View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 hour ago, Lucifers Hero said:

For those worried about paying Oliver approx $700k it will not impact us much if at all.

• Trac's contract of about $1.3 gone in 2025

• Part of Oliver's contract of about $1.3m gone in 2025

• May's contract of about $900 will be gone in 2026 at the latest.

• Gawn's contract of about $1.0++. will end when he retires, probably end of 2027

• Gus subsidy (guessing $300k-$500k) will end about 2027-2028

• Viney contract of around $1.0m will end around 2028

• Lever may retire so his contract of approx $800k will end in 2028

That is about $6.0m-$7.0m reduction in player payments over the next 3 years. So, we will have a 'war chest' to reward our talent and attract players while covering the Oliver payment particularly if it is fixed $.

It may hurt to see Oliver being undervalued in a trade but it won't hurt our list management forward.

Thanks LH for explaining it in detail, the Tracc contract will save us a min of $4.8m and Claz approx $3.5m over the five year period, we have to be able to hold onto our young guns and attract new players through the door . As you have pointed out this action along with natural attrition will make our List Management a whole lot easier to manage going forward.

1 hour ago, old55 said:

I reckon we've already done that for two years. We helped Clarrie to a better place now it's time for both to move on.

If that’s what we’ve done for two years (and none of us know for sure) then it wasn’t done particularly well. I understand the club wanting to cut its losses and I want nothing more than to see him rehabilitated and happy. But I question whether the course being taken is in his best interests.

Just now, dazzledavey36 said:

He says it in the opening line "Dees desperate to get Oliver out"

there is no point trying to negotiate this further, take the deal and be happy to free up 650-700k P.A and get a fresh start for everyone after a rough few years.

Wish Clarry nothing but the very best up in Sydney and thank you for your service and help winning a premiership.

1 hour ago, Lucifers Hero said:

For those worried about paying Oliver approx $700k it will not impact us much if at all.

• Trac's contract of about $1.3 gone in 2025

• Part of Oliver's contract of about $1.3m gone in 2025

• May's contract of about $900 will be gone in 2026 at the latest.

• Gawn's contract of about $1.0++. will end when he retires, probably end of 2027

• Gus subsidy (guessing $300k-$500k) will end about 2027-2028

• Viney contract of around $1.0m will end around 2028

• Lever may retire so his contract of approx $800k will end in 2028

That is about $6.0m-$7.0m reduction in player payments over the next 3 years. So, we will have a 'war chest' to reward our talent and attract players while covering the Oliver payment particularly if it is fixed $.

It may hurt to see Oliver being undervalued in a trade but it won't hurt our list management forward.

You haven't factored in having to pay Langford, Lindsay, Turner etc especially if Tassie come knocking with their own war chest that we have to match.

7 hours ago, bing181 said:

Jesse Hogan. Traded to Fremantle for picks 6 and 23. Two years later, traded out of Fremantle for pick 54.

JUH. Pick #1 to the Bulldogs in 2020. 5 years later, traded out for ... nothing (?), with the Dogs having to pay his full salary for 2025 even though he didn't play a game or train with the club (effectively).

etc.

There's always a price to be paid for cutting your losses.

Well not always, but yes generally that is the fact of the matter.

When this is over I think we need to review our whole exit strategies and the way we communicate with players, managers, media and our supporters.

Importantly players to be traded and their situations, need to be better managed, in order for us to optimise our returns.

At least we are a club that does have compassion for our players and acts in that fashion when required to do so and we should get more credit for that.

I am proud that we are a decent and caring club, even though at times it costs us.

Edited by Redleg

In hindsight we should have traded him last year.

At least Petracca deal will hell us save face.

4 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

You haven't factored in having to pay Langford, Lindsay, Turner etc especially if Tassie come knocking with their own war chest that we have to match.

Surely, there is room for them in a $6.0m to $7.0m 'war chest'!!!

From what we know so far Tassie will have a 'sign on bonus' fund for players but not sure if they have a higher TPP. They can't pay overs for everyone.

And they will have to trade for them.

If we are succeeding those guys won't want to go.

Lets wait and see.

3 minutes ago, Doug Reemer said:

In hindsight we should have traded him last year.

Isn’t that what Gary Pert tried to do with Geelong and, in the end, the media pack got stuck into him and he lost his job.

