View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

10 hours ago, 58er said:

And how are we going to get that info and what matter of interest is it?

It was a unanimous decision I believe from the Coaching Panel so it seems 1/7th was the value from each of the members.

Happy ??? Ie One Vote each!!

Talk about wanting irrelevant information and yes we won’t know except what has come out about Guerra’s question to Buckley and Brad Greens public announcement to the press and us members via an email. Both seem quite appropriate actions.

I'm interested because we need to strengthen our back-of-house. Maybe the outsiders on the selection panel showed that they may have value beyond selecting the new coach.

3 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Rignt! No pressure on King and co then 🙅🏻‍♀️

Hope that comment doesn't become a millstone like Pert's 'best culture he has seen in 40yrs'!

I am pretty happy with a coach who sets clear benchmarks.

In our premiership year, the benchmark was scores against being 60 or less. Why then is it not ok to have a new benchmark around scores for?

That doesn't mean it will happen immediately, but I think it's a reasonable benchmark, as is playing finals.

The real question is, does he think we have the players on the list currently capable of scoring 100+ each week...

If you score over 100 points each week you’re going to win 95% of the matches you play

Sounds like a pretty good plan to me 🤣

Edited by demoncat

10 hours ago, DubDee said:

I guess Buckley chose between coaching a real team and maybe winning a flag and a shed load of money and AFL handshakes

Process was too quick? if you can’t decide in 5 weeks if you want it, that’s your problem. Don’t put that on us

That is such garbage, the whole "process too quick" line is a furphy and has nothing to do with anything. Maybe Bucks using it as padding for his ego but if he was the right man as if we don't wait another week. That interview question was asked purely to gauge commitment and enthusiasm, like you would in any job interview really. We gotta wait two weeks for Kingy anyway.

Bucks got beat by a better more suitable candidate. We had a good panel of professional thorough interviewers who did their job. Caro actually asked this question of Paul Guerra, that is "would Steven King had got the job regardless of Nathan Buckley's timeline" and Paul answered it properly. I'm sure everyone here has heard that great interview from Paul with Caro trying her best to keep the journalism in the gutter where she hangs out.

The whole "too quick process" just shouldn't be spoken about, it seems to be scapegoating the fact that he just didn't get the job and another guy did who just beat the pants off him. I was keen on Bucks too but I'm glad we ended up with Steven King. Take it on your solid chin bucks you're a big boy just admit when you got beat.

Geez I am excited to see what players like petracca and kozzie and rivers and Windsor can do in a system that suits them

10 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

Is it just me or is anyone else fed up with discussing NB? This is the Steven King thread. King won. NB lost. King was the best candidate. NB was not (and possibly not even second best for our Club). I could care less about some Tassie job that may or may not happen. This might have only factored into our consideration if NB was the preferred candidate. But he wasn’t so it didn’t.

NB may need to brush up on his presentation skills before tomorrow. Good luck SK. Well done MFC.

Um NC you are discussing NB. Please stop.

11 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Hope that comment doesn't become a millstone like Pert's 'best culture he has seen in 40yrs'!

Big G also said we expect to play finals next yr.

Heard that before somewhere but hopefully King can get us going and solve some of our long lasting issues.

Time will tell.

16 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

According to Guerra it was King's pitch.

7 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

In our premiership year, the benchmark was scores against being 60 or less. Why then is it not ok to have a new benchmark around scores for?

That doesn't mean it will happen immediately, but I think it's a reasonable benchmark, as is playing finals.

The real question is, does he think we have the players on the list currently capable of scoring 100+ each week...

Very happy with benchmarks!

But 100pts was from the CEO, not the coach. And it is so easily checked by the media it opens us to ridicule if we don't do it, as did Pert's own goal on culture. And the media just love to find fault with our club.

I'd have preferred he didn't include it.

Edited by Lucifers Hero

Because of our appointment from out of nowhere I asked a Carlton supporter friend what Stephen King books he's read. We had a nice little conversation!

Our Steven King is raising literary awareness. 😂😂😂

53 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

benchmarks are better than skidmarks

4 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Unless your skiddies are done with a XW with a big block!

9 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

But not as funny as Groucho Marx.

Poor McClure he's been wrong so many times it's now becoming boring he's trying to make stuff up to deflect the [censored] he has been saying.

19 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Unless your skiddies are done with a XW with a big block!

XW with a big block Ford wouldnt do a skid 🤣🤣

9 minutes ago, Deestinga2 said:

XW with a big block Ford wouldnt do a skid 🤣🤣

Down hill in the wet it would! :P

• Author

Newly-appointed Melbourne Football Club coach Steven King is determined to bring a new sense of freedom to the club.

The 46-year-old former Geelong and St Kilda ruckman was unveiled in an official press conference on Monday morning after he was announced as the new Demons coach last week.

King, one of Chris Scott’s current assistants at the Cats, has spent time as an assistant at the Saints, Western Bulldogs and Gold Coast where he was also interim senior coach after Stuart Dew’s exit.

