Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 03 vs Carlton

3 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

CJ going off and Kolt going from inside mid tagger to half back was the catalyst

Best second half footy we’ve played in quite some time

3 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

CJ going off and Kolt going from inside mid tagger to half back was the catalyst

Best second half footy we’ve played in quite some time

Fancy having a coach who makes moves. Koltyn must have impressed the coach in the pre season because kings prepared to back him or move him to another position if plan a doesn't work. He's installed confidence in koltyn

Looking back at the highlights, i absolutely loved the response to paddy's first goal.

The genuine excitement and happiness on everyone's face as they got to him couldn't have been more indicative of Kingy's imperative to above all else have fun.

Given the stage of the game and the close margin, celebrating a first goal might get lost a little. Yet all the boys were there and genuinely pumped to see paddy's first goal sail through.

Felt like they knew they had a job to do, but weren't going to stop having fun on the way to finishing that job.

40 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Fritta was lucky in the end 4.1 was a bit of lipstick on the proverbial... He stopped and waited 3 times and got spoilt, very lazy attack on the ball - junior footy skills taught to run through the oncoming ball

Petty does some good things, but ffs makes some consistently bad errors with ball in hand

Patty Cross 183cm, attack on the contest in the last - 1 vs 3 often and threw his body at it hard.... Loved it ❤️💙. But someone else should be playing full forward

Totally agree on Fritta he can be a lazy footballer at times and then he puts the cream on top when the plays goes our way but it takes all types of players to make a side.

Watching the replay just loving our delivery into our forwards, in particular the 2nd half today. No bombing, just lace out to the leading forward

Watching the replay I have to admit those 2 HTB free kicks in the last Q would not normally be given and we were lucky

In other words Id be furious if we had those paid against us.

47 minutes ago, Jibroni said:

It's days like today as to why I do not read gameday threads; although I understand the anger at halftime.

I just watched the replay and apart from celebrating TMac and Max I was pleased to see good performances from the young brigade (Langford, Lindsay, Tholstrup, Howes) and need another 20 plus games before we see consistent efforts and feeling comfortable with Kingball.

As for Carlton:

Goodfellas: Ray Liotta's Iconic Laugh Is A Lot More Than Just a Meme | Den  of Geek

Exactly Jibroni. Likewise, I nearly got on the computer at half time to vent my anger but decided not to as the guys were actually trying and having a crack. Just as well as I would have looked a fool like many on here.

10 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

Totally agree on Fritta he can be a lazy footballer at times and then he puts the cream on top when the plays goes our way but it takes all types of players to make a side.

Pretty hard to run through the ball when it’s kicked to him and not into space. Love the “cheap seats” comments on one of our superstars.

@No. 31 Strong start from your boys, but not to be

At least you are a MFC member so you have a chance at watching finals footy

4 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Watching the replay I have to admit those 2 HTB free kicks in the last Q would not normally be given and we were lucky

I haven’t seen a replay, but I thought the one against Hewitt was clearly an umpire error. The one against Evans was correct - at least from a HTB perspective. There’s an argument he was taken high, but you see heaps of those not get called high.

4 minutes ago, Strawberry Fields said:

Pretty hard to run through the ball when it’s kicked to him and not into space. Love the “cheap seats” comments on one of our superstars.

He was standing still waiting for the ball and not moving on those easy spoils that happened.

5 minutes ago, Nasher said:

I haven’t seen a replay, but I thought the one against Hewitt was clearly an umpire error. The one against Evans was correct - at least from a HTB perspective. There’s an argument he was taken high, but you see heaps of those not get called high.

I agree. I just don't reckon they usually get paid inside 50 in the last Q

67,000 there to see the greatest Ruckman of all time!!

I honestly can't believe what happened today

1 hour ago, Nasher said:

Funny you mention that, at half time when looking at the job ahead, I thought back to that game in 2008. The Aussie Wonaeamirri game. This was definitely up there with that.

Was at the StKilda game at Moorabbin in 76. Colin Graham kicked a 60m torp and Brewer got a couple. Anyone else there with me?

Really impressed in Lindsay and Langford in the last Q

They stood up with quality touches and composure

25 minutes ago, DubDee said:

The one given to Sharp was a poor decision. The Carlton player barely had half a second and was pinged….in front of goal no less. I would say we got lucky with that decision, but the umps were terrible in their htb adjudication for both teams all game.

