Maric - Whats he got to do?

PaulRB

Can't see why Bennell is ahead of him. Should swap those two and give MAric a good 4-5 games to show his worth.

Bennell has showed he is scared and has little impact on games.

Maric is skilful and know where to go, lacks a little bit of intensity and mongrel. Should be given a chance to prove himself.

• Replies 92

Maric wanted to be traded at the end of last year I believe. Now with his contract ending at seasons end, and with limited opportunity he'll probably walk to any other club that shows interest.

I always thought he could play.

Have been surprised of his lack of opportunity

My. one concern about him, simply from watching his body language, was that he was prone to getting down on himself, lacking confidence, lacking emotional resilience. (mind you most of the small forwards over the years were mercurial in nature so would go hot and cold on field, dependant on their moods, emotions being were their forwardline creativity flows from. As opposed to the boring but dependable defenders)

I reckon he is a young footballer who will take a little longer to mature as an individual. You look at Trengove and Scully and they are the epitomy of professionalism and maturity, Maric's taking a while to put himself together.

Having said that, the fact that he really focused on training the house down last preseason I thought was a great sign.

Cant see him staying though, he'll go to Richmond.

Maric + Petterd next to Jurrah is a formidable front line.

That is gold! Two players who will stand there waiting for a crumb. Neither go near the ball when it comes in nor apply defensive pressure.

Nice work that post.

If he does I hope he knows what he's getting into. Look at Houli and Grigg, they aren't better footballers at all this year, they are just getting regular games in a worse side. There flaws are still there. If Maric wants that he can have it. If he really wants to be a better footballer he'd try and get to a real club or stay at Melbourne if he has faith in our coaches/we get new coaches.

Apparently every disgruntled footballer in the last 30 years has been going to Richmond, but they're still [censored]!

Maric needs more game time, simple as that. His kicking is elite and that is the most important skill in modern footy. If he walks I will be ropeable given some of the overpaid and non-performers on our list. Like Martin before him he will only flourish once the FD back him in for more than 3 weeks at a time. There is no reason for this not to occur before seasons end, moreso given the unrewarded faith shown in recalicitrant non-performers like Morton, Jurrah & Bennell.

That is gold! Two players who will stand there waiting for a crumb. Neither go near the ball when it comes in nor apply defensive pressure.

Nice work that post.

Do you mean Maric & Jurrah? Because I agree, Jurrah seems to be overplaying the crumbing aspect of his instructions at the moment. We often have no one actually contesting in the air at all down there. It all just contributes to us looking soft as per usual. *sighs*

Re Maric vs Bennell... My suspicion is, with the attributes that Bennell has, the Footy dept feel there is still a chance he will turn the corner confidence-wise, as Watts has done this year. I still see more upside to him then Maric and would keep Jamie for one more year. The fact the Maric can't play in defence further hurts his cause I think.

Maric + Petterd next to Jurrah is a formidable front line. Leave Watts the room to lead, allow Jurrah, Petterd and Maric to roam and crumb.

That'd be great if Maric or Petterd ever "crumbed".

Exactly. Jack Watts is currently by far the best crumber in our forward line. It'd be nice if we could muster up a small to do it somewhere along the line so we don't have to use our KPFs like that. I'd say the man for the job is not presently on our list.

Jacky Watts = Instinctive. Can see three plays ahead as well as able to leap tall buildings.

I agree we don't have a small on our list that possesses the instinctive tools to be able to do (crumb well) what other very good small men do at other clubs. I posted a list of all the small goal kickers of the comp not long ago and it brought up this very issue..I'll try and find it.

Maric is pressing for a spot (again) with his BOG at Casey. He seems prone to drifting out of play or losing confidence at AFL level, yet he can also have an impact. From his low profile on Demonland I assume most have written him off... So I'm asking the question, what area of his game does Maric need to improve for him to cement a place in the 22 and become a quality AFL player?

TACKLE TACKLE TACKLE

I agree with that.

His lack of great pace means he really needs to develop an exceptional work ethic, a hard edge and increased physicality to thrive.

We haven't seen him consistently kicking at a high level, but it is there.

With the substitute rule, it is no longer enough to be a specialist forward pocket - he needs to be able to spend extended periods in the midfield, and considering our other options, he needs to improve considerably to be considered a worthy option.

I agree. He needs to develop a bit of an edge a bit like a young Schneider, but better.

Guest Gotzy15

Maric is actually one player that i rate reasonably highly for a young bloke and i actually have a real soft spot for him.Personally i think were very hard on the kid. I seem to remember him playing some really good matches in 2009 in a side that couldnt get within 50 points of their opposition most weeks. He had very limited opportunities last year and was servicable in the one game he played against the Swans. Fast forward to 2011 and he was without doubt the surprise packet of the pre season with his ability to get front and centre and kick crumbing goals.I thought 2011 was going to be his breakout year but he seems to be made the scapegoat every time we lose. He had 30 touches against Adelaide playing off half forward, kicked 3 against the kangas and a couple against the sainters which were both bad losses.