He says the time is now right to take up a senior gig with a proud club.

“I’d just like to take this time to say what a wonderful privilege it is to be given this opportunity,” said King.

“I’m extremely humbled and really, really grateful, but super excited to get started.

“I feel privileged to sit here today. I understand what a privilege it is, but also a wonderful opportunity. Going through the process I became more and more sure that I was the right fit for the job.

“I feel like I bring a skillset, and I've had a wonderful experience in some great organisations, with some terrific cultures and environments, and I'm sure my idea around how I want the game to be played, give our players some freedom to express themselves with ball in hand and to be really aggressive in every phase of the game.

“It’s an honour to be here today. I'd also just like to thank my family that are sitting here with me. I wouldn't be here without you guys and, the support you guys have given me really means a lot.

“Hopefully, you're as proud of me as I am with you guys, so thank you.”

King insists he was purely himself during the selection process and that is what the Demons were attracted to.

He wants to see his players play with freedom and really “get after the game” as he looks to inject some buzz into the club with a unique outlook and game style.

“Speaking to some people, I probably had the chance to really reflect on my journey and get greater clarity about myself,” he said of the selection process.

“I thought throughout the process I'm just going to be authentically me, and the more I was the more it became clear that that's what the Melbourne Footy Club needed as well.

“Without sounding full of myself or anything like that, I just feel like I bring a unique experience and skillset that people want to be around.

“I want my players to drive to work every day with a massive smile on their face knowing they're going to be stimulated, have a lot of fun, and could be challenged as well.

“I honestly believe I want to play a brand of footy that's uniquely Melbourne, and I feel like I can adapt that to the skillset that our players have got.

“I want to tap into their premiership experience that some of the players have already and create something that's really unique to us that gets after the competition.”

King felt the full brunt of the Demons’ force when he was Bulldogs assistant in the 2021 Grand Final so he knows what his new club is truly capable of.

“I really admire what this club's done in the past,” he said further.

“I’ve been on the receiving end in that ’21 Grand Final as a midfield coach, so I know the force that's there. I know the physicality, the aggression that the players have.

“I just want them to probably play a bit more freedom with ball in hand. I think we need to challenge teams in attack a little bit more. As you see now in today's footy, teams put scores on the board, so I want our players to have freedom to get after the game, attack it, give our forwards a bit more of a look, faster with even numbers, and get after the game.

“So without going into too much detail, I feel really privileged, I walk into a club that has a terrific foundation, but the way they compete at the contest, their stoppage structure, and the way they defend - I just want to probably give players a bit more ownership to play with freedom, take what the game gives them and really get after it.”

I like that he wants our players to take the game on and attack. We did see that style throughout the season. Problem is our lack of smart , skillful players to execute

1 hour ago, demoncat said:

If you score over 100 points each week you’re going to win 95% of the matches you play

Sounds like a pretty good plan to me 🤣

Pretty sure we have the most recent 2 losses of - ‘first to 100 points, never looses’ over the last few years… stand to be corrected though.

Edited by Engorged Onion

Listening to Guerra I heard it as 'ideals' more than absolutes. Not every game facilitates high scores... its more about the attitude and intention.

I think its more about how King will mould and direct his charges.

End if day is about WINNING... more than the actual score

Arguably there were half a dozen games this year that ought to have been wins. Win those we're heading in right direction.

Guerra mentions that all of the interviewees intimates they could see the problems and had ideas as to fixes. King ought to know a bit about winning. He ought to have an understanding about losing too ( in a positive manner ) . Footy can be very 'sliding-doors' . If he can bring a style and regime that addresses what is wrong at Melbourne and supplant that atop what is good at Melbourne then there is no reason we can't turn things about fairly quickly.

Im looking to see some of our lot thoroughly reinvigorated in 26.

1 hour ago, Young Angus said:

That is such garbage, the whole "process too quick" line is a furphy and has nothing to do with anything. Maybe Bucks using it as padding for his ego but if he was the right man as if we don't wait another week. That interview question was asked purely to gauge commitment and enthusiasm, like you would in any job interview really. We gotta wait two weeks for Kingy anyway.

Bucks got beat by a better more suitable candidate. We had a good panel of professional thorough interviewers who did their job. Caro actually asked this question of Paul Guerra, that is "would Steven King had got the job regardless of Nathan Buckley's timeline" and Paul answered it properly. I'm sure everyone here has heard that great interview from Paul with Caro trying her best to keep the journalism in the gutter where she hangs out.

The whole "too quick process" just shouldn't be spoken about, it seems to be scapegoating the fact that he just didn't get the job and another guy did who just beat the pants off him. I was keen on Bucks too but I'm glad we ended up with Steven King. Take it on your solid chin bucks you're a big boy just admit when you got beat.

100% and Guerra made that abundantly clear on SEN today!

5 minutes ago, Deebaser said:

Nothing on the club's website or socials about the press conference anywhere?

Was about to ask same thing... toey to see the King!!!

Very impressive interview by Guerra.

A serious and articulate operator.