3 hours ago, dees189227 said:

Great crowd to

Yes they / we all stood around to clap Tommy and Max off the ground.

I love Fritta. I love Kozzy. What a bunch of legends. What a win

31 minutes ago, DubDee said:

67,000 there to see the greatest Ruckman of all time!!

I honestly can't believe what happened today

I was suprised to hear it was the 2nd highest ever home-and-away crowd for the two clubs.

27 minutes ago, radar said:

Was at the StKilda game at Moorabbin in 76. Colin Graham kicked a 60m torp and Brewer got a couple. Anyone else there with me?

Yep I was there. Took me 2 hours to get out of their poxy carpark but at least I could savour that win.😁

Watched the replay and I reckon I counted 4-5 Cripps throws several unpaid HTB so when they finally paid thrb2 HTB in the final quarter - even if they were 50/50, it still didn’t make up for everything else that was missed.

good win. Our first quarter jitters are now a problem. That’s 3 games now getting jumped.

That's the second time in three weeks I've had such fun at the footy, although this time obviously only for half the game.

It might be 3 years since we've had fun at the footy this much across a three game period. That of itself is noteworthy.

We must gain so much confidence and belief from holding firm to how we wanted to play despite the abysmal start. King said it in his presser though, unlike last week where Fremantle smacked us across the park, the start this week was more about how awful we were. When we are bad, we are terrible - fumbly, over-running the ball, kicks missing targets. Kozzie was emblematic of it.

But the way we worked through that and turned the game on its head was remarkable.

Felt to me like we ditched the tag and stopped running Tholstrup in CBAs in the second half, which helped us match them. Not sure if causation or correlation but our ball movement also felt better after Jiath went off.

Koz's second half was stupidly good, but Steele's first half was so important when most of the 23 were down. Sparrow's game was a stand-out too. Not sure how related it is to Rivers coming out of the middle but if that was part of it, then Riv's got a bit of work to do as that level from Sparrow makes us such a better side.

Major improvement IMO from Langford, Culley and (a bit less so) Lindsay. I'm really hoping that they are just starting to find themselves in this side and are gelling with each other, as seeing Langford get into the game and on the scoreboard is critical to balancing our midfield.

Loved the MFC supporter energy in the crowd. Probably outnumbered by Carlton fans 2-1 but the noise when we got going was pulsating (at least on the members' side of the ground it was).

Expecting another come-down next week vs Gold Coast but, like Round 1 into Round 2, I'm OK with that. We are building belief in a brand of football that stacks up. It won't work every week, and against the best sides we just won't be good enough for long enough, but we're 12 quarters in now and 8-9 of them have been pretty good.

1 hour ago, Nasher said:

I mean, i see it as a square up from when lever was thrown out of the contest by his jumper for their last goal

5 hours ago, darkhorse72 said:

One of the most woeful first half we have played in years... far worse than last week.

But after half time we actually started to run and work as a team. While we really picked it up, How much of Carltons mental demons allowed us back in. Won't work on other teams.

whatever is wrong with our starts we need to fix it. Great tp see Langford look happier and getting into the game.

So happy we got the win for Max and TMac

PS... Weere we better when CJ went off? I think so.

The only mental Demon that Carlton has discovered missing is the bloke that went to Sydney. The same one that should have been told to pull his head in.

4 hours ago, Nascent said:

Gameday thread is a place to vent akin to shouting at the tv. Not useful, insightful and rarely represents reality but can be cathartic to release frustration (kinda useful then I guess). Not sure why anyone reads anything else into it.

All the sooks whining about the gameday thread 🙄
Agree 100% with your comment.

Up here in the bush on gameday I sit down by myself, tune into Kayo and open up the gameday thread.
Share a few thoughts with some fellow Demon supporters as there aint many around these parts.
And let's face it.
The 1st quarter was diabolical, the 2nd we stemmed the bleeding but still wondered if we we're gonna kick our 1st goal toward the end.
Little wonder a few got abit jumpy.
Who cares.
Invested supporters blowing off abit of steam.
What happens in the gameday thread stays in the gameday thread.
And reading the Carlton one, ours is tame.

Edited by Fork 'em