I think Addam (although he isnt as high profile as some of our other young kids) is one player who deserves some time in the seniors and should be given a chance to gain some confidence and prove he is capable of playing senior footy. Good Luck mate.

Re Maric vs Bennell... My suspicion is, with the attributes that Bennell has, the Footy dept feel there is still a chance he will turn the corner confidence-wise, as Watts has done this year. I still see more upside to him then Maric and would keep Jamie for one more year. The fact the Maric can't play in defence further hurts his cause I think.

Bennell by a country mile.

There's a decent player in there. His got pace. Can defend on smalls and crumb and can provide run and drive. Doesn't do it all in one match but he's shown all the pieces.

He's obviously pulled out more then once which has people stamping his cards already but there is a good player in there. Apparently MFC are trying to improve physicality to its youngsters atm and boxing is one of the tools. Lock Bennell in the ring.

I just don't see it in Maric. Can't see his apparent awesome kicking skills. Looks pretty vanilla to me.

I'd have a fully fit Aussie but it doesn't look like that's going to happen. That's a shame. Cause he truly is a good kick.

This was raised on The Insider and I strongly agree the biggest deficiency now in our list and our future 22 is a quality small forward. That should be the main target of our draft/trade period.

Bennell by a country mile.

There's a decent player in there. His got pace. Can defend on smalls and crumb and can provide run and drive. Doesn't do it all in one match but he's shown all the pieces.

He's obviously pulled out more then once which has people stamping his cards already but there is a good player in there. Apparently MFC are trying to improve physicality to its youngsters atm and boxing is one of the tools. Lock Bennell in the ring.

I just don't see it in Maric. Can't see his apparent awesome kicking skills. Looks pretty vanilla to me.

I'd have a fully fit Aussie but it doesn't look like that's going to happen. That's a shame. Cause he truly is a good kick.

It's hard to lock someone into the ring if they won't get into one.

I've never heard of Bennell doing any boxing. we've heard of ther others jumping into the ring, the recent ones being Watts and Cook.

Lets hear that Davey and Bennell and Jurrah are gonna hop into the ring with leather on their hands...

Jacky Watts = Instinctive. Can see three plays ahead as well as able to leap tall buildings.

I agree we don't have a small on our list that possesses the instinctive tools to be able to do (crumb well) what other very good small men do at other clubs. I posted a list of all the small goal kickers of the comp not long ago and it brought up this very issue..I'll try and find it.

This was raised on The Insider and I strongly agree the biggest deficiency now in our list and our future 22 is a quality small forward. That should be the main target of our draft/trade period.

Thought I'd include you in this BRFE as you replied to Nasher's post as well.

And I've found it : This is a post from the Howe do we Cook with Watts & LJ?" thread - (post#12)

Agree on the versatility and the thoughts on the 3 x HF, 3 x FWDS being obsolete - they just have to be named. Also agree on the bench rotation.

Assistant coaches often just refer to them as the forward 6 or back 6 nowadays.

Pretty much similar in thoughts on Petterd - Morton being my other. But at the moment I see him as being utilised just about everywhere including the wing. I just hope he kicks on tbh.

Bennell for Wonaeamirri being the difference as small forward. I'm just unsure where Wonaeamirri is at, I hope he proves me wrong. :)

Could have thrown other options in: Maric, Jetta, or even Davey.

On small forwards:

I look around at all small forwards and I compare the quality: McGlynn, LeCras, Stokes, Blair, Krakouer, Garlett, Betts, Monfries, Osborne, Rioli, Milne, Gray, Banfield, Ballantyne, L.Jetta.....and I think we could do better in this small department.

I tend to agree brfe this should be a focus. Putting it nicely, I'm not overly confident with what we have at present. Wonaeamirri - don't know where he is at, nor am I confident in longevity. Maric - he needs more intent on the contest and awareness, kicking for goal is ok, but right now his whole package doesn't tickle my taste bud.

He has got to dominate the 2nds for a start .I think he can kick a bag from the pocket if he has a good tall to bring it down .Either that or be consistently in the best three. He will play a role for us for sure.

May be competing with Jetta and Benell for a place ,which is good .

Good result for Maric, needs to show the level against the Hawks this week to solidify his possie and build his reputation...

I see Maric & Jetta @ about the same area of their maturity.

They both look to be stepping up with their belief in themselves and in they're games, and are starting to show a bit more authority.

Maric & Jetta need to really build their engines bigtime to realise a regular spot in the midfield/forward areas.

I know they'll do it.