing stands as 'reserved', when they're empty...

Posted

Big surprise!

Lets not ignore Jetta's first game back and Gysberts, Williams, Strauss second games back after long lay offs.

Posted

Something wasn't quite right today and I suspect that today's team was a fair distance from the best Casey can produce. Firstly, none of the three emergencies for Melbourne v Brisbane were available. Secondly, I thought a few of the players dropped to the development team were a bit stiff. Jai Sheahan has been terrific in defence for Casey for most of the year while McGough and Collins also played well last week.

With Melbourne playing on Saturday next weekend, all three emergencies should saddle up for Casey v Port on Sunday and I would expect a better performance.

I thought Jai was poor against Collingwood and nearly lost the game several times in the last quarter, and disappointing last week against Sandy, so I am not all that surprised he was in the early game.

Posted

For the record, from the man himself, Cook 195cm & 88kgs. Hoping to hold down the full forward role in Dees side start of next year.

The guy clearly has good kicking skills, can take a mark and kick a goal. He's great height for KPF. He also seems to read the play particularly well, which gives him time and space to kick well and find the best target. Plus we're in desperate need for a 2nd tall to compliment Mitch Clark. So really he has everything going for him, he just needs to grasp the opportunity.

Last year his development was stifled a little by Fevola, but this year he has made improvements due to being able to play large parts of the season as the primary tall target or at least 2nd tall target.

Unfortunately, KPPs take time.

If he's serious about becoming a good AFL player, he'd want to get to 95kg asap (within 1-2 years if possible), with the aim of getting to 100+kg by the time he's 23 and in his prime.

He cannot compete at AFL level at 88kg...

Posted

He cannot compete at AFL level at 88kg...

I know the game has changed but just for interest sake, would these players would be midfielders today?

AF team of the century

CHF Royce Hart

187cm / 86kg

FF John Coleman

185cm / 80kg

Posted

I know the game has changed but just for interest sake, would these players would be midfielders today?

AF team of the century

CHF Royce Hart

187cm / 86kg

FF John Coleman

185cm / 80kg

Look at their heights! 86kg is a decent size for 187cm.

Weight is always relative to height. To not get knocked off the ball , and in order to impose on the contest, you need to be a solid build for your height.

I'm sure if Coleman was 196cm, he wouldn't be 86kg, he'd be more like 95kg

Posted

Look at their heights! 86kg is a decent size for 187cm.

Weight is always relative to height. To not get knocked off the ball , and in order to impose on the contest, you need to be a solid build for your height.

I'm sure if Coleman was 196cm, he wouldn't be 86kg, he'd be more like 95kg

I know, it was just interesting wondering where these KP players would fit in today

Getting back to Cook, I agree he should be around 95kg next 12-18mths heading towards 100kg in later years. He looks to have the frame to carry more weight (unlike some other talls) and this will add more impact to his game. I like his basic skill set and look for big things in the next couple of years

Posted

I know, it was just interesting wondering where these KP players would fit in today

Getting back to Cook, I agree he should be around 95kg next 12-18mths heading towards 100kg in later years. He looks to have the frame to carry more weight (unlike some other talls) and this will add more impact to his game. I like his basic skill set and look for big things in the next couple of years

I know this is going to sound like a joke but Morton looked HUGE yesterday at the stupid Avalon Airport Chirnside wind tunnel.

Not as big as Majak-who gave them first use every time . Cooky looks a bit bigger than before as does Fitzy . I went out there to have a squizz and Morton was bigger in reality than he looks on the Box.

Posted

I know this is going to sound like a joke but Morton looked HUGE yesterday at the stupid Avalon Airport Chirnside wind tunnel.

Not as big as Majak-who gave them first use every time . Cooky looks a bit bigger than before as does Fitzy . I went out there to have a squizz and Morton was bigger in reality than he looks on the Box.

LOL.I hope you weren't driving Biff! Substance abuse is known to cause severe hallucinations for some people

Posted

Something wasn't quite right today and I suspect that today's team was a fair distance from the best Casey can produce. Firstly, none of the three emergencies for Melbourne v Brisbane were available. Secondly, I thought a few of the players dropped to the development team were a bit stiff. Jai Sheahan has been terrific in defence for Casey for most of the year while McGough and Collins also played well last week.

With Melbourne playing on Saturday next weekend, all three emergencies should saddle up for Casey v Port on Sunday and I would expect a better performance.

