View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

3 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

50 years since a ruckman has coached a premiership in the VFL/AFL.

Well, it's about time that changed then isn't it.

How many Ruckman have been coaches in that period and failed?

How many non Ruckman have coached in that period and failed?

Let's try and remain glass half full until we see how things play out

Melbourne v Sydney 2026 — the only game where the umpires need a third ruckman to toss the coin.

14 minutes ago, dice said:

And yet he's still an assistant at Geelong

Welll.... he is under contract to Geelong until the end of their season. I'm pretty sure a bunch of folks on this forum have accepted jobs at a new place whilst still working for the old place. People would complain if he broke his contract somehow and they complain if he doesn't as well.

1 hour ago, Demonland said:

The first AFL instalment of his huge Tassie contract was probably due by then.

2 hours ago, DutchDemons said:

His experience in writing horror books shall be invaluable in continuing the MFC tradition of playing horribly.

Steven Kong in charge of the Demons? Other clubs be afraid, be VERY afraid! 🤣

2 minutes ago, Sydee said:

Well, it's about time that changed then isn't it.

How many Ruckman have been coaches in that period and failed?

How many non Ruckman have coached in that period and failed?

Let's try and remain glass half full until we see how things play out

Merely an observation - not a complaint.

1 minute ago, ChaserJ said:

So Sam Edmund was on to something?

I just see this as Buckley managing the situation in case he misses out. He works at SEN and Fox - so he has plenty of footy media people that can speak on his behalf. Now the narrative can be "buckley didn't want the job" rather than "buckley wasn't melbourne's preferred candidate".

11 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

If Tassie decide they want a premiership coach I reckon we could offer bucks an assistant coaching role. Maybe start him off as part time development and he can work his way up

For [censored] and giggles Tassie should appoint goody as their inaugural coach.

• Author

From Whispering Jack on FB

It’s been another big week in football, and the Melbourne Football Club’s process of appointing a new senior coach has been as captivating as any top-shelf suspense thriller, with the unexpected twist being the appointment of Steven King over Nathan Buckley, who had been the apparent front-runner for the position. At least we put Bucks out of his misery.

You could write a book about the years ahead for King. They bring the promise of different seasons and redemption for the club and a big future for the man who once famously kicked Demon ruckman Jeff White in the head in an AFL final but next year will be coaching White’s son. To Steven King - be strong and of good courage. That’s my advice from a Jack to a King.

ELVIS PRESLEY - FROM A JACK TO A KING

1 hour ago, layzie said:

Yep, Sheedy didn't do much coaching in those years. Cameron was pretty much matchday coach from the start.

Plus Choco was the main man during the week

Sheedy just toured around NSW making an [censored] of his self as described by Gaints staff

Obviously we’ll never actually know who on the selection committee voted for or against whomever, but it’d be fascinating to know if there was unanimity or close to it.

18 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Did I miss read somewhere in thinking Gerard whateley broke the story? How did he know & he doesn't do radio on fridays.

I have had a really drawn out day at work so I may just be making this up

Close relationship with Bucks.

But also close relationship with Shocking and a lot of Geelong people were in first on Twitter.

My conspiracy:

Geel - we’re getting smashed in the media with our coach and star player verbally abusing women

Melb - we can help with that, let us have the King up today for an announcement, take you guys off the news, and we’ll let him focus on the Cats for the next 2 weeks once he’s done

Pleasantly surprised with this appointment.

Hopefully when he leaves he write a positive book about his experience as oppose to that other author with the same name.

The thing I’m interested in now, how Buckley saved face..

He will no doubt mention the issues he saw in the club and that it wasn’t a good fit, and mention Tasmania.

Be curious as to how King will manage juggling his coaching duties at Geelong leading into a prelim while at the same time consulting his new club regarding player and assistant/FD movements at the same time?

If Geelong make the GF King will be pretty busy in the week leading into trade period. Seems pretty conflicted and messy to me.

Anyway hope it all works out and King brings in some good assistants with him.

I feel this has moved quicker because they're wanting to get the Senior Head of Football role sorted ASAP. As others have mentioned I really hope its Bartel.

Edited by Young Blood

1 minute ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

The thing I’m interested in now, how Buckley saved face..

He will no doubt mention the issues he saw in the club and that it wasn’t a good fit, and mention Tasmania.

I don't know about that, as good as a talker FIGJAM is, I wouldn't want to get in a [censored]$ing match with Paul Guerra.

Will play it democratically and bang on about timing or whatever.

Either way good luck to him, how don't have to think about the prospect of him coaching us anymore..

The truth will come out one way or another.

Steven King either blew the selection panel away out of sight with his presentation and was always the clubs 1st pick or other factors were at play.

It sounds like Bucks was hedging his bets with Tassy and the MFC and may have not been the panels preferred choice.

Steven Smith has then come off the top rope and said were not holding out any longer for you Nathan to present your final input to the club.

Now quietly jog on Naif.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

1 minute ago, bush demon said:

I knew he was a shoe-in for the job as soon as l heard about the altercation with Jeff White.

What altercation?

27 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

50 years since a ruckman has coached a premiership in the VFL/AFL.

Time to break another 50+ year drought

2 hours ago, DubDee said:

Gutsy call from the club

Didn’t bend to the will of Buckley

Recently, senior assistants have made the biggest impact

Bring on 2026!

Bring some Geelong IP Please!

They stole all our IP after 2021.

Now there staring at another flag after 2022.