View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

3 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Footy is different to working for some utilities company no matter how much people try to paint it as "just another job". If you remove the emotion and tribalism what is left? We're all just barracking for laundry to misquote Seinfeld, makes it all rather pointless.

I must have miscommunicated @Dr. Gonzo .

To be frank, my career has been built around working in and around elite sport, the AFL industry being one of them, for 2 decades. When you become a career coach, the career physio, psych, ex phys etc etc etc - you are passionate about the people you work and care for wherever you are at any given point in time. I know, because I have been one of them and give a great big [censored] about athletes, coaches and other staff ,due to humans doing their best in tough environments constantly under scrutiny.

However, whilst that is true, simultaneously, fans are wedded more myopically due to the tribalism. That's a great thing, but as fans its from the outside looking in, where there is a projection of what 'we as fans feel' must be the experience of the players or FD, or administrators... is factual incorrect.

It's why people in the industry go from job to job within the industry - because those emotional ties are less (to the clubs, not the relationships they have built).

So yes plenty of tribalism for the fans... less so for those who work in the industry.

It's why Jack Watts laughing was a problem too :) the optics was he didn't care as much as the average fan, because he had a great opportunity to live someones dream, and great genetics to get that opportunity and thus he should have cared more. That juxtaposition and dissonance really upset the 'tribal fan'.

Edited by Engorged Onion

On 18/09/2025 at 15:15, MurDoc516 said:

I'm still waiting for any journo to talk about Tanner Bruhn and his mystery injury. Fascinating how much control Geelong have over the media.

I brought this same topic up last year.

It's like Tanner has vanished into thin air without a trace, not a word whispered in disgust on the air waves.

The same thing has happened with the vile verbal abuse of women from Scott and Smith.

Just a token mention from the media, if it was and interstate club or smaller Vic club they would have taken them apart.

To many prominent people in potlsitions of power exist for the likes of Geel and Coll to ever be exposed and talk back lines to open on these diabolical happenings.

Look what they did to Clarry the aholes.

47 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

It's like Tanner has vanished into thin air without a trace, not a word whispered in disgust on the air waves.

The same thing has happened with the vile verbal abuse of women from Scott and Smith.

One of these things is covered by a court suppression order and anyone that interested in footy should know that by now. I imagine Demonland will remove any references to it and rightly should. It’s not for debate.

The other is covered by the Geelong media suppression order!

Kenny got a 20k fine for pretending to be an aeroplane. Imagine if Scott’s abuse to a young staffer was filmed?

12 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

One of these things is covered by a court suppression order and anyone that interested in footy should know that by now. I imagine Demonland will remove any references to it and rightly should. It’s not for debate.

The other is covered by the Geelong media suppression order!

Kenny got a 20k fine for pretending to be an aeroplane. Imagine if Scott’s abuse to a young staffer was filmed?

Whately a Cats' fan, was scathing of Hinkley for the aeroplane, but was very circumspect on Scott and Smith over their abuse of females doing their job.

5 hours ago, KozzyCan said:

The panel we selected showed we were more interested in finding someone who was a strong managerial presence who could take ownership of the whole football program rather than just being a good tactician or whatever.

I think we clearly wanted someone with both. Guerra made the point, as have other commentators, that King is an excellent tactician. These are both skills that were Goody's too. The key difference is the baggage and shared history that Goody had with the senior players.

I think one of the key drivers of long term success for a coach is the approach of delegating.

King's experience at Geelong is one where Scott really delegates and lets his line coaches do the hard yards during the week.

But King's vast experience in multiple settings with different coaching approaches will hold him in great stead.

It appears to me that Goody was a great delegater in his first few years around the Jennings era, then something happened there, which I think saw Goody start to take a more controlling approach within the FD. He also placed a lot of trust in those experienced players.

The key to Scott's term as Geelong coach and Clarkson's at Hawthorn is delegation. I think a strong head of footy that can play ying to the senior coaches yang, enables list management to move on ageing stars at the right time. Mind you, I don't think Clarkson got that right at all. I suspect it could have been because he lost his trusted head of footy in Fagan that held things together.

Did anyone else hear Cameron Mooney waxing lyrical about the Geelong coaching staff on SEN this afternoon? After mentioning King, he then noted Nigel Lappin and said he was also off to Melbourne. Haven't seen this mentioned anywhere so not sure if he let that slip by mistake, but could be one of the first appointments to Kingsmen.