Fair points that you make WJ,however we seem to have spat the dummy like we have for many years,culture has to change, from the Scorps through to the Dees. Look at Collingwood, their list and the players brought in this year.They have grabbed their opportunity ours haven't IMO.

Posted

LOL.I hope you weren't driving Biff! Substance abuse is known to cause severe hallucinations for some people

Considering it wasn't that windy at all apart from a brief few light showers....

Disappointing output from the Melbourne listed players. Couch was a tireless worker, but IMO largely ineffective. Cook did lead well when it did come down (not as he'd like though), due to the pressure of the opposition upfield. Other observations:

Williams - good size, presented ok, needs more games at VFL.

Gysberts - underdone; came off quite frequently, looked to cop a bit of a knock at one stage, came back on and got involved in the last qtr, game was done and dusted.

Couch - Toiled all day, decent in tight, battled all day on a dirty day scoreboard wise. Not as effective as Lovett would want.

Fitzpatrick - Work cut out in first half against Daw, seemed to gain confidence and do ok in second half in his positioning against Daw. Rested up fwd now and then, presented well as key forward in last qtr.

Davis - Had his work cut out and was busy. Few spoils, disposal iffy on occassions.

Strauss - was kept busy and rotated on a few different players, ran hard, more game time needed before consideration for promotion IMO. Not a great deal of ball.

Jetta - Had very little of it, but when he did he did something with it, at least looked urgent when in possession, obviously needs more game time.

Tynan - Average, relatively quiet.

Morton - Seemed to get much of the ball in the last qtr when the game was well and truly finished, will be interesting to see his stats. I reckon he had 10-12 touches in the last. Otherwise quiet and like others well beaten.

Petterd - Very quiet.

On Nathan Ablett, kicked well at goal, took some nice grabs but that's it. McKinley played just as well for Werribee. Yet he can't get a game for North. Ignore any hype.

Posted

Interesting to read the player review. Looks like Fitzpatrick had a very good game, and both Cook and Williams impressed.

Lucas Cook - 9 disposals, 4 marks and 2 goals

Given the low Inside 50 entries, Cooky was competitive and took a couple of really strong contested marks. He had a good battle with Kyle Hartigan.

Jack Fitzpatrick - 14 disposals, 6 marks, 34 hit outs and 2 goals

In a return to senior football, Jack's involvements were impressive. He held some strong marks and finished off much better in front of goal.

Leigh Williams - 12 disposals, 4 marks and 2 goals

We were impressed with Leigh's game. He competed, won some good one on ones and used his body much better. He was a good contributor.

Posted (edited)

Interesting to read the player review. Looks like Fitzpatrick had a very good game, and both Cook and Williams impressed.

Very good game is way overstating it for Fitzy. He was ok and broke even (or slightly better) with Majak Daw after half time. However Daw played a Natanui-like game and broke the contest open in the first half with a number of eye-catching plays. Fitzy is still a way off deserving an AFL game on that effort but agree he and Couch were the best of an average lot.

Cook and Williams were good from very limited opportunities. Not great conditions for them.

I was most excited by Jetta despite his limited posessions. Really showed a will to get involved and his touches were class, it was just his fitness that let him down IMO. I haven't been a big fan of his over the journey but I reckon he will crack the Demons side before year end and could add a bit. I know he is more of a mid but could be used as a forward tackling machine.

Edited by Radar Detector

Posted

Very good game is way overstating it for Fitzy. He was ok and broke even (or slightly better) with Majak Daw after half time. However Daw played a Natanui-like game and broke the contest open in the first half with a number of eye-catching plays. Fitzy is still a way off deserving an AFL game on that effort but agree he and Couch were the best of an average lot.

Cook and Williams were good from very limited opportunities. Not great conditions for them.

I was most excited by Jetta despite his limited posessions. Really showed a will to get involved and his touches were class, it was just his fitness that let him down IMO. I haven't been a big fan of his over the journey but I reckon he will crack the Demons side before year end and could add a bit. I know he is more of a mid but could be used as a forward tackling machine.

This is why I've remained loyal to his future. I like his intuitive footy & he has aggression & smarts.

Needs to grow his body & tank, & to then get more confidence as well. I like his honest style as a footballer.

It's good to hear his maturing as a footballer. Decision making sounds like it's sharper.

Guest KingDingAling
Posted

Williams going to be a hell of a player in years to come.