1 minute ago, Leopold Bloom said:

Isn’t that what Gary Pert tried to do with Geelong and, in the end, the media pack got stuck into him and he lost his job.

And he was making the correct move but going about it the wrong way

22 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

The Tassie thing doesn't worry me too much - sure, they'll have a war chest, but the price is you have to live in Tassie. Our warchest means you don't have to board the spirit of [censored] Tasmania every fortnight.

On 13/10/2025 at 17:39, DeeZone said:

I agree PK LITD, the loss of Gus has left a huge hole in the team, he was the glue that helped keep the group together. I expected CP5 to step up and take up the slack by showing extra leadership but he has gone down a different path which has further destabilised our senior group. Clayton stayed on the straight and narrow racking up the accolades until hit by injuries to his hand and then hamstring which seemed to affect him more than most players. As much as I loved them both in our Red and Blue, Tracc has moved away from being one of us and Clazz has acted in a really unstable manner, cutting the fences and burning the bridges that once made him our former elite champion.

In all my 80 years I have never seen anything like it since Barassi jumped ship to Carlton and The Red Fox was sacked by a bunch of imbeciles in 1965. I will always remember 25/09/2021 when they both shone brightly for our mighty demons and helped to deliver us the Holy Grail. Nothing we get will compensate their loss but it’s time for a massive reset and let our younger brigade thrive and show their leadership under the wings of Max and Jack.

Your definitely onto something here DZ.

Very insightful post. You don't always say a great deal but I've noticed when you do, it's always on the $.

There was an incredible espirit de corps in 2021 . A real team of mates and blokes that had each other's backs.

Guys who would celebrate every players acts and seeing them come down onto the ground smiling and enjoying themselves expecting a win was truly a sight for the sore eyes of us older supporters.

Almost a distant memory now and we need to get back to that sort of confidence, cohesion and celebration amongst the lads.

It won't be easy with leaders like May and Tracc gone. And , as you mentioned... Gus.

I think the latter along with Nibbler apart from being solid players were very well liked and their company enjoyed by their teammates.

We are almost starting a rebuild with all these players gone and it will be very tough to get back to the morale we used to have.

But with Maxy still at the helm and a few others around him, there's still a decent amount of hope.

Cheers.

41 minutes ago, Leopold Bloom said:

He still had no business getting involved at that level even if it was the right move. The footy department need to be the ones to make that decision and then be held accountable for those decisions.

We never stuck to our guns with Oliver. We gave him an ultimatum at the end of 2023 and he agreed to it and then immediately torched the club. But the club relented and had him playing in the first game of the year.

I don't post unsubstantiated rumours. Clarry, the wiz and Travis Johnstone are my favourite demons. I have bad luck on that.

Clarry ripped the windscreen wipers off a car and Trac went in to apologise that was before that [censored] Moore kneed Trac.

The falling out had already happened and Salem sided with Trac.

I hope we keep clarry but we might need a cleanout.

If this is taken as rumour I am happy to DM sources and facts

1 hour ago, Young Angus said:

Send him to Collingwood for DeGoey.

No thanks we lose out both ways. I would not touch DeGoey with a barge pole.

19 minutes ago, Skrull said:

this will be one of the saddest days for the club in a decade.

I feel the same, that makes 2 of us.

1 minute ago, old dee said:

I feel the same, that makes 2 of us.

Possibly our saddest day in 60 years.

8 minutes ago, DeeZone said:

Hmm there have been some shockers in that period. I would say losing Gus would be worse. That's in later years.

3 minutes ago, DeeZone said:

Easily the saddest day, DZ. I want 7:30pm to hurry up and get here, just be done with it. I also don’t want 7:30pm to get here because that means they’ll both be gone. Just an awful day.

3 minutes ago, old dee said:

Hmm there have been some shockers in that period. I would say losing Gus would be worse. That's in later years.

They’re all very sad days for different reasons. And there’s plenty to choose from. I have a friend who says for her there will never be a day sadder than Boxing Day 2004 💔

4 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Easily the saddest day, DZ. I want 7:30pm to hurry up and get here, just be done with it. I also don’t want 7:30pm to get here because that means they’ll both be gone. Just an awful day.

I'm actually dreading Thursday though, as my work to-do pile has grown the last week or so.