7 minutes ago, DemonDave said:

, he then noted Nigel Lappin and said he was also off to Melbourne.

If that's true, that's fantastic news.*

*is anyone also going to question his professionalism whilst still being at the cats? It's almost as though the public announcement in of itself is the problem to people...

Did anyone else hear Cameron Mooney waxing lyrical about the Geelong coaching staff on SEN this afternoon? After mentioning King, he then noted Nigel Lappin and said he was also off to Melbourne. Haven't seen this mentioned anywhere so not sure if he let that slip by mistake, but could be one of the first appointments to Kingsmen.

Could he have meant King was off to Melbourne and not Lappin and worded it poorly?

Mooney isn't the most articulate bloke...

Would be amazing. Hope it's true.

It looked a bit dumb when Brenton Sanderson got the Adelaide job and had to watch on for the Cats premiership in 2011 after putting in the work as assistant coach.

He had to celebrate with players over the fence...

King's job with Geelong finishes when they finish.

Will have time with players, coaches & staff win lose on Saturday night then he's all ours (unless its a draw)...

Edited by rjay

21 minutes ago, DemonDave said:

If true could be the new Head of Football.

2 minutes ago, Redleg said:

If true could be the new Head of Football.

Surely he'd replace the vacant head of development role vacated by Mark Williams.

11 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Surely he'd replace the vacant head of development role vacated by Mark Williams.

Why would he leave that role with the Cats to take it on with us, other a than heap more money, which I am not sure we have?

He is regarded as the best development Coach in the AFL and if did come across with King, it would be a sensational get for us.

Edited by Redleg

5 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Why would he leave that role with the Cats to take it on with us, other a than heap more money, which I am not sure we have?

He is regarded as the best development Coach in the AFL and if did come across with King, it would be a sensational get for us.

Williams was allegedly one of the higher paid development coaches in the league. So more money, different environment to challenge yourself, with your mate King. Might be enough.

2 hours ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Just a token mention from the media, if it was and interstate club or smaller Vic club they would have taken them apart.

To many prominent people in potlsitions of power exist for the likes of Geel and Coll to ever be exposed and talk back lines to open on these diabolical happenings.

Look what they did to Clarry the aholes.

The Stengle ‘near death experience’ was also whitewashed by the media

1 hour ago, DemonDave said:

Can you post the segment?

3 hours ago, Engorged Onion said:

as fans its from the outside looking in, where there is a projection of what 'we as fans feel' must be the experience of the players or FD, or administrators... is factual incorrect.

A thousand times this.

17 hours ago, Dannyz said:

Am I in the minority in saying that King should not be involved with Geelong?

The minute you are appointed as coach of the Melbourne Football Club, Geelong and the other 16 teams are instantly a rival.

Doing Geelong any form of favour is in contrast to the fiercely competitive elite clubs who don’t have room for niceties. See Sam Mitchell.

Dannyz, I don't see it as doing Geelong a favour but respecting that King wants to see out his commitments to the Cats 2025 Premiership season. Through his press conference and the subsequent intervie on tue MFC site it is clear that King is able to balance both commitments for a few weeks. Also contrary to popular opinion there is usually alot less for a Senior Assistant to do during a finals campaign than during the season.

3 minutes ago, chookrat said:

Also contrary to popular opinion there is usually alot less for a Senior Assistant to do during a finals campaign than during the season.

Not sure this applies at Geelong...

5 hours ago, Redleg said:

He could enjoy the challenge and we all know the MFC would be an enormous challenge.

Imagine if he did it and succeeded, that would improve his rep hugely.

5 hours ago, Demonstone said:

Extra time these days, @rjay . No more drawn/replayed Grand Finals.

Then penalties?

5 hours ago, Adam The God said:

Williams was allegedly one of the higher paid development coaches in the league. So more money, different environment to challenge yourself, with your mate King. Might be enough.

Develop Langford, Lindsey, Windsor, Bowey, McVee, Turner.

Our youth is very enticing I reckon.

6 hours ago, Adam The God said:

Could he have meant King was off to Melbourne and not Lappin and worded it poorly?

Mooney isn't the most articulate bloke...

I’d heard Scarlett coming also

7 hours ago, Redleg said:

He’s been at Geelong for 17 years. Might feel like it’s time for a new challenge.

Would be an unbelievable get.

This is a great read on him;

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1422313/uncut-gems-how-geelong-cats-built-empire-from-rookies-rejects-and-draft-leftovers

Edited by Dee Boys