View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Posted

Melbourne was the first AFL team to reach out to Robey following his third Talent League match. As Robey says, it’s “pretty much skyrocketed from there”.

“By the end of the combine, I’ll be up to all 18,” he says.

Looks powerful and ready to go. Shades of De Goey but also Jarrod Berry.

Cal's last phantom (23/9) had him at 6 but with 3 Academy players before him rated Robey at #3!

We may need to do a deal with WCE!

They have been reported willing to trade 1 or 2. Ess reportedly want one of those picks or the Tigers picks who 3 and 4.

18 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Cal's last phantom (23/9) had him at 6 but with 3 Academy players before him rated Robey at #3!

We may need to do a deal with WCE!

They have been reported willing to trade 1 or 2. Ess reportedly want one of those picks or the Tigers picks who 3 and 4.

I suspect Essendon are after Duursma

All in favour . We may have to trade with theTigers, our pick 7 & 8 for 3 or trade with West Coast our pick 7&8 for pick 2. We could try and get W.C pick 13 for future 1st round picks.

Would like to also get Dovaston.

3 minutes ago, Coolx2 said:

All in favour . We may have to trade with theTigers, our pick 7 & 8 for 3 or trade with West Coast our pick 7&8 for pick 2. We could try and get W.C pick 13 for future 1st round picks.

Would like to also get Dovaston.

Or we could do a deal that would enable us to get Robey and Pickett.

I’ll be surprised if we go to the draft with our current draft hand.

1 hour ago, Dannyz said:

Looks powerful and ready to go. Shades of De Goey but also Jarrod Berry.

Gday Dannyz, any word of JT extending his contract?

22 minutes ago, harveylangfordisthegoat said:

7 and gold coast F1 for 2 and something else?

If eagles had a pick in the 20s it would have been perfect for a player like Pickett if they didn’t want to trade 13 to us.

Do you reckon pick 7&8 for 2 and 13 is a good deal? I think Essendon come sniffing for pick 1 though.

They’d have pick 1, 7 and 8

We’d have pick 2 and 13

We could have Robey and Dovaston. Would love for Grlj to slide but highly doubt it

Can this actually happen? Surely we don’t have what WC/Richmond need to make any kind of deal?

1 hour ago, Colm said:

Gday Dannyz, any word of JT extending his contract?

Most important signing IMO

1 hour ago, Mel Bourne said:

Can this actually happen? Surely we don’t have what WC/Richmond need to make any kind of deal?

WC would surprise me, they have traded down twice already in this rebuild and it’s cost them elite talent. I’d be surprised if they do it unless there’s big go home issues with the top guys and/or they’re super high on Farrow.

Richmond would not surprise me. Pick 4 is a bonus for them from North. It kind of makes sense they’d be willing to keep moving that back years and spreading the talent. But 2 issues:

1. will Robey still be available at 4?

2. The deal? I doubt we put our future first in, that’s potentially pick 1 next year! 7 and GC future first for 4 likely doesn’t move the needle. So we might have to split pick 8 with another team maybe for 2 late firsts. Keep one for us this year and send Richmond one next year or vice versa.

49 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

WC would surprise me, they have traded down twice already in this rebuild and it’s cost them elite talent. I’d be surprised if they do it unless there’s big go home issues with the top guys and/or they’re super high on Farrow.

Richmond would not surprise me. Pick 4 is a bonus for them from North. It kind of makes sense they’d be willing to keep moving that back years and spreading the talent. But 2 issues:

2. The deal? I doubt we put our future first in, that’s potentially pick 1 next year! 7 and GC future first for 4 likely doesn’t move the needle. So we might have to split pick 8 with another team maybe for 2 late firsts. Keep one for us this year and send Richmond one next year or vice versa.

Surely not.

1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said:

Well 7 and 8 combined are worth 2 and 28, I could see wc doing a straight swap for 7 and 8. In this draft you probably need to pay a little overs to move up since it’s not that deep. I think it’s probably worth it for us to get a more guaranteed talent than 2 more speculative players while wc are going to be building for more years yet, they just need numbers.

Edited by Garbo

Is Robey and a later pick really much better than two of Lindsay/Grij/Dovaston etc?

I like the look of him but we still have holes all round the ground and would prefer to bring in another two highly rated players than put all our eggs in one basket

Of course I’ll back JT in if he thinks it’s worth it

I think a deal for 2 is the most likely for all the teams with dual to 10 picks. I just don’t see West Coast being super interested in a Melbourne raised pseudo-ruck/utility (Duff-Tytler), given the time needed to develop him in combination with the Vic Metro go-home factor they have tried to avoid. Playing WAFL in Perth for long periods or getting limited roles in AFL makes him ripe for Victorian overtures promising him expanded roles and money just after WC do the developmental work.

I think Richmond would only be interested in a big overpay from someone and Essendon would rather trade up.

So WC pick 2 would be the target, if that’s something we desperately want to do. Otherwise 7 and 8 are valuable in themselves.

Edited by Axis of Bob

18 minutes ago, Axis of Bob said:

Melbourne raised pseudo-ruck/utility (Duff-Tytler), given the time needed to develop him in combination with the Vic Metro go-home factor they have tried to avoid. Playing WAFL in Perth for long periods or getting limited roles in AFL makes him ripe for Victorian overtures promising him expanded roles and money just after WC do the developmental work.

Whilst he played for vic metro and went to school at Pegs he is from Woodend so not entirely a city boy.

Eagles have Waterman and a glut of young key forwards so for that reason I’d just lock him in at CHB which could be his best role anyway.

But he doesn’t seem a lock to the eagles. With Richmond taking 4 talls last year I wouldn’t be shocked if he fell to Essendon. Although who knows who goes 2/3/4 in that scenario.

54 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Surely not.

We just finished 14th and Essendon and North should improve next year. I’d be surprised if we go a long way backwards and Richmond and WC are probably still closer to no good. But stranger things have happened.

I get it. Definitely shades of Oliver in there. He's a better kick, and transitions into an attacking threat. A hint of Tom Mitchell with those 1-2 handball chains too.

Edited by RalphiusMaximus

Robey-Wan Kenobi

The force is strong with this one

192cm and already a solid frame

Looks like he make an immediate impact

Also not from WA which is a plus